Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

On 7/28/2022 at 9:23 PM, dworship said:

G'day Guys,

Below is an excerpt out of another thread which had me thinking about game time stats again. The question it raises is; can we drill down deeper into this stat and get a figure for TOG by qtr? From a tactics perspective it would make sense to say to a player like Sparrow; go flat out in say qtr 1&2 and have him spend the majority of his time on ground during those quarters. Then in the second half give him limited time in rotation and play someone like Harmes in the same role for the second half.

This is one of those questions I've posed on the "stats" thread. Sparrow only played 65% game time.

It would be great to know what his time on ground was in the 2nd half. So when you say he went missing, maybe he really was. I don't know the answer to that but I would love it if someone did.

I've found that I often get surprised by the TOG% stats because they way they were sitting at half or 3/4 time are very different than end stats.

I think if someone was interested and dedicated, they could use the AFL app and manually record them after each quarter and back calculate.

It's not something I'd encourage every week, but a sample size might reveal a few trends.

1 hour ago, Demon Dynasty said:

Round 20, 2022 Optus Stadium - Dockers vs Demons

The team's overall rating of 62.33 is off last year's average of 67.23 by 7% and further off this year's (68.81).  So i'd be tempering this performance a little, even given the greasy conditions and playing away.  That's a fair way off and we would need a major lift from some of the stars and next rung players to beat the Pies IMV who are probably running at another level at this point.

Namely the likes of Clarry, Max, Jackson, Salem, Sparrow, Lever, ANB & Weid (if playing).  It was only one match so not hanging my hat on just Friday night's performance from those listed, but Even May was off this season's and last season's average by 21%.  That's a fair amount of form to claw back within a week (that's if the numbers are a reasonable indicator of form which in this case they may not be of course...could be many factors that lead to that rating on this particular night).

How much impact do you think the weather has? For example we only took 64 marks (vs 99 when we played Adelaide) and part of that is probably weather. Are marks rated high points?

Are there other stats that might be affected by the weather are kicking efficiency (bombing it long affecting effective disposals)?

Edited by deanox

1 minute ago, deanox said:

How much impact do you think the weather has? For example we only took 64 marks (vs 99 when we played Adelaide) and part of that is probably weather. Are marks rated high points?

Are there other stats that might be affected by the weather are kicking efficiency (bombing it long affecting effective disposals)?

Weather most likely a factor Ox.

Also the other factor may have been the condition of the surface.  Looked pretty ordinary and those patches they threw on at the last minute, what was that!?  Looked like a practice / nets pitch lol.

Just guessing but looked like it could have caused a completely different under foot feel and firmness (ice skating on the new stuff vs chopped up a little & ploddy everywhere else??).

12 minutes ago, Demon Dynasty said:

Weather most likely a factor Ox.

Also the other factor may have been the condition of the surface.  Looked pretty ordinary and those patches they threw on at the last minute, what was that!?  Looked like a practice / nets pitch lol.

Just guessing but looked like it could have caused a completely different under foot feel and firmness (ice skating on the new stuff vs chopped up a little & ploddy everywhere else??).

Yeah the patches looked bad and you could see how different they were underfoot. I recall the commentators describing the patches as being slick on top and hard/dry underneath compared to the existing surrounds, which were soft and waterlogged right down deep due to longer term rain in recent weeks.

They said it was noticeable walking across it I cringed everytime someone ran across it.

1 hour ago, Demon Dynasty said:

Round 20, 2022 Optus Stadium - Dockers vs Demons

The team's overall rating of 62.33 was off last year's average of 67.23 by 7% and further off this year's (68.81).  So i'd be tempering this performance a little, even given the greasy conditions and playing away.  That's a fair way off and we would need a major lift from some of the stars and next rung players to beat the Pies IMV who are probably running at another level at this point.

I thought that was the best game we've played in 2022 so interesting that it is not reflected in the stats. Perhaps this is due to the way the game was played? The 'whole of team' defensive pressure meant a lot of time was spent with Freo chipping the ball laterally (Freo accumulating stats) and afraid to take on our defensive zone (Dees not accumulating stats). 

6 hours ago, speed demon said:

I thought that was the best game we've played in 2022 so interesting that it is not reflected in the stats. Perhaps this is due to the way the game was played? The 'whole of team' defensive pressure meant a lot of time was spent with Freo chipping the ball laterally (Freo accumulating stats) and afraid to take on our defensive zone (Dees not accumulating stats). 

Yes that's also a plausible argument SD.

Freo clocking up (what must be some sort of record) 78 disposals per goal vs 29 by us on the night!

Edited by Demon Dynasty

Weighted Average Player & Team Ratings up to & including Rnd 20, 2022 vs H&A Season 2021

Player 2022 Rating 2022 Rank 2021 Rating % Change vs 2021 2021 Rank Change in Rank vs 2021
C Oliver 5.338 1 5.258 1.52 1 0
C Petracca 4.470 2 4.041 10.62 2 0
Jack Viney 4.044 3 3.171 27.53 8 5
A Brayshaw 3.925 4 2.836 38.40 12 8
Steven May 3.890 5 3.926 -0.92 3 -2
L Dunstan 3.497 6 - - - -
Ed Langdon 3.348 7 3.092 8.28 9 2
J Jordon 3.214 8 2.908 10.52 10 2
Max Gawn # 3.172 9 3.439 -7.76 7 -2
L Jackson # 3.124 10 2.355 32.65 21 11
C Salem 3.084 11 3.879 -20.49 4 -7
J Harmes 3.063 12 3.520 -12.98 6 -6
Jake Bowey 2.894 13 2.881 0.45 11 -2
T Sparrow 2.818 14 2.023 39.30 28 14
Alex N-Bullen 2.731 15 2.388 14.36 19 4
Jake Lever 2.709 16 3.661 -26.00 5 -11
T Rivers 2.373 17 2.658 -10.72 13 -4
H Petty 2.371 18 2.086 13.66 26 8
Joel Smith 2.239 19 1.375 62.84 32 13
K Pickett 2.085 20 2.378 -12.32 20 0
A Tomlinson 2.079 21 2.475 -16.00 16 -5
C Spargo 2.051 22 2.068 -0.82 27 5
T Bedford 2.023 23 - - - -
Bayley Fritsch 1.962 24 2.155 -8.96 25 1
T McDonald # 1.939 25 2.516 -22.93 15 -10
J Melksham 1.763 26 1.853 -4.86 31 5
S Weideman # 1.705 27 1.055 61.61 27 0
J Hunt 1.665 28 2.597 -35.89 14 -14
Ben Brown # 1.654 29 1.855 -10.84 30 1
Mitch Brown 1.550 30 2.475 -37.37 16 -14
Daniel Turner>*TOG 49% 1.200 31 - - - -
TEAM RATING (Top 22) 68.52   67.23 1.92    

# Hit outs to advantage not captured

* Only played one match...not an average rating

> Subbed out

Edited by Demon Dynasty

Round 21, 2022 MCG - Demons vs Magpies

Our team rating of 66.90 was only 0.5% off our 2021 season average and about 6.5% up on last week's rating vs Freo.

So tonight was very close to our average form from last season (statistically) but unfortunately it wasn't enough to beat the Magpies who, as i suspected last week, were/are playing at another level to most teams right at this moment.

Can they keep it up?  I'm not so sure as they are playing a very risky form of game, relying very much on their rebound and ability to convert accurately to win most games.  If that accuracy drops off even a small percentage they might not be winning so many of these close matches from here.

However they are certainly in some ripping form across the board with most of their big guns up and running at full tilt so they could also be hard to stop if this situation continues.

Player Rating Rank
C Oliver 5.900 1
C Petracca 5.175 2
C Salem 5.175 2
Jack Viney 4.450 4
Max Gawn # 4.125 5
A Brayshaw 4.025 6
Steven May 3.775 7
J Jordon 3.475 8
L Jackson # 3.050 9
A N-Bullen 2.700 10
Jake Lever 2.650 11
M Hibberd 2.600 12
Ben Brown # 2.575 13
J Hunt 2.350 14
B Fritsch 2.175 15
C Spargo 2.175 15
K Pickett 2.150 17
H Petty 1.850 18
Ed Langdon 1.850 19
Trent Rivers 1.675 20
T Sparrow 1.550 21
J Melksham 1.450 22
Team Score 66.90  
Top 6 28.85  
Bottom 6 10.53  

Stats courtesy of footywire.com

Edited by Demon Dynasty

Weighted Average Player & Team Ratings up to & including Rnd 21, 2022 vs H&A Season 2021

Player 2022 Rating 2022 Rank 2021 Rating % Change vs 2021 2021 Rank Change in Rank vs 2021
C Oliver 5.367 1 5.258 2.07 1 0
C Petracca 4.505 2 4.041 11.48 2 0
Jack Viney 4.067 3 3.171 28.26 8 5
A Brayshaw 3.930 4 2.836 38.58 12 8
Steven May 3.883 5 3.926 -1.10 3 -2
C Salem 3.317 7 3.879 -14.49 4 -3
Ed Langdon 3.266 8 3.092 5.63 9 1
J Jordon 3.228 9 2.908 11.00 10 1
Max Gawn # 3.225 10 3.439 -6.22 7 -3
L Jackson # 3.119 11 2.355 32.44 21 10
T Sparrow 2.751 14 2.023 35.99 28 14
Alex N-Bullen 2.729 15 2.388 14.28 19 4
Jake Lever 2.705 16 3.661 -26.11 5 -11
H Petty 2.334 17 2.086 11.89 26 9
T Rivers 2.323 18 2.658 -12.60 13 -5
K Pickett 2.088 20 2.378 -12.20 20 0
C Spargo 2.058 22 2.068 -0.48 27 5
Bayley Fritsch 1.973 24 2.155 -8.45 25 1
J Melksham 1.718 26 1.853 -7.29 31 5
Ben Brown # 1.715 27 1.855 -7.55 30 3
J Hunt 1.714 28 2.597 -34.00 14 -14
S Weideman # 1.705 29 1.055 61.61 27 -2
Team Rating 68.67   67.23 2.14    

> Subbed out

Edited by Demon Dynasty

That is very interesting DD, statistically we are identical to 2021, some players up some down but same output our DNA is strong just not getting the same results on the scoreboard or have other teams past us by??

Stats. 
In the 2021 final series , we averaged 370 possessions per game - split 230 kicks 140 handballs 

Dees v Pies rd.21 200 kicks 210 handballs 

overhandballing - just my imagination? No we are chronically overhandballing often to put ourselves under pressure.  It’s shades of 2019. It means the opposition “tackle count” on us will be high and yes it is.  

We have a super talented list and it’s frustrating that the forward strategy and transition of the footy is sub standard. FFS we have stars all over the field and we don’t want to waste this golden opportunity to win the flag. 

1 hour ago, DeeZone said:

That is very interesting DD, statistically we are identical to 2021, some players up some down but same output our DNA is strong just not getting the same results on the scoreboard or have other teams past us by??

I think part of the answer is that the good Opposition teams are playing us differently. The emphasis is quick ball movement, switching play, don’t go down the line, keep the ball low and targeted going into their forward line. Doggies and Pies have done that and managed to negate Lever and May and play around Max and avoiding getting into a dour, defensive wrestle. Us, well when we have the ball we display some breathtaking ball movement early on to score easily but then tend to revert to very predictable defensive ball movement in the second half of games, kicking down the line, high balls into our F50 etc and get run over by the better teams. 

9 hours ago, Earl Hood said:

I think part of the answer is that the good Opposition teams are playing us differently. The emphasis is quick ball movement, switching play, don’t go down the line, keep the ball low and targeted going into their forward line. Doggies and Pies have done that and managed to negate Lever and May and play around Max and avoiding getting into a dour, defensive wrestle. Us, well when we have the ball we display some breathtaking ball movement early on to score easily but then tend to revert to very predictable defensive ball movement in the second half of games, kicking down the line, high balls into our F50 etc and get run over by the better teams. 

Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. 

Edited by spirit of norm smith
O

Overhandballing - it’s clear to me and the stats don’t lie, I’m struggling to find a winning team or indeed any team that overuses the footy like the Dees. We want to support free running and carry but it’s getting too obvious to our opponents.  Stats from the Cats and Pies games 

Dees v Cats 

Dees 190 kicks 160 handballs 

Cats 240 kicks 130 handballs 

Dees v Pies 

Dees 200 kicks 210 handballs

Pies 200 kicks 100 handballs 

ps stats v freo

Dees 200 kicks 140 handballs

Dockers 210 kicks 180 handballs

we often win if we are plus 50 or 60 on kicks to handballs … quick ball movement 

12 hours ago, DeeZone said:

I think its more that some of our top  players & a few of the rookies have ratcheted up their work rate.  The rookies off a bit of a low base in some circumstances DZ such as Sparrow & Jackson.  Nibbler has upped things but seemingly not at the pointy end (goals!?).

Joel Smith's rating is also a bit of an outlier that might be skewing the top 22 rating too positively as well... coming off a very low base the year before and of course not in the team for quite a while.  Macca missing in that 22 as well impacts us up forward with scoring ability.  Meaning we might look better rating wise but conversion % off vs 2021 as a result?

Kozzie, Lever, Harmes (very spasmodic in terms of form & on the park).  Tomo in the 22 team figure but shouldn't be seeing as he isn't a regular at the momemt.  Many forwards who are regular 22 aren't counted in that top 22 figure either and aren't going at their 2021 levels season wise anyway.  Some might have improved of late.  Hunt is also in the team and his rating is way off 2021 levels.

Ideally i would need to construct an actual 'named / played 22' each week for this to be more relevant.  Just putting a top 22 rating together is nice & quick/convenient for me but not a true indication of where/how the actual 22 are going each week.  I will attempt to do this from next season.  Just the extra time factor involved has kept me from doing so.

Edited by Demon Dynasty

11 hours ago, Earl Hood said:

A good summary.  No doubt the better teams aren't falling in to the trap of playing games on our terms any more to a degree.

But i also think we haven't been bringing our defensive (in your face) pressure game as we did so often in 2021.  This has been well covered in many other threads with examples of zero / low tackle counts from players generally and in particular up forward.  If you aren't going to bring that manic in your face pressure in most games such as we did against Freo & Brissy, then teams are going to do as Earl has mentioned and play the game more on their terms.  Using the extra time/space to execute etc.

Add to this so many missed opportunities in front of goal or coming inside (connecting).  You cant expect the defenders and mids to be on top for the entire match.  The good teams are going to get things on their terms during parts of a game.  If they are better at connecting / converting up forward during those moments vs our time spent doing so, then they are probably more than likely going to knock us off.  Provided they're pretty accurate a la the Pies and Doggies (accuracy might also have something to do with our lack of pressure in general and maybe even two way running of some mids? vs 2021*).

*Pure conjecture on my part

Edited by Demon Dynasty

Thanks DD our best players have improved apart from Max, Salem, Lever and Harmes who have all suffered injuries whilst our bottom eight have dropped off!!

3 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Overhandballing - it’s clear to me and the stats don’t lie, I’m struggling to find a winning team or indeed any team that overuses the footy like the Dees. We want to support free running and carry but it’s getting too obvious to our opponents.  Stats from the Cats and Pies games 

Dees v Cats 

Dees 190 kicks 160 handballs 

Cats 240 kicks 130 handballs 

Dees v Pies 

Dees 200 kicks 210 handballs

Pies 200 kicks 100 handballs 

ps stats v freo

Dees 200 kicks 140 handballs

Dockers 210 kicks 180 handballs

we often win if we are plus 50 or 60 on kicks to handballs … quick ball movement 

Also....

2021 averages

Kicks 219  Handballs 149

Kicks 214   Handballs 158

So we are pretty much on par with last season bar a slight uptick in handballs (on average) but...

Why the obvious discrepancies in some of the games you have highlighted NS?

The FD would be seeing this and analysing pretty deeply surely?

Edited by Demon Dynasty

1 hour ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Thanks DD. Averages can be misleading.

I looked back at some of our better games this year there is definitely a +40,+50,+60 “kicks above handball” stat.   

Yes absolutely agree that averages can often mask what's taking place week to week and totally with you on the over use in some games as you've highlighted NS.

The key to this though is solving the 'why' puzzle.  Are we inviting this pressure just through over use of handball or what is behind that vs particular teams?

Their upped pressure?  Eg; Some oppos are just bringing it more than we are on occasions.  Credit where credit's due.

Our lack of burst speed away from stoppage (fitness and/or mind set)?

Structure/ Set up issues... eg;  one or two players more than is required getting sucked or pushed into contested ball leaving not enough on the outer rim for the receive or protecting the outlets?

Particular players out of form?

Lack of pressure on the oppo exiting our 50 meaning we are chasing tail so often (fatiguing more)?

Lack of work rate from forwards.  Eg;  not presenting often enough.  Meaning mids & HBs look up and can't see an option & then try to maintain possssion via handball?  Forwards not working hard enough to get front position to mark incoming bail out kicks which sees the oppo marking and rebounding quickly (see lack of pressure above = fatigue)?

Not quite as fit as last season given a few more injuries and/or late start to the pre-season?

Mind set ...hunger/desire ...the want eg; willingness to run and make options by foot, desire as in putting in repeat efforts to burst away from congestion with legs which allows player with ball a little more time to kick vs handball in congestion due to pressure/perceived pressure?

Other reason/s?....

Edited by Demon Dynasty

On 8/2/2022 at 10:48 AM, Demon Dynasty said:

Weighted Average Player & Team Ratings up to & including Rnd 20, 2022 vs H&A Season 2021

C Oliver 5.338 1 5.258 1.52 1 0
C Petracca 4.470 2 4.041 10.62 2 0
Jack Viney 4.044 3 3.171 27.53 8 5
A Brayshaw 3.925 4 2.836 38.40 12 8
Steven May 3.890 5 3.926 -0.92 3 -2
Ed Langdon 3.348 7 3.092 8.28 9 2
J Jordon 3.214 8 2.908 10.52 10 2
Max Gawn # 3.172 9 3.439 -7.76 7 -2
L Jackson # 3.124 10 2.355 32.65 21 11
C Salem 3.084 11 3.879 -20.49 4 -7
T Sparrow 2.818 14 2.023 39.30 28 14
Alex N-Bullen 2.731 15 2.388 14.36 19 4
Jake Lever 2.709 16 3.661 -26.00 5 -11
T Rivers 2.373 17 2.658 -10.72 13 -4
H Petty 2.371 18 2.086 13.66 26 8
K Pickett 2.085 20 2.378 -12.32 20 0
C Spargo 2.051 22 2.068 -0.82 27 5
Bayley Fritsch 1.962 24 2.155 -8.96 25 1
J Melksham 1.763 26 1.853 -4.86 31 5
S Weideman # 1.705 27 1.055 61.61 27 0
J Hunt 1.665 28 2.597 -35.89 14 -14
Ben Brown # 1.654 29 1.855 -10.84 30 1
TEAM RATING (Top 22) 68.52   67.23 1.92    

> Subbed out

What the hell is wrong with Salem ? minus 20 and down from 4th? Is he still injured? lever also way down

7 hours ago, Kent said:

What the hell is wrong with Salem ? minus 20 and down from 4th? Is he still injured? lever also way down

Salem played his best game this season against the Pies Kent.  Reckon he was just coming from a long way back after his long lay off.

Thought he was one of the better players until three quarter time.  Yes a fair way off his best prior to Friday night but good signs.  Equal 2nd (statistically) alongside Tracc is no mean feet and i suspect the coaches will be very pleased with his game bar one or two brain snaps (although i'm relying on other D'lander accounts being accurate here as i can't recall at hand everything that went down).

Lever is the one i'm watching with more interest.  He's been back for quite a while now and 25% doesn't lie vs 2021.  He's going 'ok' but still a fair way off his stellar 2021 form IMV.

Edited by Demon Dynasty

Round 22, 2022 MCG - Demons vs Blues

Hunt's best statistical result after trolling back all the way through to season 2019!

I didn't do this with Melksham for every season as i don't have the luxury of time to go over every season for so many but easily his best game this season and most likely his best since 2018.  His best that year (excluding finals) funnily enough was also against the Blues in Round 9 where he clocked up a No.1 rating with a 5.900

May No.1 rating this round and just might be getting back to his best form again.  Let's hope so.  Some of his highlights included 11 rebounds, 10 intercepts and the most meters gained on the night for both clubs with 736 meters.

Team rating a fair way off 2021's average .... 9% in fact.  Hopefully a reflection of the nature of the match and fierceness of the opponent rather than an indicator of our present form!?

One more big push against Brissy to seal a top four then the week's break to reset.  Fingers crossed!

Player Rating Rank
Steven May 5.175 1
C Oliver 4.600 2
C Petracca 4.075 3
J Hunt 4.025 4
C Salem 3.775 5
A Brayshaw 3.600 6
Jack Viney 3.500 7
J Melksham 3.400 8
Max Gawn # 33 3.325 9
T Rivers 3.300 10
H Petty 2.950 11
M Hibberd 2.900 12
Ben Brown # 5 2.300 13
L Jackson # 19 2.100 14
J Jordon 2.050 15
A N-Bullen 2.050 16
K Pickett 1.950 17
Jake Lever 1.600 18
T Sparrow 1.425 19
C Spargo 1.000 20
Ed Langdon 0.975 21
B Fritsch 0.950 22
Team Score 61.03  
Top 6 25.25  
Bottom 6 7.90  

# Hit outs to advantage not captured (number indicates number of hit outs).

Stats Courtesy of footywire.com

Edited by Demon Dynasty

Weighted Average Player & Team Ratings up to & including Rnd 22, 2022 vs H&A Season 2021

C Oliver 5.329 1 5.258 1.35 1 0
C Petracca 4.485 2 4.041 10.99 2 0
Jack Viney 4.037 3 3.171 27.31 8 5
Steven May 3.955 4 3.926 0.74 3 -1
A Brayshaw 3.914 5 2.836 38.01 12 7
C Salem 3.363 7 3.879 -13.30 4 -3
Max Gawn # 3.230 8 3.439 -6.08 7 -1
J Jordon 3.171 9 2.908 9.04 10 1
Ed Langdon 3.147 10 3.092 1.78 9 -1
L Jackson # 3.066 11 2.355 30.19 21 10
Alex N-Bullen 2.695 14 2.388 12.86 19 5
T Sparrow 2.685 15 2.023 32.72 28 13
Jake Lever 2.636 16 3.661 -28.00 5 -11
T Rivers 2.388 17 2.658 -10.16 13 -4
H Petty 2.375 18 2.086 13.85 26 8
K Pickett 2.081 20 2.378 -12.49 20 0
T Bedford 2.023 22 - - - -
C Spargo 2.007 23 2.068 -2.95 27 4
T McDonald # 1.939 24 2.516 -22.93 15 -9
J Melksham 1.928 25 1.853 4.05 31 6
Bayley Fritsch 1.924 26 2.155 -10.72 25 -1
J Hunt 1.868 27 2.597 -28.07 14 -13
Ben Brown # 1.752 28 1.855 -5.55 30 2
S Weideman # 1.705 29 1.055 61.61 27 -2
Team Rating 68.35   67.23 1.67    

> Subbed out

On 8/7/2022 at 2:28 PM, spirit of norm smith said:

Thanks DD. Averages can be misleading.

I looked back at some of our better games this year there is definitely a +40,+50,+60 “kicks above handball” stat.   

V Carlton 

Kicks 210. Handballs 140.  +70 kicks. Much better this week v Blues and special mention to Gus 24 kicks 14 handballs, May 22 kicks 3 handballs and Hunt 14 kicks 5 handballs.