Posted

A few new faces joined our veteran Demonland Trackwatchers on a beautiful morning out at Gosch's Paddock for another Preseason Training Session.

BLWNBA'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS

I arrived at around 1015 and the squad was already out on the track. The rehab group consisted of XL, McAdam, Melksham, Spargo and Sestan. Lever was also on restricted duties and appeared to be in runners. 

The main group was doing end-to-end transition work in a simulated match situation. Ball movement was focused on moving the ball from a kick in, into the forward line, with focus on kicking to the advantage of a forward. In this drill it appeared Petty was playing as a forward alongside Luka and Turner, while TMac was a defender. I was unable to really see down the other end from where I was positioned, but Pickett also played as a forward linking player, along side Ricky. Ricky Mentha does some nice things, though there were a few times he was caught as a result of not taking the first option, or getting corralled on the boundary line as a result of attempting to use his pace and quicksteps to get around a defending player.  For this exercise it seemed as though Trac was designated as a ‘no-contact’ player and had the high-vis vest adorned. 

I will say, the intensity was there. But, I thought the ball movement for the most part left a lot to be desired, particularly with the linking possession from the D50 into the centre or onto a wing. There were multiple turnovers, or failure to hit a target, which resulted in an ‘opposition’ score. FWIW, I’m not saying this is a doom and gloom worst preseason ever type of scenario, but I am calling it on the body of work I saw. 

Similarly, there were numerous kicks into the attacking F50 that went straight to a defender, including several uncontested efforts.

In terms of some ‘positives’, Petracca does look very, very fit. His lateral movement was amazing at times, and he was extremely vocal. I‘m not going to make a judgement on what this means for anything post 2025, but undoubtedly his professionalism will get him through next season whatever the outcome. He looks raring to go. 

Turner did some nice things up forward, including a very nice roving goal from spilt contested mark. I think he’ll be a very handy addition up forward and will continue to impact. Chocco was also issuing some very vocal encouragement to Kenterfield (who, is absolutely massive).

Hore could, in all likelihood, easily fulfil a depth role. He had some great moments including a goal saving spoil and fitted in seamlessly next to TMac as a defender.

Langford is definitely a big boy. I’m beyond excited to see what he can do. In the full ground exercise he contested multiple marking contests and although he probably should’ve stuck a couple of the marks, he was at least able to ensure that the ball was brought to ground, rather than allowing his opponent to make a contested mark. He seemed to be playing as a marking half-forward and in a few of the plays I saw, seemed to be used as a marking runner from a kick-in.

In terms of an early bolter for next year, I think we may see a big uptick in output from Kolt. Geez, he’s got some wheels on him and I was really surprised by his pace and ability to transition the ball. He’s a lot quicker than he looks on tv, and he’s got an uncanny ability to pick up the ball and roll with it. I was somewhat reticent on him, but I was very impressed from what I saw. 

The second exercise saw the group split into two and move into another contested ball movement exercise. Essentially the ball was brought in from one end of the ‘centre square’ (the exercise only utilised approx 25 x 10 in terms of a simulated centre square), by a ‘random’ player, and then a series of quick handballs were made in attempt to bring the ball to a coach on the other side of the ‘square’. Goodwin and Jones were the two ‘linesman’ for the group I observed. Petracca fully participated in this exercise, including contact, and was extremely vocal. He chased energetically, and once again his lateral movement was on full display. Several times the players were vocally reminded to ‘hunt the ball’ by Goodwin. 

I left not long after this exercise concluded. I’ll add more if anything pops into my mind, though I acknowledge this lacks a lot of depth like we see from our usual track watches. 

DITCHA'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS

I attended some of the training session this morning. A lot of ball movement exercises, with Nathan Basset giving a lot of instructions to defenders. Rehab group including Melt, McAdam, and  Seston doing some ball movement. 

GHOSTWRITER'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS

Petts is happy to be a swing man. He likes that he’s useful in both areas of the ground. He has no lingering issues with his foot, it’s totally healed and healed well.

He mentioned SpargiPants’s progress. He said “Charles” (that’s what the boys call him) is running at pace and is on a tailored program. Tomorrow is his running day (every Thursday) and so far he’s pulled up well after each session. Petts talked about foot/ankle injuries taking the longest recovery time with (in his opinion) achilles injuries being the “trickiest.” He said Charles is further along in his recovery than we think from just watching him on these whole-team training sessions. 

BUCK NEKKID'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS

Anyone who worries about the 3 ‘wantaways’ should get down to training- i have no doubt all 3 are focused, committed and in for a big year.

Trac Coaching and leading from the sidelines.  The tackle that Clarrie laid (see GW’s post above) and Kossie owning the footy in drills.

Fullarton looked really good forward of the ball today and in contested drills - although he was brought down by Howes in one play like a lion about to feast on a gazelle.

Also impressing(apart from the usual suspects):  Billing’s, Kentfield, Johnson.

Aim to use the corridor as first priority in drills.

Melk running really fast repeat sets.  Sestan also running, grabbed for hammy at one stage.

All rehab boys doing agility and ball receiving work.  Spargo kicking the ball to them.

Seen chatting to Choco - Gary Lyon and Bill Browless’s boy (big lad with a mop of hair that his dad would die to have!)

Choco sharpened up KW#34’s kicking at goal with a slight ball drop adjustment and momentum shift and he began toi hit them beautifully.

Trac was frustrated with his snapos around the body, and Choco gave him a few gentle Tils and he was back on track again.

A nice day for it

THIRTY ONE'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS

My first training session in 30 or 40 years!  Last I went, Gerard Healy was still playing for us.  That's a while ago!

Didn't notice Roo out there.

The players look both smaller and bigger than they do on tv.  Like Ed Langdon is taller than I thought he was yet others look smaller/lighter.  They say the camera adds 5 kilos and I'd believe it.

Anyway, I've few comments as it was all new to me.  Trac was doing a lot of yelling/leading, Max was hanging back a bit, Vines headed off early with this poop chute issue, Kalani is a stripling but looks a likely sort, Claz is nowhere near as fat as the media would like to have you think (might not be the skinniest either but he looks a lot leaner than he did last season).

WHERE DEMONS DARE'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS

Quite a few players out there today on individual programs and training in and out of the main squad. In rehab we had the 5 regulars being McAdam, Lever, Spargo, XL and Sestan doing their thing. While May, Campbell, Melksham, K.Brown doing a lot of boundary running but also involved in lots of the main squad drills. Fritsch and Salem training fully with the main squad which was good to see. 

Today the group focused a lot more on ball movement and various kicking drills, working the ball from the back pocket diagonally across to the other side of the forward line. I think our players will start to get the hang of the new tactics soon as it looks as though we will be more attacking next season and understandably takes a bit of time to adjust. Last month I was there at training they were doing a lot more running drills, but now they are more focused on ball movement. 

Fullarton surprised me today, he was involved in quite a few things and outclassed his opponent. One to watch. Trac again continues to impress me and is in for a big year, showing great leadership and very vocal. Turner keeps getting better and better and will do nicely this year as the 2nd key forward to JVR. JVR was a no show today so hopefully he is okay. I was also surprised with Kentfield's speed. He raced Windsor over 80m from the centre square to the boundary line and they drew even going flat out. 

Gawny is really taking a step back this year and letting others lead the way. You can see he is much more relaxed and will ramp things up closer to next season. There's definitely a vibe in the air that everyone knows their role and is executing it to a good standard. Maybe a bit more maturity in the group. You can sense that whatever came out of the review a few months back is already in play. 

KEV MARTIN'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS

Clarry is fit, happy to outrun others in sprints. Getting heavily involved in the sims. They were getting them to make and hit leads over the back and running towards goal.

They are hitting each other hard and willingly in the drills.

Petty slammed Tracc backwards and onto ground with a don't argue. That got them going hard at each other with plenty of intensity, during one of the handball games. Goody's words, something along, doing like we ask you makes a much better, and easier drill.  When doing the drills without shape it led to being caught in tight spaces. When following the correct patterns and structures they moved the ball to the open spaces, and with better completions.

Wings in the sims, included Sparrow, Billings, Langers and Woey. Sparrow is running the rails without too much strain, looking trim.

McVee was everywhere. I saw him start with ball on the defensive point post, then he finished the play off in the half-forward area inside the 50. Heading to being one of our elites.

Petty was used forward and back.

Kossie had the different coloured bib on (the linking player), later it was Tracc. Kossie got picked off few times, but got to the contest and impacted after the error. I like his ability to see ahead of himself. Working hard on being a playmaker.

Jefferson had a great session, hands are sticky, kicking snaps with confidence, and finding separation out the back.

Bowser is our best field kick, hitting some incredibly hard passes. Many are still floating the ball, not Bowser, gets to the ball to the player, flat and direct. Salem is not far behind, with beautiful kicks.

Mentha likes to dance with the ball, got caught a few times, love his cheekiness/bravado to take them on.

Rivers got picked off a few times as well. They were playing down the corridor, with high reward, high risk sims. 

Turner is another looking good. Moving fast, getting separation and appears set for a big year.

Fritta is also playing well. Very fit, even strong as he cleans the defenders away from the contest. Goaling is a natural, effortless action.

Adams and Howes are making a few errors.

May is starting plenty of plays off the backline. His fitness is improving.

Langford and Kolt (looking bigger), also made a few errors.

Turnovers will kill us.

JVR was not out there today.

Tmac had some strapping on his right shoulder, moving well.

Lever, a patella support on his left leg, running with intensity at times.

Hard extensive session. They are being put through their paces.

SLARTIBARTFAST'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS

I was at training today and the reports seem very accurate to me regarding how individual players went.

Perhaps one that hasn't been mentioned enough is Clarrie.  There have been lots of comments over the preseason saying he's out of condition and carrying too much weight. Well from what I've seen that's not strictly the case.  He's not ripped like he was in 2021 but he's still in very good condition and he is working extremely hard and pushing himself to the limit. I reckon that as long as he maintains focus over the Christmas break by the start of the season he'll be really fit.  He looks to have got that initial speed back and the ability to find a bit of space in congestion.  His disposal today was very good on a day where a lot struggled to hit a target.

On that, I reckon today was the first time I've seen them in a true contested situation and hence the disposal skills were down as there was a lot more pressure on the ball carrier. It was good today but it's early in the PS.  Secondly, I've been to a lot of PS training sessions over the last few years and every year I read that we are going "more direct" and using the corridor more. I've not noticed any difference in the way we've used the ball in the full field drills so it will be interesting to see.

On other players:  Langford got caught a couple of times, a good thing I say, better to learn the pace of the game in PS than during the game.  He works really hard around the ground.  Concerns expressed about his pace don't seem evident and he's building nicely.  Sparrow looks a lot more involved than he was last year, he's moving very well and kicking it well. Tmac was, again, very good today.  Those thinking he'll play at Casey need to reconsider.  I was also impressed with Fullarton today, he was strong and involved and kicked very well.  Fritta looked a class above on occasions, strong in the contest an elite with his goal kicking. May had an opportunity to send Tmac into next year at one stage and thankfully made a decision to avoid contact.  I reckon Tmac will buy him a bunch of flowers as a thank you!  AJ has impressed but he learned a lesson today.  In the handball drill he decided that the best option was just to run through Clarrie but he learned that's not all that easy. Lots of smiles and laughs when Clarrie helped him up. I like AJ, looks a ripper bloke and has lots of good attributes.  It's a crowded forward line for talls but he's in the conversation.

Looking forward to Friday, hope JvR is there, missed today but hopefully nothing in it.

PST2025-11.png