Gazza going?

Hogans Heroe"s

4 minutes ago, Jaded said:

So just because somebody is earning lots of money, money he was actually worth at the time of signing his contract, he is not allowed to be battling off field issues? 

I didn't see anybody attacking Buddy for his mental health issues because how dare he, when he is making so much cash?! 

Money doesn't absolve you from shitty situations in life. He is struggling for whatever reason, and I don't think he deserves the sort of vitriol that's been thrown his way this week. You'd think he's the first player in history to be going through a bad patch of form! 

Buddy had more than mental issues to deal with, I assure you. A major reason he went to Sydney. 

The $un$ should have severed ties with Jnr last year. His shoulder is finished. 

Gary's career was over that day against The Filth in 2014. 

If he doesn't want play anymore, fine. Just retire. 

But don't have a paid interview with Channel 9 moaning about how sad he is while still collecting a huge salary. 

2 hours ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

Paid interview....class....

Yep, That's what it is all about! Cashola.

Is homesickness deemed a mental health issue? If that is his reason for returning I would expect GCS to play extreme hard ball. He went for cold hard cash, nothing more or less. Broke a lot of hearts at Geelong when he did. What's loyalty really worth?? 

Lots of tall poppy shizen being rolled out, Ablett on one leg would get a game at most clubs. He made a mistake extending his contract at GC but unless you're intimate with his thoughts at the time, it's just nasty speculation and says more about you than Ablett...

do you recon Maxy got some coin for appearing on the Footy Show last week?! Oh the shame..

Ablett is a great player and I would welcome him in a heartbeat but he is only going to Geelong.

That last element is where the debate should centre.

I can understand the desire to return to his "heartland" but I am undecided on whether such a move should be easily allowed. Perhaps there is something special in Gary and his father that tells me it is the way the "football gods" want it to happen. On the other hand should we be hard headed/hearted and say he took the money.. play to your contract etc

He should fulfill his contract or retire from the Game.

It seems these days a contract is only a contract when it suits the player.

Imagine if the Suns were saying we dont want him anymore.

They would be expected to pay out his contract.

But he wants to just walk away. 

Sorry gaz retire if you dont want to be there any longer.

Isnt he big into the Christian god?

Not mammon the bearded one.

Perhaps he wants to enter the kingdom of his god but cant because of a truckload of folding.

Poor bastard - heart goes out

2 minutes ago, old dee said:

agree od. pay the piper or reitre. none of this 'personal reasons' tish

9 minutes ago, dino rover said:

Isnt he big into the Christian god?

Not mammon the bearded one.

Perhaps he wants to enter the kingdom of his god but cant because of a truckload of folding.

Poor bastard - heart goes out

He must be into the prosperity gospel.  You know, the raptured psalm singing Hillsong type. They don't mind the mammon, The more one makes the closer to god they are.

11 minutes ago, old dee said:

The reality is that it has been that way in employment contracts forever.... no one can force you to work for them and Football is no different.

No way would you allow a player to remain in your club if he says he does not want to play for you.

The question as I raised before is do you accept his retirement and get nothing or do a deal with Geelong and get something (albeit probably little in the end.)

As a very important ancillary question should players be able to specify their destination club in this way. The potentials for abuse are obvious but there are of course precedents save that in this instance Ablett has made it even harder for the Gold Coast by threatening to retire if he does not get to Geelong.

It always astounds me when I come on here how many people begrudge players fair compensation for their efforts. Guys like Ablett, Buddy etc are the reason this game is successful and growing. Ablett, for a long time, was the single best person in the whole country at his job. He deserves a bit of coin.

2 minutes ago, Radar Detector said:

It always astounds me when I come on here how many people begrudge players fair compensation for their efforts. Guys like Ablett, Buddy etc are the reason this game is successful and growing. Ablett, for a long time, was the single best person in the whole country at his job. He deserves a bit of coin.

a bit of coin, huh? and how much is a bit? are you saying he hasn't had a bit of coin already.

anyways.....he gets more coin if he honours his contract at gcs17. [censored] won't pay the same bit of coin (officially that is :wacko:)

1 hour ago, Diamond_Jim said:

The reality is that it has been that way in employment contracts forever.... no one can force you to work for them and Football is no different.

No way would you allow a player to remain in your club if he says he does not want to play for you.

The question as I raised before is do you accept his retirement and get nothing or do a deal with Geelong and get something (albeit probably little in the end.)

As a very important ancillary question should players be able to specify their destination club in this way. The potentials for abuse are obvious but there are of course precedents save that in this instance Ablett has made it even harder for the Gold Coast by threatening to retire if he does not get to Geelong.

Shows some balls GCS tell him to honour the contract or retire. They wont get anything other than space in their cap but sometimes surely you have to take the high ground.

20 hours ago, Radar Detector said:

Oh come on. People have lost the plot about Ablett. One of the greatest players of all time, would be top 3 in the cats side at worst.

I was kidding... not a huge fan of the guy but I reckon every team could squeeze him in

8 hours ago, Hogans Heroe"s said:

Yeah, the dual Brownlow medalist probably won't be playing reserves footy mate. I think people are underestimating what is actually happening with Ablett, yes he looked like he didn't care a little, but he's still a star with all of his bad luck and injuries. We are being crazy if we are actually saying Ablett may not get a game at Geelong. He would be their 3rd best after Dangerfield and Selwood.

Was kidding champ, might be the missing ingredient for a flag for them

He could just retire and I wouldn't care one bit.

He'll be just another bald happy-clapper in the Hillsong Ponzi and good luck to him.

Not interested in his family problems or his future plans.

Give up the last years money and quit your boring twerp.

The stupid little god fearing twirp is underestimating the resolve of his hardline President !

5 hours ago, puntkick said:

The stupid little god fearing twirp is underestimating the resolve of his hardline President !

The Suns god  v The God's son 

19 hours ago, america de cali said:

He must be into the prosperity gospel.  You know, the raptured psalm singing Hillsong type. They don't mind the mammon, The more one makes the closer to god they are.

Yes the Christianity more focussed on the old testament than the new one of that jesus chap

5 minutes ago, dino rover said:

Yes the Christianity more focussed on the old testament than the new one of that jesus chap

Religion is 90% cause of worlds problems. Just sayin!

2 hours ago, dino rover said:

Agree, and also more specifically on tithes. The logic is for worshipers to keep giving money to the church and the worshiper shall be rewarded with health, wealth and prosperity.  They can't lose if they just keep on giving. A bit like supporting a football club that can't win a flag.

Maybe this should be re-visited after two excellent games and now an article about the Bulldogs looking to recruit him on SEN. Maybe this is an opportunity for Melbourne to bolster their midfield and forward line for the following two years at a bargain price.

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2017/04/18/suitors-starting-to-emerge-for-gazza/

Edited by DominatrixTyson

11 minutes ago, DominatrixTyson said:

Maybe this should be re-visited after two excellent games and now an article about the Bulldogs looking to recruit him on SEN. Maybe this is an opportunity for Melbourne to bolster their midfield and forward line for the following two years at a bargain price.

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2017/04/18/suitors-starting-to-emerge-for-gazza/

Tony Sheahan????

mmmmm....seems to be trying to make a name for himself.