Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

WELCOME TO THE MELBOURNE FOOTBALL CLUB - CLAYTON OLIVER

Freddy Fuschia

11 hours ago, deanox said:

I agree that the media will claim it is that he doesn't hit the scoreboard, but in reality it's because he isn't doing the finishing, he is doing the extracting and set up, so they don't pay enough attention.

There is a reason he won the AFLCA Champion Player Award last year (and will be leading it again once this week's votes come in) yet the media still talks about Pettacca first.

Agree.

It's time media really start to realise that Oliver is having a significant better season then Petracca.

Trac still getting the hype where as there isn't not enough praise on Oliver.

Oliver is often spoken about as the best player in the league.

But he doesn't get the general plaudits he deserves like Bontempelli, Cripps, Petracca etc because he doesn't present well in the media or for sponsors. 

It is wrong but that is the reality.

But maybe he is like Dusty and doesn't like media work and lets his football do the talking.  All credit to him if that is the case.

Hopefully, all is put right when he wins the Brownlow.  Maybe Max and Petracca can take a low profile for the rest of the year and let Oliver get the umpire's votes.

8 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

But he doesn't get the general plaudits he deserves like Bontempelli, Cripps, Petracca etc because he doesn't present well in the media or for sponsors.

Spot on.  Plus he is generally disliked by opposition supporters whereas the other guys aren't.  His game is constantly disrespected by opposition fans.  His 45 on the weekend were "only against North".  Or his 22 contested possessions were "throws" or "nothing backwards possessions".  "How many flops did he get" etc etc etc.  Outside of Demons supporters, only true football fans understand exactly how good he is.  One of the authors for The Mongrel Punt is one such fan and is always raving about him for exactly the same reasons we all do.  It's a shame the other supporters can't see past their own personal opinions of the great man so they can appreciate an absolute master and future GOAT in action. 

34 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Oliver is often spoken about as the best player in the league.

It is wrong but that is the reality.

It's not just the fact he doesn't present well.  It's also the fact he doesn't do the sexiest part of our game well which is kicking snags.

He has one for the year which is why lots of external people don’t rate him on the same level as Bont, Cripps and Dusty.  These other three have:

• Cripps has 14
  • Bont has 13
  • Dusty would have 15 if he kept his average up, playing each game.

The important thing is he is rated by the people who matter..... us ;)

You can’t teach toughness and you can’t teach the aggression he has at winning the ball.  Even when it’s in someone else arms he just has the ability to rip it away from them and feed it out magnificently to the lads around him making them look better.  

On 10/26/2015 at 8:16 PM, olisik said:

Curnow isn't a key forwArd. In fact in his own bio he says himself he isn't even sure what position is his.

Only 4cm between the two.

This aged well

He is having an outstanding year, especially considering Petracca is a super star in his own right 

Comparatively Carlton and Bulldogs have only 1 superstar in their group which allows them to shine more. Although 'goal kicking mids' are the theme of the month at the moment - i'd rather Clarry's hard two way running and insane clearance/contested possession numbers instead. 

I said to my wife, If only he’d kick a few goals, her answer was pure gold

“It’s pretty hard to kick goals when he’s doing all the hard work getting the ball out to the goal kickers”

And the fact he’s so unselfish 

27 minutes ago, Billy said:

I said to my wife, If only he’d kick a few goals, her answer was pure gold

“It’s pretty hard to kick goals when he’s doing all the hard work getting the ball out to the goal kickers”

And the fact he’s so unselfish 

I think this is exactly it.

He isn't a front running mid-forward who finds himself on the ends of the handball chain ready to kick the goal. He is a genuine centre midfielder, at the fall of the ball, winning and extracting, dishing off, linking up and running back to cover.

If he found himself in the position to kick more goals, we'd probably lose his value in extracting and setting up scoring chains.

8 hours ago, Deeko2 said:

It's not just the fact he doesn't present well.  It's also the fact he doesn't do the sexiest part of our game well which is kicking snags.

He has one for the year which is why lots of external people don’t rate him on the same level as Bont, Cripps and Dusty.  These other three have:

• Cripps has 14
  • Bont has 13
  • Dusty would have 15 if he kept his average up, playing each game.

The important thing is he is rated by the people who matter..... us ;)

You can’t teach toughness and you can’t teach the aggression he has at winning the ball.  Even when it’s in someone else arms he just has the ability to rip it away from them and feed it out magnificently to the lads around him making them look better.  

This is a very good point re goal kicking = most popular "best player" stakes in the media and with many of the fans.

While i have no doubts Clarry loves to kick a goal (who doesn't!) i reckon he knows his limitations here.

Yeh, he'll happily attempt it when possible, but he is just as happy destroying his opponents around the contest, putting on the after burners and/or sharing the the Sherrin with his team mates to better the "Team" overall vs lookng to achieve more individual efforts including hitting the scoreboard.

Having said that i would like to see him improve his goal kicking (in play & from set shots) and take some more shots at times when he knows he's within range (for the betterment of the team... bit of icing on the cake!)

Edited by Demon Dynasty

55 minutes ago, deanox said:

I think this is exactly it.

He isn't a front running mid-forward who finds himself on the ends of the handball chain ready to kick the goal. He is a genuine centre midfielder, at the fall of the ball, winning and extracting, dishing off, linking up and running back to cover.

If he found himself in the position to kick more goals, we'd probably lose his value in extracting and setting up scoring chains.

Exactly right. Viney is in the same situation. Doesn’t kick many Goals, because he is the “extractor” who starts the chain of play

One day soon Sparrow will be able to take on more inside midfield minutes and we might have the luxury of resting Clarry forward. Given he’s a good mark I suspect he might then start impacting the scoreboard. 

22 hours ago, rjay said:

45 touches and he was being tagged...

Not according to that media [censored] Robbo. Would love to ask that [censored] why 3 oppo players were played on Clarry. Simple answer; because nobody could negate him

22 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

One day soon Sparrow will be able to take on more inside midfield minutes and we might have the luxury of resting Clarry forward. Given he’s a good mark I suspect he might then start impacting the scoreboard. 

I reckon he could make a very dangerous resting forward pocket, with strong core strength, ability to get the ball into space, and reasonable mark. But he does need to be closer to goal, not HFF!

And for now he doesn't seem to have any problems running out 85+% of game time in the guts.

Sparrow I think does quite well on that HFF where he is a pretty good kick for goal over 50 m off only a step.

21 minutes ago, dworship said:

Not according to that media [censored] Robbo. Would love to ask that [censored] why 3 oppo players were played on Clarry. Simple answer; because nobody could negate him

He was being “tagged” by his best mate Simpkin. Extra motivation to do well I reckon. Bad move from Norf. 

6 hours ago, MrFreeze said:

i'd rather Clarry's hard two way running and insane clearance/contested possession numbers instead. 

His tackling is also up there as well.  3rd highest tackle average in the team and equal 59th in the AFL.

39 minutes ago, dworship said:

17 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

He was being “tagged” by his best mate Simpkin. Extra motivation to do well I reckon. Bad move from Norf. 

According to Max 3 of them had a go at him...Simkin, Greenwood & I think the other was Thomas.

14 hours ago, Munga said:

So glad we didn’t take parish. Jason Taylor’s best call yet

Parrish is a front end receiver who never runs the other way and defends... He is a very shallow tackler, if he lays one at all. Like his mate as Essendope, Very very Vanilla!