Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

POSTGAME: Rd 10 vs Yartapuulti

50 minutes ago, Roy Boy said:

Just watched the Goodwin post match press conference.

Was asked about Butters.

Goodwin responds “there was plenty of discussions, we just decided to back ourselves”

Result is they did nothing. Too stubborn for my liking. If they tagged one of Butters or JHF something might have helped.

Stop picking your favourites and going off past history’s performances. 

Drop the underperforming and reward the next in line.

How many [censored]'s did Butters get, bearing in mind he is the best "injured" footballer in Adelaide.

1 hour ago, leave it to deever said:

I thought that the Grundy and Gawn combo was going to directly increase our goal tally. It did in the praccy games. But the average goals for the 2 combined is currently at only one and a half per game. 

I think we roll the dice with Bbb instead of Tmac.

probs the highest in the league but who's counting. 

2 hours ago, leave it to deever said:

I thought that the Grundy and Gawn combo was going to directly increase our goal tally. It did in the praccy games. But the average goals for the 2 combined is currently at only one and a half per game. 

Don't need to roll the dice with BBB, didn't he have a 3,3,3, or similar? A 4,4 and a 1, to be sure...

Edited by bush demon
Added stats

The Geelong game from last year is the blueprint to beat Melbourne We have learned nothing from it.

Its what PA did all night. Jump into Max's back and smash the kick ins 10-15m fwd to a gaggle of PA players.

Brainless coaching, poor set ups at clearance, extraordinary decision not to nullify Butters.

Couldn't believe we kept Tracc in the fwd 50 for our worst performing first half in a long time. Gawn was hopeless.

The PA positioning was superb at stoppages and when the ball was in out D50. They created a wall that we struggled to break out of.

Our small fwd were pathetic. As were our big fwds.

As for the panicking handballs, sliding below the knees and the guarding of the centre corridor it was painful to watch.

10-0 clearances in 2nd qtr from our much vaunted midfield? Changes need to be made.

10-2 in frees in the last quarter? Should be an investigation into the pathetic - bordering on cheating - umpiring. No front on contact for Gawn from Lycett? Dropped marks paid, ball hitting the ground and paid a mark? No second 50m for Lever?

And astoundingly TMac gives away a free for HTB and the Tackler is penalised a week for a dangerous tackle? That tops the cake for how putrid umpiring is in our once great game.

Our record against top sides is now alarming and while you can't win flags in May there is a consistent pattern that has emerged. And it about how easy we are to coach against and how badly our coaches can respond to obvious tactics used against us.

Edited by jnrmac

47 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

The Geelong game from last year is the blueprint to beat Melbourne We have learned nothing from it.

Its what PA did all night. Jum into Max's back and smash the kick ins 10-15m fwd to a gaggle of PA players.

Brainless coaching, poor set ups at clearance, extraordinary decision not to nullify Butters.

Couldn't believe we kept Tracc in the fwd 50 for our worst performing first half in a long time. Gawn was hopeless.

The PA positioning was superb at stoppages and when the ball was in out D50. They created a wall that we struggled to break out of.

As for the panicking handballs, sliding below the knees and the guarding of the centre corridor it was painful to watch.

10-0 clearances in 2nd qtr from our much vaunted midfield? Changes need to be made.

10-2 in frees in the last quarter? Should be an investigation into the pathetic - bordering on cheating - umpiring. No front on contact for Gawn from Lycett? Dropped marks paid, ball hitting the ground and paid a mark? No second 50m for Lever?

And astoundingly TMac gives away a free for HTB and the Tackler is penalised a week for a dangerous tackle? That tops the cake for how putrid umpiring is in our once great game.

Our record against top sides is now alarming and while you can't win flags in May there is a consistent pattern that has emerged. And it about how easy we are to coach against and how badly our coaches can respond to obvious tactics used against us.

2 hours ago, leave it to deever said:

Don't need to roll the dice withh BBB, didn't he have a 3,3,3, or similar? Correction: 4,4,1.

Edited by bush demon
Add stats

56 minutes ago, Roy Boy said:

Just watched the Goodwin post match press conference.

Was asked about Butters.

Goodwin responds “there was plenty of discussions, we just decided to back ourselves”

Result is they did nothing. Too stubborn for my liking. If they tagged one of Butters or JHF something might have helped.

Stop picking your favourites and going off past history’s performances. 

Drop the underperforming and reward the next in line.

at what stage were you pulling the trigger and tag ?

Did you want to pull the trigger against Gold Coast when Rowell punished us first half? or Anderson as the game went on ? Do we go the tag and possibly miss out on running away with the win against GC. Do remember were running over Port, Oliver gets injured and some crucial umpiring created some huge turnovers. hindsights easy. 

38 minutes ago, At the break of Gawn said:

Brisbane game was on a cricket pitch and in slippery conditions. Essendon and Port games were in the pouring rain at Adelaide oval. Our next 3 games are at the MCG (where we haven’t lost yet). If we win all 3 we’re the real deal.

Yeah nah this is a cop out and stock standard typical Melbourne supporter excuse ( not actually having a dig at you, just seen this excuse too much of late) footy isn't about playing in pitch perfect weather at the MCG every single week mate.

It should be an anywhere, anytime mentality which we had back in 2021.

8 minutes ago, Bay Riffin said:

probs the highest in the league but who's counting. 

I'm not really sure you can compare. It's also a matter of how much time they play forward v return as well. I don't think we are really getting as much as we could / should. 

Edited by leave it to deever

6 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Its what PA did all night. Jum into Max's back and smash the kick ins 10-15m fwd to a gaggle of PA players.

Just quoting this because it's real.

The one positive to arise out of the loss is that's a tough travelling period done and dusted until August 6th.

We now have time to settle and play at the G, hone our line up and style and set up our season.

22 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Its what PA did all night. Jump into Max's back and smash the kick ins 10-15m fwd to a gaggle of PA players.

Tmac holding the ball was similar to Grundy tackle on a Port played got awarded a free then reversed for a dangerous tackle! Regardless our clearances have been found wanting and in particular against the top sides when you consider 2 great rucks we have .. it’s fixable and showed for 1 qtr what we are capable. 

Edited by Demonsone

14 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Im fervently coming to the conclusion our 2021 Cup was with apologies to Lemony Snicket....a Series of Very Fortunate events.  A lot of things just fell into place...yes...many things were of or by design, and a lot wasnt. Luckily for us...on that day...we clicked...finally..and the rest is history.

And it IS HISTORY.    What worked then is NOT working now...and again it's not working by DESIGN.   The design/gameplan/style/brand   ( choose your own jargon ) has gone very STALE. I've used it before and for mine best sums up our situation, we're stale...and stale things left unattended go right off and stink it up...well lookee there...just like us.

We are not adapting, there's no real recourse to other styles within a game , especially when you can see as blind Freddy can  that something aint working on the day.

I really dont get the thinking of our brains-trust.  I know there is capacity and capability there.  Despite any and al of my reservations about Simon  he does  and did have ideas. They were quite left field in the early days , with PR at teh helm  he ( SG)  tried things, changed things up. It was actually refreshing and interesting.. But I did start to notice when either the rule -changes cought up or opposition coaches worked it out thatwe seemed either slow or incapable of again recasting our Runes...And thats exactly where we seem to be today...Stuck in yesterday footy

44 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Impressive to see you still carrying so much rage 🔥

We are a marking based side once we have rain affected games one of our major strengths is diminished.

Our midfield is big bodied not suited to wet conditions, Ports midfield is smaller, more agile and suited the conditions down to the ground.

We got taught a lesson in wet weather footy for 3 quarters on ground and inside the coaches box.

I hope we have come away from this experience better prepared for these conditions in a cut throat final.

I must say i was very surprised that Melksham wasn't considered for Friday night as he is a wet weather specialist.

In hindsight JVR should have made way for Melk.

Edited by YesitwasaWin4theAges

Just now, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

We are a marking based side once we have rain affected games one of our major strengths is diminished.

Our midfield is big bodied not suited to wet conditions, Ports midfield is smaller, more agile and suited the conditions down to the ground.

We got taught a lesson in wet weather footy for 3 quarters on ground and inside the coach box.

I hope we have come away from this experience better prepared for these conditions in a cut throat final.

I must say i was very surprised that Melksham wasn't considered for Friday night as he is a wet weather specialist.

In hindsight JVR should have made way for Melk.

It is a good thing that AFL is not a winter sport.. 🤔

19 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Im fervently coming to the conclusion our 2021 Cup was with apologies to Lemony Snicket....a Series of Very Fortunate events.  A lot of things just fell into place...yes...many things were of or by design, and a lot wasnt. Luckily for us...on that day...we clicked...finally..and the rest is history.

And it IS HISTORY.    What worked then is NOT working now...and again it's not working by DESIGN.   The design/gameplan/style/brand   ( choose your own jargon ) has gone very STALE. I've used it before and for mine best sums up our situation, we're stale...and stale things left unattended go right off and stink it up...well lookee there...just like us.

We are not adapting, there's no real recourse to other styles within a game , especially when you can see as blind Freddy can  that something aint working on the day.

I really dont get the thinking of our brains-trust.  I know there is capacity and capability there.  Despite any and al of my reservations about Simon  he does  and did have ideas. They were quite left field in the early days , with PR at teh helm  he ( SG)  tried things, changed things up. It was actually refreshing and interesting.. But I did start to notice when either the rule -changes cought up or opposition coaches worked it out thatwe seemed either slow or incapable of again recasting our Runes...And thats exactly where we seem to be today...Stuck in yesterday footy

We lost by 4 points after having alot of the play in the 2nd half. I get why we didnt mix too many things up in this game. 

Having said that, I do get the frustration. Teams have a plan to combat us, and if they're a good team and switched on it typically works for them. 

11 minutes ago, SPC said:

It is a good thing that AFL is not a winter sport.. 🤔

Move it to Summer and we might have a better chance you reckon SPC?

All I'm saying is we have played in 2 weather affected games for 2 loses.

We played a fantastic 3rd quarter of footy and almost jagged the game, lots to improve on going forward.

We lose a major strength in our contested marking around the ground.

Edited by YesitwasaWin4theAges

11 minutes ago, DemonWA said:

We lost by 4 points after having alot of the play in the 2nd half. I get why we didnt mix too many things up in this game. 

Having said that, I do get the frustration. Teams have a plan to combat us, and if they're a good team and switched on it typically works for them. 

That 4pts is/was both enticing and frustrating at same time.  In a Schroedinger manner it was both near and far at the sane time.

We could well have snagged an improbable win but for the vagueries of umpiring.

Had we it would have been ironic given the day( night ) 

Teams do indeed have plans and schemes to bring us undone....and do.

In return we back our brand.

Better coaching,better strategies  and a better understanding of where we were on the night could have changed the outcome. We lacked all of that.

We have the players, we have the ability.  We lack football intelligence. 

This may well prove the winter of our discontent. 

Sad.

Edited by beelzebub
Spelling

Reading this thread, we lost by ten goals with no winners and no positives. 

In the game I watched, we lost by four points. We were slow to begin and we don’t play as well in the wet, but against a quality team playing at their peak in front of a rabid hometown crowd we managed to have a SEVEN GOAL quarter and end up losing by a tiny margin. That’s what I saw……

On Friday night a group of Port fans came down and stood in the aisle beside our bay to yell abuse at us, their main target being Ryan, our chant leader. We of course ignored them. Being ignored made them even angrier. More of them came down to join in the abuse. They clearly wanted a response so they began to grab our flags and gear and set about wrecking our stuff. Then a couple of them physically attacked Ryan. At this point security arrived and at least seven of them were ejected from the ground, the rest of them quickly left our area.

I mean, opposition supporters coming down to yell at us is nothing new. But because they get no response from us they quickly tire of it and retreat back to their own bay.

All along I’d been told why front row in the middle seats is safest at interstate matches (that’s where I’m always seated) but thought it was not really necessary. Sadly, I now know it is.

• Angry 7

18 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

On Friday night a group of Port fans came down and stood in the aisle beside our bay to yell abuse at us, their main target being Ryan, our chant leader. We of course ignored them. Being ignored made them even angrier. More of them came down to join in the abuse. They clearly wanted a response so they began to grab our flags and gear and set about wrecking our stuff. Then a couple of them physically attacked Ryan. At this point security arrived and at least seven of them were ejected from the ground, the rest of them quickly left our area.

I mean, opposition supporters coming down to yell at us is nothing new. But because they get no response from us they quickly tire of it and retreat back to their own bay.

All along I’d been told why front row in the middle seats is safest at interstate matches (that’s where I’m always seated) but thought it was not really necessary. Sadly, I now know it is.

I hope you reported that to the club so they can make a formal complaint to the AFL and Port.

That's disgusting....Not ON !!!