Moderators

Are you serious? Not qualified to pass judgment on political events?

I could understand if you merely said you ignore political opinions of "sports people", but I would be interested to know what "qualifies" a person to pass judgment on political events in your eyes. Everyone is qualified to pass judgment and it would be ridiculous to suggest otherwise.

To be clear, I am not suggesting everyone is equally educated in political matters.

getting a bit semantic there Stylus.....I think you got his drift

Not expecting it will make a lick of difference, just simply my opinion, I could not give a crap what sports people and so called celebrities think about political events, as they simply aren't qualified to pass judgement. Oh, and i'm sure your friends are rapt to hear what you had for breakfast. Ricky Gervais does a great parody of "celebrity" in The Extras Christmas special, I encourage you to seek it out on youtube, it might help explain my stance.

So what is it that makes your opinion so much more pertinent than theirs? What "qualifies" you to pass judgement on the players? For all you know Jonesy may read books on international affairs when he is sitting at home. You've not got a bloody clue mate. As for Ricky Gervais, I watched it. What a pile of drivel. You think he doesn't live for the same exposure. Exposure is how he makes a living. Playing footy is how the boys make their living.

Aside from that, why is it that Jonesy is copping all the $h!t for this? He is one of many at our club, many at other clubs and many at other successful clubs. This certainly debases the ridiculous notion that their use of Twitter is affecting their game. He is also one of very few who gave a good account of themselves last Thursday night. If I counted correctly there are 131 players currently on Twitter according to the AFLPA. Of these there are 13 who play for MFC and another 5 not on AFLPA list, then there are the players like Ablett, Swan, Pendlebury, Obrien, Cooney, Goddard, Ling, Murphy, Gibbs, O'Keefe, Riewoldt, Selwood, Shaw, Thomas and Watson just to name a few. God, Twitter has really wrecked their games too. I reckon there is a fair argument that the people berating the players for wanting to act like men in their early to mid twenties need to get a life, and at the same time allow the players the same.

Are you serious? Not qualified to pass judgment on political events?

I could understand if you merely said you ignore political opinions of "sports people", but I would be interested to know what "qualifies" a person to pass judgment on political events in your eyes. Everyone is qualified to pass judgment and it would be ridiculous to suggest otherwise.

To be clear, I am not suggesting everyone is equally educated in political matters.

Ok sir, granted, anyone has the right to pass judgement on political events, no dramas there, I believe that some do so with greater knowledge and understanding of the issues rather than others who are simply regurgitating a media driven stance or agenda. In the world today we ignore those with the greater understanding and knowledge in favour of those who are simply more popular, hope this clarifies my position.

So what is it that makes your opinion so much more pertinent than theirs? What "qualifies" you to pass judgement on the players? For all you know Jonesy may read books on international affairs when he is sitting at home. You've not got a bloody clue mate. As for Ricky Gervais, I watched it. What a pile of drivel. You think he doesn't live for the same exposure. Exposure is how he makes a living. Playing footy is how the boys make their living.

Aside from that, why is it that Jonesy is copping all the $h!t for this? He is one of many at our club, many at other clubs and many at other successful clubs. This certainly debases the ridiculous notion that their use of Twitter is affecting their game. He is also one of very few who gave a good account of themselves last Thursday night. If I counted correctly there are 131 players currently on Twitter according to the AFLPA. Of these there are 13 who play for MFC and another 5 not on AFLPA list, then there are the players like Ablett, Swan, Pendlebury, Obrien, Cooney, Goddard, Ling, Murphy, Gibbs, O'Keefe, Riewoldt, Selwood, Shaw, Thomas and Watson just to name a few. God, Twitter has really wrecked their games too. I reckon there is a fair argument that the people berating the players for wanting to act like men in their early to mid twenties need to get a life, and at the same time allow the players the same.

Mate i'm really at a loss, you are creating all these issues in your own feeble little mind. Where did I say my opinion is more pertinent than my fellow man and woman? Heaven forbid, even you are included in that. I am simply pointing out the instance of where people in the public eye, rightly or wrongly feel that given their status we either value their opinions or they are knowledgable enough to have a good grasp of the issues on which they comment on. It is not a slight on Nathan Jones or anyone else who has a twitter account I am merely commenting on what I perceive is a flaw in society where we value people's opinions solely on their popularity rather than expertise.

Ok, here another little tidbit which you may find helpful, do a little research into what former ruckman Jeff White is doing with Twitter, think he goes by White Echo, this should hopefully highlight the issues of valuing the opinions so called celebrities and people in the public eye, one can only look back at the old 2GB fiasco involving those fine upstanding "journalists" Alan Jones and John Laws....mate just trying to help you out here.

Edited by 36DD