Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

AFL TV Rights

occo

Has anyone heard if foxtel are back in with 4 games or do we have 8 games free to air. Please help...im nervous

• Replies 50

Today in The Australian:

AN end is in sight to the year-long tussle between pay-TV providers Foxtel and Austar and AFL rights holders the Seven and Ten networks.

An announcement that Foxtel and Austar will show four live games each week is expected by the end of next week.

It is understood the parties have agreed on price, and all that remains before an announcement is some work to tidy up detailed and complex scheduling arrangements.

Has anyone heard if foxtel are back in with 4 games or do we have 8 games free to air. Please help...im nervous

Mate if you're concerned about Fox getting 4 games, it's only $13 per week to have Foxtel plus they usually offer free installation.

$13 per week gets you just over 2 stubbies at a pub/bar

$13 per week gets you a movie ticket

Just sacrifice a certain luxury that you normally do each week, and voila...you're guranteed to watch the Dees play every game interstate!

Just to further emphasise BBP's point, I had foxtel last year in Sydney and for about a month before I moved back, I had it cancelled. While I had it connected, during the footy season or otherwise, I thought perhaps it was a bit steep. But once it was gone I started spending money on movies at the cinema that I otherwise wouldn't have spent, as well as on other forms of entertainment I needed to get me out of the house. As anti-social as it may seem, foxtel actually saved me money in the long-run.

1 night at the cinema =

$13 ticket, + $13 for girlfriend + $20 worth of crap you don't even want to eat + dinner if necessary $?. That's $46 or more.

1 whole month of standard foxtel and a variety of movies that are pretty recent, plus sports package =

$36.95 for standard package + $15.95 for sports + $15.95 for movies = $68.85.

As a cinema buff I usually go to the movies each weekend, and with the IQ box I found I could tape ANYTHING and watch it whenever I wanted, not to mention games I'd want to review, be they demons or otherwise. In NSW last year, demons games were hardly ever shown on FTA. Foxtel was my life.

Having said that, I was living in a foreign place, in an area where you wouldn't just go walking the streets. Socialising was at a minimum, so I don't know whether or not it'd be such a money-saver in Melbourne as it was up north. Also, without footy, it's just an indulgence. With footy, it makes a LOT of sense.

Aaah, I see. I'm not sure where BBP got $13 from. If you go on their site it says the minimum is 36.95, with an extra 15.95 for the sports package.

Fair enough occo. The Fox commentators (with the exception of Grybas) make me nautious. Oh jeez, just thinking about them makes me want to puke. And also, I can totally understand the financial strain. Especially for certain sections of society, notably the elderly, unemployed, students etc. etc.

Yeah, not for everyone obviously. But if you feel you're missing too much live viewing of footy, it's conceivable that you can sacrifice other money you've put aside for entertainment, since it takes the place of certain pastimes, like going to the cinema.

BTW, for those who are worried one way or the other, there are sites where you can download whole football matches to your hard-drive, with the assigned commentaries and no ads. Usually with a fair amount of post-match gubbins as well. You should be aware that most matches take 24-48 hours to become available, so it's obviously not as good as the real thing, though it's HEAPS better than the bigpond version. One of the better versions of this is aussietorrents.com. Unfortunately I think you might have to be a member. If you're not you have to be invited. If anyone wants an invite, I think I have a few invitations I haven't used. PM me if you're interested.

Its really depressing. I can afford $13 but like someone said, its $33 or something and thats just rediculous. Need some time to think. Could do with EPL but am a couch potato on free to air

I'm not sure where you live, but to make matters worse you'd suggest that when games clash the usual will happen and demons matches will get bumped to foxtel. It may be speculation, but I reckon we'll cop more of the foxtel commentators than most clubs.

I'm not sure where BBP got $13 from.

DD I'm only basing $13.00 p/week on my subscription. I only get the basic channels plus fox sports. This is sufficient if you're only really keen on footy and other sports(perhaps this may suit Occo) Ofcourse if you want movies and entertainment package the monthly bill can go through the roof.

Do all you people work for Foxtel or something?

Firstly, you'll need to stump up $100 or so for installation. At some times, Foxtel offer this installation for free, so essentially the fee would normally be pure profit for Foxtel anyway.

Secondly, yes you could sign up for Foxtel, but you have to sign up for a minimum 24 months. Thats 2 years x $36.95, their minimum package. Almost $1000 which is a fair whack of money. If you want to stop Foxtel after the footy finishes in September, you'll need to stump up $290 or $380 as a cancellation fee, depending on which plan you're on.

Thirdly, if you are giving up your weekly $13 movie ticket to get Foxtel instead, you wont be able to watch movies as part of that $36.95 a month. You'll need to cough up an additional $13 or so to watch movies.

Call me cynical, but I think Foxtel's business model is fatally flawed, the lack of flexibility and choice for consumers is whats stopping them getting a bigger subscriber base.

Me? I'll go down to my local to watch the games that are on Foxtel again this year, happily not giving the Murdochs and Packers of this world anymore of my hard earned than we are already forced to shell out. And I will continue to go see current movies at my local cinema house.

/rant off.

Dave

Me? I'll go down to my local to watch the games that are on Foxtel again this year, happily not giving the Murdochs and Packers of this world anymore of my hard earned than we are already forced to shell out. And I will continue to go see current movies at my local cinema house.

/rant off.

Dave

See you there Dave. I agree with your sentiments.

Do all you people work for Foxtel or something?

Firstly, you'll need to stump up $100 or so for installation. At some times, Foxtel offer this installation for free, so essentially the fee would normally be pure profit for Foxtel anyway.

Secondly, yes you could sign up for Foxtel, but you have to sign up for a minimum 24 months. Thats 2 years x $36.95, their minimum package. Almost $1000 which is a fair whack of money. If you want to stop Foxtel after the footy finishes in September, you'll need to stump up $290 or $380 as a cancellation fee, depending on which plan you're on.

Thirdly, if you are giving up your weekly $13 movie ticket to get Foxtel instead, you wont be able to watch movies as part of that $36.95 a month. You'll need to cough up an additional $13 or so to watch movies.

Call me cynical, but I think Foxtel's business model is fatally flawed, the lack of flexibility and choice for consumers is whats stopping them getting a bigger subscriber base.

/rant off.

Dave

Cheers for letting me know the cost. Unfortunatly ill be working on weekends so my footy viewing is screwed. If it were on 10 or 7 at least i could tape the games and spend the night watching them

Not true DDave. Last year I asked to sign up for foxtel one day, and the price and contract they offered was too steep for too long an amount of time. I ummed and aaahed, but in the end I couldn't afford it, so I bailed. They rang back a week later and offered me a six month contract, again I bailed. A week later again and they offered me a month-by-month package that was free installation, a REALLY cheap deal for one month (a try-out deal from memory), and then after that I was free to cancel without any fear of paying any penalty from prematurely cancelling a contract. So the upshot was that I was left with a super-cheap deal for ALL the channels for one month, and then after that month I was to select which channels I could live without, ring them up, and cancel away.

From what I can glean, all they want to do is get you hooked. I'm certain they have some sort of overwhelming statistic whereby the amount of people who "try" the full package can never do without it once they're connected. In my case I was able to resist the temptation of paying the odd extra $15 for some of the more fun channels (comedy, movies), but I'd be lying if I told you I didn't desperately want my crappy films and "Who's Line is it Anyway" back. One of the ways they keep you hooked is by leaving all the channels on the IQ menu just so you can see in clear blue and white what you're missing out on. Once I went without, and lived with normal tele for a while, I kind of shook my head clear of that foxtel-induced haze and realised that even for a lover of screen in all its forms, I was addicted.

But I digress. My point is that if you're stubborn enough, they'll budge before you. As long as you make them understand that they can have your money YOUR way, or not at all. Within reason of course.

For the record, I'm not sure how it'll work being just before the footy season. I signed up a couple of rounds in. Also, I'm not sure how the different states work. I was living in Sydney at the time, perhaps that has some impact on how relaxed they are with rules.

Living in Canberra having Foxtel was an absolute must because the last TV rights deal was an absolute Barry Crocker for any footy fan up here. I got to watch every single Dees match year with the footy channel. I mourn the passing of the footy channel, but won't really give a toss so long as there is decent coverage on FTA. (not delayed until 3am). I've still kept my Foxtel subscription, because even though I rarely watch TV of any description when I do it is usually on SBS or ABC (ABC2) which are all on Foxtel (crystal clear reception). The real issue for me as a consumer is when the games will be telecast.

The only real problem that I have is the way that they bundle up all the crappy channels that people wouldn't normally think about watching into packages rather than allowing you to choose individual channels. (still from a marketing perspective it makes sense)

Living in Canberra having Foxtel was an absolute must because the last TV rights deal was an absolute Barry Crocker for any footy fan up here. I got to watch every single Dees match year with the footy channel. I mourn the passing of the footy channel, but won't really give a toss so long as there is decent coverage on FTA. (not delayed until 3am). I've still kept my Foxtel subscription, because even though I rarely watch TV of any description when I do it is usually on SBS or ABC (ABC2) which are all on Foxtel (crystal clear reception). The real issue for me as a consumer is when the games will be telecast.

The only real problem that I have is the way that they bundle up all the crappy channels that people wouldn't normally think about watching into packages rather than allowing you to choose individual channels. (still from a marketing perspective it makes sense)

I heard on SEN on Friday that a decision was pending on Monday. I don't know how they're going to work things if the announcement comes less than three weeks before the first competition game in the Nab Cup.

Unless of course, there's been a bit of brinkmanship going on and all the parties have known the outcome wink, wink, :rolleyes: nudge nudge, for a while.

But it will surely be replayed on Foxtel. It is an obvious sports " filler".

Excuse me for asking a dumb question but if Foxtel gets the rights, will all games (including the FTA) be shown on a "footy channel"?

If Yes to the above question,

Will they be shown anyway (without winning the rights) but just not "live"?

Or is this still as unknown as the rights issue?

Thanks

Franky the "replay rights" are seperate to the FTA rights, but as it stands it'll be like it use to be, that all 8 games will be shown at same stage during the week on Foxtel. The four will be shown live that Fox own the "live" rights to, and then they'll also show the four FTA games that they own the "replay" rights to.

There won't be a dedicated Fox Footy Channel, but they'll be mixed in with Fox Sports 1/2/3.

Hope that makes sense. We should know the final make up by the end of this week.

Even if Foxtel gets the rights, there will be no "footy channel". Fox Footy Channel has been done and dusted, it was costing foxtel too much money. Should they get the rights to 4 games then it will most likely be shown on Fox Sports 3, as the A-League will be finishing soon. As for replays of games on FTA, i don't know whether they'll get that, foxtel might just be content with replaying the games they get to show like what they do with the EPL.