Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

Nathan Jones in 2021?

deespicable me

21 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

An underrated champion of the club who endured just about more rubbish than any other player throughout his career.

However, sadly I fear tonight was the last we will see of him in the red and blue.

Underrated? How?? He’s had years of kicking it directly to the opposition players and bombing it into the forward fifty without looking first. He was often found on the bottom of a pack after trying too hard for his size to burst through a tackle. Yes he tried hard but was never better than a mid range level player.

2 hours ago, Lord Nev said:

Reckon you could see it in his body language tonight that he knew it was time.

Hopefully supporters can treat him with a bit of grace and respect as he (probably) bows out. If there's one player we can all agree on as 'bleeding red and blue' it's Jones.

Completely agreed. Deserves our admiration and respect. He has done nothing but been great to this club. Always represented the jumper with passion dedication and honour. 
It is sad that the end for him is coming with injuries and not with finals. He deserved better. 

2 hours ago, Lord Nev said:

Reckon you could see it in his body language tonight that he knew it was time.

Hopefully supporters can treat him with a bit of grace and respect as he (probably) bows out. If there's one player we can all agree on as 'bleeding red and blue' it's Jones.

Agree.

He's done. He's been done for weeks but the two left foot kicks tonight were confirmation to anyone who needed it.

It's sad. He deserves to be applauded and remembered for the effort he put in over 15 years. But he shouldn't be playing and we need to make that call and move on.

11 minutes ago, Coq au vin said:

Underrated? How?? He’s had years of kicking it directly to the opposition players and bombing it into the forward fifty without looking first. He was often found on the bottom of a pack after trying too hard for his size to burst through a tackle. Yes he tried hard but was never better than a mid range level player.

He also schooled Jack Viney into his head banging game style. Seriously has anyone ever seen Jones or Viney tap a ball to advantage to a team mate when under pressure. I haven’t, they seem to want to eat it all for themselves. These two have been momentum killers for years. Jones would have been delisted several years ago at most other clubs and Viney has too many bad habits.

13 minutes ago, Coq au vin said:

5 minutes ago, america de cali said:

He also schooled Jack Viney into his head banging game style. Seriously has anyone ever seen Jones or Viney tap a ball to advantage to a team mate when under pressure. I haven’t, they seem to want to eat it for themselves. These two have been momentum killers for years. Jones would have been delisted several years ago at most other clubs and has too many bad habits.

Righto boys, pipe it down. There's a time and place for it and this thread is not the place. We all know he's officially finished now. No need for this kind of negative trot.

Unfortunately we'll see Jones call time on what has been a fantastic career. Thank for the blood sweat and tears Jonesy. Forever salute you as a Melbourne great.

21 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Righto boys, pipe it down. There's a time and place for it and this thread is not the place. We all know he's officially finished now. No need for this kind of negative trot.

Unfortunately we'll see Jones call time on what has been a fantastic career. Thank for the blood sweat and tears Jonesy. Forever salute you as a Melbourne great.

Good call Daz.

Im angry and want answer to all this crap that we are seeing in front of our eyes, but does Nathan really deserve the vitriolic attacks he is receiving?

Let the man be.

Forever Melbourne Jonesy.

Edited by Win4theAges

40 minutes ago, Coq au vin said:

Correct.  Don't think he has ever made the AA squad of 40.

Wow.

Honestly some of the comments in this thread say so much about the people making them, and nothing about a guy whose played almost 15 years at the highest level. 

He has come to the end but he shouldn’t, and won’t, be remembered for his last few games. 

7 hours ago, Coq au vin said:

Go away, nuffy.

8 hours ago, Hellish Inferno said:

His right thigh was strapped right?

This may explain the left foot kicks and not being confident taking his set shot. Would have looked even worse if he took the set shot left footed!

But if so, then seriously question whether he should have been out there on the field

i had the same question for 3 years

It is really sad to see Jones. He is busting a gut because he knows he in the last shot saloon for finals redemption. He deserves better. Has been a great and loyal club man who deserved a better team around him. But life is not fair. As a footballer Jones was above good but the word great is used to loosely. Great put you in the company of a Flower who is the greatest player I have ever seen in a Dees jumper

8 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Yeah, timely call. Jones getting to 300 is irrelevant to me. He was a respected opponent of many of the great midfielders for a decade. I hope he calls it time in the net few days Proud career with MFC. Might have been a better player in another side.

8 hours ago, Hellish Inferno said:

His right thigh was strapped right?

This may explain the left foot kicks and not being confident taking his set shot. Would have looked even worse if he took the set shot left footed!

But if so, then seriously question whether he should have been out there on the field

Exactly. Clearly not 100%. I’m not sure he should be in 

10 hours ago, titan_uranus said:

Agree.

He's done. He's been done for weeks but the two left foot kicks tonight were confirmation to anyone who needed it.

It's sad. He deserves to be applauded and remembered for the effort he put in over 15 years. But he shouldn't be playing and we need to make that call and move on.

For the past 2 weeks he's spent most or all of the last 1/4 on the bench. So th team has palyed with 3 rotations , assuming no injuries in the most important time of the match.

Again, not Nathans fault. 

1 hour ago, Deesprate said:

It is really sad to see Jones. He is busting a gut because he knows he in the last shot saloon for finals redemption. He deserves better. Has been a great and loyal club man who deserved a better team around him. But life is not fair. As a footballer Jones was above good but the word great is used to loosely. Great put you in the company of a Flower who is the greatest player I have ever seen in a Dees jumper

I disagree, while he has been a loyal campaigner for us the truth is he wouldn’t have gotten nearly as many other opportunities at other clubs as he did at the dees. He likely wouldn’t have made the starting 22 for many other clubs during his prime let alone the % of salary cap he would have earns (due to us having sweet FA talent on our list). While he has faught well his time is up and he has been more then fairly compensated for his time. He isn’t owed anything.

14 hours ago, Elegt said:

This thread is laughable and ridiculous. Jones is a liability and is tarnishing his legacy as a champion. He should retire and save us from the pain of watching him cough the ball up. Has been a great servant but he is robbing games

While Blokes like Spargo, Oscar, Melksham and others get gifted games he isn't robbing games of anyone!

Agree though that his time is up. Should not have played at all this year. But typical MFC Lack the ruthlessness required to be successful.

Been a great servant but has played his last game!

20 minutes ago, olisik said:

I disagree, while he has been a loyal campaigner for us the truth is he wouldn’t have gotten nearly as many other opportunities at other clubs as he did at the dees. He likely wouldn’t have made the starting 22 for many other clubs during his prime let alone the % of salary cap he would have earns (due to us having sweet FA talent on our list). While he has faught well his time is up and he has been more then fairly compensated for his time. He isn’t owed anything.

The bolded part is absolute dribble

7 minutes ago, Forest Demon said:

The bolded part is absolute dribble

Which position would he have played at Geelong (Danger, Selwood, Ablett, Duncan) Hawks (Hodge, Mitchell, Mitchell, Burgoyne, Omeara), Richmond (Cotchin, Martin, Prestia), Collingwood (Pendles, Treloar, Sidebottom)  ect as he wouldn’t have gotten a gig in the midfield behind what they have. He has proven to us he is limited in playing other roles so I am keen to hear your arguments on this.

He would have had to forge himself as a completely different player to make the cut at many other clubs.

Edited by olisik

2 minutes ago, olisik said:

Which position would he have played at Geelong, Hawks, Richmond ect as he wouldn’t have gotten a gig in the midfield behind what they have. He has proven to us he is limited in playing other roles so I am keen to hear your arguments on this.

He has definitely proven to be limited in his final years, but he would have been more adaptable in his prime. He would of walked into the 22 of any of those sides. Most likely in the midfield rotation, but otherwise he could have played other roles if required.

1 minute ago, Forest Demon said:

He has definitely proven to be limited in his final years, but he would have been more adaptable in his prime. He would of walked into the 22 of any of those sides. Most likely in the midfield rotation, but otherwise he could have played other roles if required.

Need to agree to disagree on this. I see absolutely no way he would’ve been in the Hawks 22 three peat team. With his disposal Clarkson wouldn’t have given him a look in.

A couple of posters have talked about club culture and how important it is to have these milestones, such as 300 games. They're right. Milestones like this don't come around every week and when they do they should be pushed for and celebrated.

But it has to be on the club's terms, not the player's. It's a team sport.

Nathan earlier this year said something like, when he's playing he brings more to the team than any other player. He must genuinely believe that to have pushed on this year. Unfortunately he's managed to highlight to the football world the hollowness of that statement.

I think the club have let it play out on Nathan's terms too much. The closer he gets to 300, the harder it will be for him to come to grips with missing out. He'll be at the coaches this week demanding a chance for redemption against Freo. Will they give in?

He should have been tapped on the shoulder at the end of '19 and given a dignified champ's exit.

He'll be remembered fondly, as MFC royalty, as a bright light in a dark time, but every game he's playing now tarnishes his record just a little bit more.

Our Season will be over by Round 18 V Essendon, it would be fitting for Jones and Jetta to get a farewell game real shame for both players that this isn't in front of 50K at the MCG they both deserve this, they have stuck with a club that has offered up absolute garbage for a large percentage of their careers, both could have left but stuck with the club in a hope we will get our act together.  Wouldn't be to many players in the AFL that would have faced as much as these two, admin issues, coach turnover, Tanking, the run of unfortunate Deaths we had and the mass turn over off team mates and finally a winning percentage that outside a couple of years is plain embarassing.

Credit to both, they deserve better and show what amazing character these to have.  Take nothing away from Jones and Jetta they have giving everything they could to this football club.  Respect to both, I hope the club can show them the respect that they have shown it.

Im guilty of Slamming Jones a number of times through his Career, never on effort always his disposal, but I have the utmost respect and admiration for this guy sticking with us and trying to turn this club around, unfortunately the club didn't let this happen.

5 hours ago, Mazer Rackham said:

Nathan earlier this year said something like, when he's playing he brings more to the team than any other player. 

Now that is something that one would never hear from the lips of Fyfe, Dusty, Gaff, Selwood, Danger, Buddy, Zorko, Bont, Hurn, Burgoyne etc and just about any other high profile or senior player. If true he said that, it will confirm my suspicions.