Big Thank You To Matthew Bate

Posted

Just wanted to say a big thank you to Matthew Bate for appearing at Black Rock Football Club training last night.

Was a pleasure to have around the place. He got involved in drills (sprayed a few kicks too haha), offered advice to the coach on implementing new/improving current drills. Was a great session.

He stayed around afterwards and answered questions for 10 mins or so. Won't go into to much detail as most of it was light hearted banter but:

He is clearly really disappointed to be playing 2's at present, he didn't outright say it but skirted the edges and body language changed when he was discussing playing at Casey. He mentioned all players are given feedback on areas they need to improve on when they go back even if they feel like they have played some decent footy. Finds it tough to go back to Casey (as most do) with the different levels of standard etc.

Thinks Fev is not to bad of a bloke and offers great advice to fwds.

Harry O is easily his toughest opponent and rates the Pies as the best defence he has ever played against they come and across and cover better than any team and make it very difficult for fwds to sprint fwd of the ball coming out of the press/zone when we win a turn over.

LJ is a freak of nature and nothing ever phases the guy they all still find it amazing he was literally grabbed from the desert and dropped into playing AFL footy.

Thanks again to Matty, 3AW and Brighton Toyota for the support it was a great night.

GO ROCKERS!

Do you guys play at McDonald reserve? I live in Beaumaris so i'm right next door. I generally take more interest in Beaumaris/the Zebs because i have mates there, but one day i should come down to watch.

• Author

Do you guys play at McDonald reserve? I live in Beaumaris so i'm right next door. I generally take more interest in Beaumaris/the Zebs because i have mates there, but one day i should come down to watch.

Yes we do mate. It is a great little club with some really good people involved in it. Massive in flux on new young kids playing this year including a bloke called Joe Kreiger who says he was on Freo's list at one point so exciting times ahead.

We get a bit of a bum steer around the area as even though we play in Black Rock/Beauy most of the guys are tradies and some of residents have issues with parking and "noise", they want to use as a dog park full time. Even Beauy would like us out of there to use it as another one of there junior grounds.

Feel free to pop in we have 5 or 6 MFC die hards at the club.

We are away this week. Go ROCKERS

Grew up 2 streets from there... Essendon colours? (red sash)

Joe Krieger, pick 8 in the 2004 Rookie Draft.

I find it amazing that he is in the twos as well . Everyone on this forum seems to disagree with me but he presents himself , takes a contested mark , kicks long , kick straight , and tackles but people say he is too slow . Greg Williams was too slow also . We need bloodnuts who are used to fighting- from being bullied and not given a go all their lives .Go bluey !

• Author

Grew up 2 streets from there... Essendon colours? (red sash)

Indeed they are. Had a good win over a battling Caulfield yesterday.