Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

Origin of The Grand Old Flag

MELBOURNE

Founded: 1859

Club song: ‘The grand old flag’

It’s a grand old flag

It’s a high flying flag

It’s the emblem for me and for you

It’s the emblem of the team we love

The team of the Red and the Blue

Ev’ry heart beats true

For the Red and the Blue

And we sing this song to you (What do we sing!)

Should old acquaintance be forgot

Keep your eye on the Red and the Blue

“It’s a Grand Old Flag” was taken from an American patriotic tune, “You’re a Grand Old Flag”.

The Melbourne theme song was written in 1912 and is one of the oldest club songs. A second verse was added by Keith ‘Bluey’ Truscott, a Melbourne player, in the late 1930s.

“You’re a grand old flag” is an American patriotic march by George M. Cohan, and is a tribute to the American flag. The song was written for the musical George Washington Jr, which premiered in New York in 1906

Seriously though wouldn't it be great to have a song like the NZ or South African anthems ...one verse in English and one in an indigneous language

Yes I know there are hundreds of indigenous languages so pick the one of the Wurundjeri people on whose lands the MCG sits

11 hours ago, Demonland said:

MELBOURNE

Founded: 1859

Club song: ‘The grand old flag’

It’s a grand old flag

It’s a high flying flag

It’s the emblem for me and for you

It’s the emblem of the team we love

The team of the Red and the Blue

Ev’ry heart beats true

For the Red and the Blue

And we sing this song to you (What do we sing!)

Should old acquaintance be forgot

Keep your eye on the Red and the Blue

“It’s a Grand Old Flag” was taken from an American patriotic tune, “You’re a Grand Old Flag”.

The Melbourne theme song was written in 1912 and is one of the oldest club songs. A second verse was added by Keith ‘Bluey’ Truscott, a Melbourne player, in the late 1930s.

“You’re a grand old flag” is an American patriotic march by George M. Cohan, and is a tribute to the American flag. The song was written for the musical George Washington Jr, which premiered in New York in 1906

George M Cohan also wrote the music behind Hawthorn's song "  I'm a Yankee Doodle Dandy' was the original song. Cohan was awarded a congressional medal of honour for his first world war song titled "over There'.

9 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Seriously though wouldn't it be great to have a song like the NZ or South African anthems ...one verse in English and one in an indigneous language

Yes I know there are hundreds of indigenous languages so pick the one of the Wurundjeri people on whose lands the MCG sits

I actually love the idea on an indigenous verse, but no. Leave my song alone please :) 

6 hours ago, Smokey said:

I actually love the idea on an indigenous verse, but no. Leave my song alone please :) 

But that's the problem...it's not our song.

Bit like hanging on to God save the Queen but changing the words to God save the GG

Edited by Diamond_Jim

Love our song. I can't get through the Herald Sun firewall to read about the background of the other songs but I remember on hearing the Adelaide one my first thought was that it's the same tune as the controversial song called The Sash (my father wore) sung by both Rangers supporters and unionists in Northern Ireland. Usually accompanied by a flute. 

9 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

I remember on hearing the Adelaide one my first thought was that it's the same tune as the controversial song called The Sash

One of the worst examples perhaps as it is of course the official song of the US marines.

I suppose it can be defended on the basis that they stole the tune from a French operetta.

Probably even worse is the Fitzroy/Brisbane theme sung to the tune of the French National Anthem.(Given their defence of almost every wine and cheese name known to man I'm surprised the French haven't sent Brisbane a please desist note.)

1 hour ago, Diamond_Jim said:

One of the worst examples perhaps as it is of course the official song of the US marines.

I suppose it can be defended on the basis that they stole the tune from a French operetta.

Probably even worse is the Fitzroy/Brisbane theme sung to the tune of the French National Anthem.(Given their defence of almost every wine and cheese name known to man I'm surprised the French haven't sent Brisbane a please desist note.)

Here you go DJ. I'm a Rangers man myself but have no time for this sort of sectarian rubbish. It's the same tune as the Adelaide song though and is the only reason for me posting it. It's also been a while since we we're league and cup champions ? 

Since there is nothing else to talk about at the moment, here is a re-run of an article I wrote for Demonland a couple of years ago:

Footy club Theme songs ( and their origins)

We all know our own Club theme song, but singing such a thing has not always been done.  Over many, many years those songs have evolved, with the majority “borrowed” from other sources with the lyrics suitably adjusted. 

So where did they come from, and what insights into the team and its own history do they give?

Richmond:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LxMHbg3R00g

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Cz92GzEt2I

This clip explains a lot about Richmond supporters.  Remember this when you next hear it! Especially the sexual overtones…..no, doesn’t bear thinking about….

But the best version of their team song is this one:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KBD49n36F9k

Fremantle:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pDsuU6v2gYE

Original:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E-qz4Icl3_Q

Freo supporters should be serious vodka drinkers……

Melbourne: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OIHJ3NYIRro&list=PL79A42F90C35FD143

Original:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GvdHKS-rskA

Sorry for the American overtones…..

Adelaide:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_3zS83-IQ3k

Original:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=itUDOuFcWb4&feature=related

…and even more American overtones…..

Essendon:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AL0DRyhUt1c

Original:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MCN9KIPfMPE

Visions of the prohibition era…..not much has changed at the Dons!

Brisbane:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i2OnZG6VnJk

Original:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4K1q9Ntcr5g&feature=related

There was something wrong with this played at the Grand Final in front of 100,000 Australians

Collingwood:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=chRE_oHWG9g

Original:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dvvNbV5IORM

It’s bad enough listening to the original song that they pinched but their supporters haven’t changed over the history of the club:

http://www.convictcreations.com/football/collingwood.htm

Geelong:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=akAkWj7kXt0

Surprisingly they tried this version in 1992, when they thought they would parody “Pinball Wizard” by the Who:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oQFwnOIpej4

Original:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uXzsVb1pPFY

…you have to wait a bit for the chorus to recognise it…..

Hawthorn:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p2pumIAeS0c

Original:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=StDpLge_ITM

More Americanism, but gotta love Cagney!

Carlton:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JPpe2LVfgwo

Original:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n4NMnwrKwpk

If you listen to the words it simply wouldn’t be written today!

The song was No. 21 on the White star line orchestra play list i.e  the Titanic. 

St.Kilda:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=--f9cjE9h4s

Original:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wyLjbMBpGDA

Shortest lyrics of any club song. Satchmo is great regardless!

Sydney:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H1oQjBUeqAE

Original:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hSd_l508dwA&feature=related

What does shake down the thunder from the sky mean?

West Coast:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yr5vcF66lH8

Original:

http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=iVQPsro2p0A

Why do all Mike Brady songs sound the same?...Very 80’s

Footscray:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NCWSiW7vKrA

Original:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CGbdoQk9EIA

The song is based on an old sea shanty called “Sons of the Sea”

Port Adelaide:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D2cUM71RA24

The original was penned local composers Quentin Eyers ( who plays in a Sikh band ) and Les Kaczmarek (the original bass player with Cold Chisel).  Like the people who support the club, it is a shocker, and the alternative lyrics are probably more appropriate:

We've got no Power at all
Our [censored] are so small
Come on, Port Adelaide are wankers
We are the Bogans from Port
We're always in court
It's true Port Adelaide tradition
We'll never stop, stop, stop
Growin our drug, drug crop
There's history here in the making
Port supporters are sad
No-one knows who's their dad
Paternity tests is ours for the taking

With our drug network so strong
We can't go wrong
We're the Alberton crowd
Port Adelaide proud
And the losers are those
Who've earned the right
To wear the silver - teal
And black and white
And the Port supporters
Oh so small
> > >>True Ferals
> > >>One and all

Gold Coast:

Original:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qGPHbeNUDFg

However I much prefer the Kazakhstan version ( rarely heard):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GkVKyXDv81I

GWS:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=epvc4wDWQCQ

Put together by Harry Angus of The Cat Empire! But could he have recently attended a Jewish wedding when he composed this piece?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-BMtlNLnXxI

On 4/18/2020 at 8:11 AM, drysdale demon said:

George M Cohan also wrote the music behind Hawthorn's song "  I'm a Yankee Doodle Dandy' was the original song. Cohan was awarded a congressional medal of honour for his first world war song titled "over There'.

My mate and I always refer to the Melb v Hawthorn game as the Cohen Cup!

On 4/17/2020 at 11:48 PM, The Lobster Effect said:

Have you heard the indigenous version of grand old flag? 

Would be great if they could somehow combine it with David Bridie's version...

A few other facts I read about it years ago. George Cohan's inspiration for the song was an ex Civil War soldier he sat near on a train who was carrying his original confederate flag from the civil war as he was heading to some memorial event. As George mentioned it was written for the musical but it became the number one hit in America. In those days that was assessed by how many copies of the music were bought.