Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

POSTGAME: Rd 17 vs Port Adelaide

11 hours ago, DeeSpencer said:

JJ earnt the number 2 wing spot, especially after Gus' ordinary performance against the Giants. 

The move of Brayshaw to the high half forward role and playing as the extra on baller at stoppages then even switching with Petracca was a very good decision. That's a better role for Gus than the wing against a fast running side like the Power. 

Okay, good call this. Just watched the last quarter ans watching watching first quarter, and you're spot on. 

That's a big win if we can incorporate Gus into our midfield set up sliding from forward half as the plus one too. It's great having three guys who can play wing now, when we weren't sure if we had more than one at the start of this year. JJ has been an out and out revelation. When he played wing against Brisbane he didnt lay a tackle, whereas last night, his tackles were right up again.

Very good spot, mate. Kudos.

12 hours ago, DeeSpencer said:

JJ earnt the number 2 wing spot, especially after Gus' ordinary performance against the Giants. 

The move of Brayshaw to the high half forward role and playing as the extra on baller at stoppages then even switching with Petracca was a very good decision. That's a better role for Gus than the wing against a fast running side like the Power. 

1 hour ago, A F said:

I'm not convinced that's quite right. Gus definitely played some wing and JJ definitely played some half forward. I'll have to watch the replay again.

Judging by the tracker, it was a bit of both for Gus. JJ definitely on the wing a fair bit though.

QVCpA7Z.jpeg

KAkmqc0.jpeg

Edited by Lord Nev

1 hour ago, The heart beats true said:

I really like Spargo as he plays to his limitations, and every player in front of him knows it. He’s the most consistent ball user we have (in that he’s almost exclusively going to kick it 15-30 metres), and I think the forwards love it because they lead to him. They go hard and early and he honours the lead every time. I think he’s been fantastic this year.

Plays to his "limitations" or plays to his "strengths"? He's a good evader, has a high football IQ and picks out players and forwards inside 50 with accurate kicks.

Melbourne are now very comfortable playing on the Big Stage under lights even when playing away in front of a hostile football illiterate crowd. We ignored the fact that Port were getting away with throwing the ball in the air when tackled and continually ran them to ground and soaked up their surge. What a really great team effort, agree Petty had a very impressive break out game, you can now see that May, Lever & Co trust him to do his role. Tracc , Oliver, Gawn, Kozzie, Salem and TMack back to their very best, everyone played their role and BBB straightened us up and did what a good big intelligent forward does. I was very content with this win and never really felt stressed as we were on from the first bounce, you would have to love our toughness, effort and team first effort.

Great Win DEES.!!!!

Great insights from TMac in this post game video on the MFC website. Another fine intervew from Ben Gibson.

https://www.melbournefc.com.au/video/974597/rd-17-tom-mcdonald-post-game?videoId=974597&modal=true&type=video&publishFrom=1625751396001

1 minute ago, In Harmes Way said:

Great insights from TMac in this post game video on the MFC website. Another fine intervew from Ben Gibson.

https://www.melbournefc.com.au/video/974597/rd-17-tom-mcdonald-post-game?videoId=974597&modal=true&type=video&publishFrom=1625751396001

boak to plugger: "good to see you're not wasting your career any more"

whack!

18 minutes ago, Lord Nev said:

Judging by the tracker, it was a bit of both for Gus. JJ definitely on the wing a fair bit though.

QVCpA7Z.jpeg

KAkmqc0.jpeg

Jordon was essentially playing as a winger/half back in the first 6 weeks or so.

He took Viney's defensive mid role when he went out of the side. And now jack is back JJ has slotted back in to his winger/half back.

Which is perfect for him - and us.

He gets a lot more outside ball, which is great for us as he hits targets and makes excellent decisions (there was one last night where he delayed the release and chose a really good option, where so many players would have given to a teammate under pressure. I can't remember exactly when though). 

But he balances that outside role with fantastic tackling and pressure 

Good role for JJ too, in terms of being less physically taxing than a pure inside defensive mid.

I reckon the biggest impact of Viney being out was robbing us of JJ n that role as there is not an obvious replacement, except for perhaps Bowey, who i assume they want to have more VFL time. 

JJ has become a super important cog in the machine. And reliable one at that. Such a pure footballer. 

3 minutes ago, binman said:

Jordon was essentially playing as a winger/half back in the first 6 weeks or so.

He took Viney's defensive mid role when he went out of the side. And now jack is back JJ has slotted back in to his winger/half back.

Which is perfect for him - and us.

He gets a lot more outside ball, which is great for us as he hits targets and makes excellent decisions (there was one last night where he delayed the release and chose a really good option, where so many players would have given to a teammate under pressure. I can't remember exactly when though). 

But he balances that outside role with fantastic tackling and pressure 

Good role for JJ too, in terms of being less physically taxing than a pure inside defensive mid.

I reckon the biggest impact of Viney being out was robbing us of JJ n that role as there is not an obvious replacement, except for perhaps Bowey, who i assume they want to have more VFL time. 

JJ has become a super important cog in the machine. And reliable one at that. Such a pure footballer. 

Great point mate. I was starting to get worried JJ would be run down by finals after the last few weeks, but he had more impact and seemed more 'fresh' last night back in that role.

4 hours ago, Redleg said:

Really hoping Blues and Saints can pull off big upsets this weekend.

I reckon Sydney could pull off the best upset for us. No Naughton for the Dogs. Swans in great form. Etihad would suit them. Buddy could really expose the Dog's backline.

Will be following that game closely. But excited to get home from work and enjoy a glass of wine while I watch the replay tonight! 

22 minutes ago, In Harmes Way said:

Tmac has a future in coaching. He is such a smart guy and very astute footy observer. 

Could be a forward coach one day.

47 minutes ago, A F said:

Okay, good call this. Just watched the last quarter ans watching watching first quarter, and you're spot on. 

That's a big win if we can incorporate Gus into our midfield set up sliding from forward half as the plus one too. It's great having three guys who can play wing now, when we weren't sure if we had more than one at the start of this year. JJ has been an out and out revelation. When he played wing against Brisbane he didnt lay a tackle, whereas last night, his tackles were right up again.

Very good spot, mate. Kudos.

Brayshaw might’ve taken a spell there but from what I saw last night it was Harmes taking some wing minutes too.

Harmes just wasn’t working at half forward, we saw that against the Giants. Gus got shredded by the Giants proper wingmen too, he was killed.

It was well and truly time to make the adjustment giving JJ the main job and mixing those other guys in other areas.

Gus’ slow reactions in tight make him a poor centre square option but he’s still got great value with clean quick hands as a pure on baller. Swapping him in with Petracca makes sense to me. And he can always go back to the wing if it’s a slow game and we need that defensive aerial game. 

3 hours ago, Win4theAges said:

Anyone at the game sitting in the cheer squad see the Thug Powa fan approach the cheer squad and hit a young girl in her teens?

He got evicted out the stadium. 

Scum.

• Angry 2

Watched the replay.

I really liked Max shepherding as Plugga ran into the open goal.

There was a really good chase by Brayshaw (I think) in the final minute. Not sure whether he caught the PA player, but it was a good effort.

Skill errors ... Viney/Harmes/ANB. Everyone else was great.

BBB inclusion was obviously successful. NSS !! My good friend Blind Freddy was also calling for his inclusion weeks ago.

The enjoyment of the win will extend to today ... and weekend. So different to last week's debacle.

4 minutes ago, Win4theAges said:

He got evicted out the stadium. 

Scum.

Port fans look like a brutish lot but their bark is usually worse than their bite. In general they are better behaved than many clubs. Still every club has moronic fans.

Edited by John Crow Batty

1 minute ago, chook fowler said:

A great win against a top 4 side in a hostile environment. We won each quarter and had good players across every line. A very even contribution. Can’t ask for much more. 
How good was Trac - he ripped the game apart.

He tore them a new one Chook?

Great win, Port tried to rough us up early but we’re quickly found wanting. We have now beaten the other 5 top 6 teams. Port are 0 & 4 against the top 4.

TMac is in AA form.

May is a star. 

Petty played his best game to date.

Langdon continues to escape criticism for his goal awareness, its been lacking in recent weeks. Looks to rush his shots when he actually has more time to steady, missed two gettable shots last night. 

Oliver was nailing his shots a few weeks ago, his attempts last night were poor. 

Was really happy with Brown’s game, thought he should of been paid the mark (in the 2nd qtr?next to the goal square). We have a lot of attacking options up fwd now, goals will come for him, can’t stop them all, he should of played last week. 

Loved Fritsch’s goal.

One of my fav moments last night was when Tmac had his shot near the boundary line smothered then got the ball back from a team mate still on the boundary and snapped the goal from about 50 out.

Priceless, and he looked liked he was quiet pleased with himself and so he should be.

2 hours ago, sue said:

Who writes these rules?  When does a player ever 'elect to incorrectly dispose of the ball'?  Perhaps when they deliberately throw it, but a fist missing an attempt to handpass is hardly 'electing'.  But what about a player who had prior opportunity who is then tackled and genuinely ATTEMPTS to kick the ball but misses it. No free kick according to that.  Any guide to the perplexed?

That is correct - NO Free Kick - like in the Harmes instance vs Essendon when their whingers totally lost their sh*t

15 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Those Neanderthals are just all class

2B430A00-6A17-480D-9BD9-9EEEA0C6E9B8.jpeg

Yeah I noted that too. Thought the booing every time we took a shot on goal was on the nose.   Just as well Goodes wasn’t playing for us….