Urgh. Defensive mechanism central.

Just a realist.

• Replies 3.8k
Posted
Just now, Roost It said:

Just a realist.

He's far more likely to stay with us than go. So no, you're a pessimist.

Posted
1 minute ago, AdamPleb said:

He's far more likely to stay with us than go. So no, you're a pessimist.

It's just my instinct, I'm investing nothing in him until he puts pen to paper. As each day goes by that gets less likely in my opinion

Posted
6 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

I'm not one to make predictions but I think he'll sign a 3-5 year extension by the end of the season. I'll bet Stuie's left nut on it. 

That's very ballsy of you

Posted
3 hours ago, Roost It said:

Just a realist.

???

Regardless of whether he stays or goes, you can't say you're a realist if you're picking the less likely option.

Posted
On 27/06/2016 at 11:03 AM, CBDees said:

Why do I have to log on from a third world country and be this banter "entertained" byr? Can't you guys revert to the topic of the post and open up a new post where you can snipe away at each other?

Because you are in prison?

Or you are up to something dodgy.

Posted
On 27/06/2016 at 8:46 AM, stuie said:

Ugh. This has already been discussed. A lot.

But just for you - He bought an investment property over there because he got it as a bargain. Have you seen the house? It's clearly not the residence of a future millionaire.

He was seen buying a pair of overalls and also spotted at Bunnings purchasing a nailbag.

Either he has joined a Village people cover band or he is preparing to retire.

Posted
39 minutes ago, Biffen said:

He was seen buying a pair of overalls and also spotted at Bunnings purchasing a nailbag.

Could you give him a hand Biff and ensure the dwelling is unlivable? 

Posted
40 minutes ago, Biffen said:

Image result for bob the builder jesse Hogan spotted yesterday

Posted
42 minutes ago, Biffen said:

Image result for construction worker village people Jesse Hogan spotted the day before

Posted
1 minute ago, nutbean said:

jesse Hogan spotted yesterday

That's so good.

Posted
10 hours ago, Roost It said:

It's just my instinct, I'm investing nothing in him until he puts pen to paper. As each day goes by that gets less likely in my opinion

'Gone, gone, gone!!!'........ 'He'll go'........ followed up by 'It's just my instinct'

Why use that language unless you know something? It serves 3 lame purposes:

1. Makes you feel better
2. Contributes to others' panic
3. If he does go, you'll go around spruiking that you were right all along when really you knew nothing and were only trying to make yourself feel better.

Of course, if he stays, everyone is happy and no one remembers any of the negative Nancy's. A win-win for you and others alike.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Melb16 said:

'Gone, gone, gone!!!'........ 'He'll go'........ followed up by 'It's just my instinct'

Why use that language unless you know something? It serves 3 lame purposes:

1. Makes you feel better
2. Contributes to others' panic
3. If he does go, you'll go around spruiking that you were right all along when really you knew nothing and were only trying to make yourself feel better.

Of course, if he stays, everyone is happy and no one remembers any of the negative Nancy's. A win-win for you and others alike.

The only thing I would add is that the comment " as each day goes by that gets less likely in my opinion" ( each day that he hasn't signed it is less likely he will stay) is patent nonsense. He and the club has been unequivocal for months now that the talks are off until the end of the season  - that's irrespective of what may or may not be going on in the background. So I absolutely get nervousness that may happen at year's end if there seems to be stalled talks but to suggest it gets less likely he will stay as every day passes is just rubbish. The timetable has been well and truly set - How about we put our ulcers on hold until years end ?   

Posted

Isn't 'till the end of the year' a time-honoured formula for players intending to shortly transfer to a premiership window club but not leave mud on the host carpet's floor?

Posted

I'm told from a source in the physio room that since he bought the nailbag and overalls the only stretches he does are like those in the YMCA song.

I take this as a sure sign he is crossing over to the other side.

Posted
11 minutes ago, Biffen said:

I'm told from a source in the physio room that since he bought the nailbag and overalls the only stretches he does are like those in the YMCA song.

I fear he might 'Go West'.

Posted
34 minutes ago, bush demon said:

Isn't 'till the end of the year' a time-honoured formula for players intending to shortly transfer to a premiership window club but not leave mud on the host carpet's floor?

Yes but usually when they are actually out of contract. Hogan still has a year to run on his. If he puts off talks until the end of NEXT season then the writing will be on the wall.

Posted
32 minutes ago, Biffen said:

not that there's anything wrong with that.........

Posted

Goddamn. People are still jumping at shadows and studying the entrails to work out Jesse's intentions?

It's pretty obvious that he's waiting to see (a) which way the wind blows on the CBA, and (b) if this is a false dawn for the MFC.

He'd be crazy not to see what happens on these fronts, especially while he still has another year on his contract. Even if his heart says "stay".

Why jump now when he can jump later for better $$$ ? Regardless of whether he stays or goes. The radio silence from he and his manager is perfectly sensible.

Posted
3 hours ago, Biffen said:

Brother's house !!

Posted
1 hour ago, Ted Fidge said:

Goddamn. People are still jumping at shadows and studying the entrails to work out Jesse's intentions?

It's pretty obvious that he's waiting to see (a) which way the wind blows on the CBA, and (b) if this is a false dawn for the MFC.

He'd be crazy not to see what happens on these fronts, especially while he still has another year on his contract. Even if his heart says "stay".

Why jump now when he can jump later for better $$$ ? Regardless of whether he stays or goes. The radio silence from he and his manager is perfectly sensible.

Exactly. Nobody with any brains would sign a long term concract whilst wage negotiating was underway in any job. 

Posted
59 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Exactly. Nobody with any brains would sign a long term concract whilst wage negotiating was underway in any job. 

I'm afraid this shows an enormous lack of understanding about the CBA.

The "waiting for the CBA to be negotiated and announced" excuse is a complete furphy.

In every player's contract there are a number of clauses. The clause that players signing a new deal this year have inserted is a simple "if the salary cap goes up by x amount, my contract will increase commensurately". This is extremely straightforward.

I think and hope Hogan will stay but "he's just waiting for the CBA to be announced" is just plain wrong, a complete red herring.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Members' Wing said:

I'm afraid this shows an enormous lack of understanding about the CBA.

The "waiting for the CBA to be negotiated and announced" excuse is a complete furphy.

In every player's contract there are a number of clauses. The clause that players signing a new deal this year have inserted is a simple "if the salary cap goes up by x amount, my contract will increase commensurately". This is extremely straightforward.

I think and hope Hogan will stay but "he's just waiting for the CBA to be announced" is just plain wrong, a complete red herring.

Let's wait and see. I wouldn't sign any deal until wage negotiations are locked in.