Posted
1 hour ago, A F said:

No, but we're celebrating another team losing 3 best 22 players when we could lose 2 best 22 players and the two best Melbourne players in my 33 years of following the club. 

AF time to take a deep breath and go for a walk. 

Posted
1 hour ago, A F said:

No, but we're celebrating another team losing 3 best 22 players when we could lose 2 best 22 players and the two best Melbourne players in my 33 years of following the club. 

Today I noticed that my teapot was a bit close to the edge of the kitchen bench and just had to stop for a cry because it might one day topple over and hit a future child of mine as it falls.

• Haha 16

Posted
1 hour ago, A F said:

@A FSit back, relax and take comfort in the knowledge that things WILL get worse.

• Haha 5
Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, A F said:

I’d say most of us here are laughing at the immeasurably stupid and arrogant position they have put themselves in as well as the way they have handled it. 

Comparing back to Melbourne I will say that I’m now extremely happy that we still have Nev and Jones on our list because they are senior players that have the love and respect of their teammates. I would hope that Clarry and Trac would see how we have dealt with them with respect and say to themselves, “this is a club I want to be at”. Clearly that’s not everything but respect goes a long way in relationships. 

EDIT also even though we would probably have preferred to send TMac elsewhere we didn’t play anything out in the media. 

Edited by Pates
Posted
4 hours ago, old dee said:

D17 I don't think it has anything do with all that. IMO they needed to shed $2+ million and looked at where best that could be achieved. Treloar was the big one and when his wife moved north that thought great he will follow her, here is our big chance and it blew up in their faces when he said no quite happy here. The others were just easy pickings. It was only after the event that they started making up excuses.

Sorry ODee Whst plane didn't you come down on???

All those players had warts or potential problems they magnified them fir the salary recap to fit in DeGoey  snd others. Also Bucks was the messenger with trumped up reasons.

They needed scapegoats and Treloar Stepho and Phillips were the easy ones that they exaggerated their '"sins" and who were clogging up the salary cap.
It was easy then to throw Jaffa's grandson off the list to make more room.

Hsd nothing too do with revitalising the list !! As planned by Ned  Guy.

Posted
21 hours ago, A F said:

I'd be very careful about laughing at Collingwood. This could well be us with Clarry and Petracca next off season.

I think our club Adam has shown itself in recent future to be significantly better vs the competition off field than on. 
Hope your missus is doing ok.

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, A F said:

Oliver and Petracca the two best in 33 years?! Give me a break. And what about Max?

Clearly you never saw or don't remember guys like Stynes, Lyon, B.Lovett, Schwarz, Farmer, Neitz, Yze, Bruce, Tingay, Robbo, A.Davey and Robbie (if you include '87).

On the subject of Oliver, I know loyalty in pro footy means jack sh*t these days but why did he contact his mate Cripps and ask to come to Carlton?

Edited by dice
Posted
5 hours ago, old dee said:

I don't believe it is Buckley's problem. Other people would have been telling him we are sweet with salary cap then he gets told $2 million has to go! Add I reckon everyone in the pies camp was told no comment anyone including players concerned or you lose your job. I don't think he created the problem. Those that did have the explaining to do.

So telling Adam Treloar that he was not wanted by senior players wasn’t his “problem” ?

Posted

Collingwood supporters still not happy. Now the dissatisfaction has extended to memberships. Heard a member on radio complaining about his experience with the membership dept. He and his sons were struggling because of COVID, losing jobs etc, but when he enquired about concession for his unemployed sons he was knocked back, being told there were no discounts. This, despite paying full price for their memberships this year without being able to attend the games grieved him. He felt he was treated poorly by the club he had been supporting financially for many years. Their attitude was arrogant and unsympathetic. 

What happened to their famous motto? This whole debacle has been a PR nightmare. What were they thinking?

Posted (edited)

Don't worry about the Filth friends, they're clearing salary cap space to come after Oliver. 

Anyway, I wouldn't be too smug. We signed a coach for four years who can't get us into finals, a centre half forward for four years on 700K who runs around in the 11:10am game and we've just signed Viney, a player who can't consistently hit a target from 25 metres, and with a questionable medical history, for five years. Watch that one turn to sh&t. 

Edited by Queanbeyan Demon
Typo
Posted

Collingwood:  "Hey Neville, we're interested in maybe offering you a longer, more secure contract than Melbourne can, because we're keen to have you be part of improving our culture"

Jetta:  "Oh, yeah, that sounds reasonable, I'll need to think about thaaaaaaa... um, please excuse me, I think I left my cat on the stove."

Posted
2 hours ago, dice said:

Oliver and Petracca the two best in 33 years?! Give me a break. And what about Max?

Clearly you never saw or don't remember guys like Stynes, Lyon, B.Lovett, Schwarz, Farmer, Neitz, Yze, Bruce, Tingay, Robbo, A.Davey and Robbie (if you include '87).

On the subject of Oliver, I know loyalty in pro footy means jack sh*t these days but why did he contact his mate Cripps and ask to come to Carlton?

I saw them all play, except Robbie (I was born in '87). Oliver is miles ahead of any of them. His elite consistency is better than any of them. And I rate midfielders higher than ruckmen, forwards and wingers.

Not really sure what you mean by his mate Cripps. They're quite different ages and I doubt Clarry would go to Carlton, but he might go elsewhere.

And as for @old dee, @Little Goffy, I'm not particularly distressed and I'm very calm haha. Just don't feel like laying the boots into Collingwood for losing best 22 players.

Posted

As much as I dislike Pies, Treloar missed almost halF season, Philipps hardly played, Stephenson had a poor year!

playing wise they will be ok, culture wise who knows the impact 

Posted
3 hours ago, dice said:

On the subject of Oliver ... why did he contact his mate Cripps and ask to come to Carlton?

Big call that I haven't seen reported anywhere. Where is this from?

Posted
58 minutes ago, A F said:

Not really sure what you mean by his mate Cripps. They're quite different ages

Different ages, and there are a lot more rumours around about Cripps going back to Perth than Oliver leaving Melbourne too.

Posted

I hope Petracca is packing away his poster of Bucks, looking at those off loaded Collingwood players,  saying to himself,  'there but for the grace of God go I',  and vowing to stick with his Melbourne mates through thick and thin. ?

Posted (edited)

Ned Guys’ response below when asked about how confident contracted players can be that this wont happen to them. 

"We won't be trading anyone out until next years trade period"

FMD, absolute train-wreck of an interview. 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay
Posted
1 minute ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Ned Guys response below when asked about how confident contracted players can be that this wont happen to them

FMD. 

The entire interview was cringe. Completely out of his depth.

Posted
39 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Ned Guys’ response below when asked about how confident contracted players can be that this wont happen to them. 

FMD, absolute train-wreck of an interview. 

Is that David Brent?

Posted
On 11/12/2020 at 10:00 PM, A F said:

I'd be very careful about laughing at Collingwood. This could well be us with Clarry and Petracca next off season.

Oliver is out of contract end next season, Petracca the next. The timing of other players contracts will allow the club to offer them both good contracts. My concern is losing one of them from an inability of the team to perform or an from a rival club offer like the one with Carlton and Zac Williams.

Posted

If we are play8ng finals and playing good football Clarrie will re-sign. Same goes for Trac.

If not then both might look at our history and think well this place is still cooked and look elsewhere.