Trade Jack Watts or not?  

477 members have voted

Posted
2 hours ago, Dr.D said:

I also got shot down for suggesting a straight swap for pick 31. Well turns out I was right and i value Watts to the same degree as the coaches and footy department that know his deficiencies the best.

well it turns out you actually WEREN'T  unless of course a few hundred thousand here and there is of no consequence to you in which case  I can provide my bsb & acc so you can forward all yours !!

Posted
4 hours ago, jnrmac said:

What does it tell you? It tells me that he was a liability to the playing group.

You are a real comedian mate. Liability????? Ability yes. Can't you see a class player? They can't be all gorillas.

Posted (edited)
28 minutes ago, ProDee said:

If I was you I'd abandon logic as a reference point.

There wouldn't have been a club in Victoria who wouldn't want Lever on their list, although for some, like Carlton, he wouldn't be a priority.

The final 3 clubs interested in Lever were the Dees, Pies, and Dogs, but others had shown interest back in March.

But you'd know this even if you just took a passing interest in footy.

Understand @CollingwoodFC @stkildafc @NMFCOfficial have all made significant indicative offers on @Adelaide_FC Jake Lever

And just to prove your point......you've certainly abandoned logic as a reference point with this one. Wow, resorting to a tweet from a minnow in football media to back up your argument has really convinced me of your superior knowledge and judgement.

I'll be sure to keep up with Tom Browne and his tweets when I decide to start taking a passing interest in footy.

Edited by ChewyOnMyBoot
Posted
Just now, ChewyOnMyBoot said:

And just to prove your point......you've certainly abandoned logic as a reference point with this one. Wow, resorting to a tweet from a minnow in football media to back up you're argument has really convinced me of your superior knowledge and judgement.

I'll be sure to keep up with Tom Browne and his tweets when I decide to start taking a passing interest in footy.

Hsha you've lost the plot.

Troll on brother

Posted
1 hour ago, Roost It said:

From what I hear the players like and respect Goodwin. Of course he has plenty still to learn. What he has done is clearly define expectations of the group. Those that don't buy in will find the door

In other words, don't agree with the coach and you are out. Goodwin using his powers again placing personal feelings ahead of good judgement. Bleach your hair and it's see you later!

Posted
6 minutes ago, ChewyOnMyBoot said:

And just to prove your point......you've certainly abandoned logic as a reference point with this one. Wow, resorting to a tweet from a minnow in football media to back up your argument has really convinced me of your superior knowledge and judgement.

You mean you wanted more proof ?

"WHY ARE AFL clubs lining up to offer a still-developing key defender from Adelaide a lucrative contract comparable to deals given to some of the game's very best?"

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2017-06-22/why-are-clubs-so-keen-to-lure-jake-lever

Hawthorn is mentioned in the next article.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/jake-lever-likely-to-remain-at-adelaide-despite-big-offers-from-rival-clubs/news-story/febf1ccec421f2c1247c973fd67b6993

You're a dope and I won't be wasting any more time on you.

Posted (edited)

Watts was contracted for another two years, so getting him to another Club was a win - we didn't want him anymore.

Pick 31? Pick 21? Pick 41? Pretty irrelevant, I reckon.

As an aside, classy comments from Watts as he heads to Port, but also pretty irrelevant to this debate - no one was kicking him out because he was a [censored] bloke.

PS. I know footy players don't need to be smart, but I worry if it's true that Weid can't see why we're shipping Watts out...

Edited by Rogue

Posted
4 hours ago, chook fowler said:

Pick 31 better land us a gem.

He is already on 300k (200 + minimum) per year in 2018 and 19.

Posted
6 minutes ago, TGR said:

He is already on 300k (200 + minimum) per year in 2018 and 19.

assuming 200 is legit

above tweet from peter ryan says 'minimal'. wouldn't call 200 minimal

Posted (edited)
6 hours ago, Petraccattack said:

We had to ship out Watts full salary as we couldn't afford it. 

So instead of paying 100% of it, we will pay a fraction. And therefore free up salary cap room. And Port wouldn't have done the deal if we didn't pay a part of it. 

6 hours ago, jumbo returns said:

Yes - 66% is a fraction....

6 hours ago, beelzebub said:

a fraction yes 2/5 at least..

There were many utterances even by our illustrious FD along this journey that it wasnt ever about Sal cap...This is just another furphy

24 minutes ago, SFebey said:

Yes, a fraction.

If you think the sky is falling cos we traded out an average player and are paying a small part of his salary, I dont know what to tell you.

Edited by Petraccattack
Posted
4 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

assuming 200 is legit

above tweet from peter ryan says 'minimal'. wouldn't call 200 minimal

2y @ 200k....about the same amount as a home game in Darwin....

Posted
2 hours ago, ChewyOnMyBoot said:

Stands out in stark contrast to the way MFC have handled the whole ugly matter. Jack handled it as a man - with dignity and respect to all involved. Mahoney and Goodwin have handled it like a couple of schoolboys. Man up guys. You can do it. 

why don't you explain to us all EXACTLY how you would of asked jack to look else where without the media knowing about it.

Posted
1 hour ago, Bobby McKenzie said:

In other words, don't agree with the coach and you are out. Goodwin using his powers again placing personal feelings ahead of good judgement. Bleach your hair and it's see you later!

That's not what I said. His expectTions relate to preparation, commitment, buy in. Watts admits football isn't his be all and end all. Tell that to Dustin Martin. If Watts was at Richmond he'd already be at Port

Posted
32 minutes ago, Rogue said:

PS. I know footy players don't need to be smart, but I worry if it's true that Weid can't see why we're shipping Watts out...

If Weid thinks JW is an awesome role model and someone to emulate, then that by itself shows why he had to go.

Posted

Some are showing themselves to be absolute muppets when it comes to this debate. 

I've been wondering if this thread has an expiry date...

Posted
1 hour ago, jnrmac said:

Really? I'd like to see you find a post that says that. I am calling bs on you my fellow supporter.

I hold Sylvia in a similar regard to Watts by the way. Wasted talent. They are a dime a dozen.

In the swirling dervish of all your posts, your constant bleating had you allude to the B and F as being a 'guide'

Can't be bother trawling

All the best

Posted
17 minutes ago, Petraccattack said:

Yes, a fraction.

If you think the sky is falling cos we traded out an average player and are paying a small part of his salary, I dont know what to tell you.

Tell me you love me

Posted

Ok. I think i've made it clear that i'm [censored] about this. No need to comment any more. Good luck Jack. You've shown yourself to be a class act on and off the field and I wish you a long and successful career.

Posted
11 minutes ago, PaulRB said:

As Keef said-He specialises in doing songs about dead blondes.

Posted

How come Geelong score a compensation pick 19 when they offload Motlop to Port but we get zilch (apart from the trade of pick 31 and the privilege of paying part of his salary) when we similarly offload Watts to Port? ?

Posted
2 minutes ago, CBDees said:

How come Geelong score a compensation pick 19 when they offload Motlop to Port but we get zilch (apart from the trade of pick 31 and the privilege of paying part of his salary) when we similarly offload Watts to Port? ?

because Goodwin wanted to be a tough guy.