Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

Post Match Discussion, Pontification and Prayer

I knew I shouldn't have logged on today.

Lets put it into perspective

We started the year with a full team and had wins against GC and Rich.....every one was happy...posters were claiming finals we had young guns firing Then the injuries began (which they will every year) .We were dismantled against GWS in the second half and ran with Adelaide for most of the game

THEN....We ran into Freo (who have not even looked like losing).....Then Sydney coming off a surprise defeat and lost by 38 pts.....Then Hawthorn who had come off another surprise defeat and are current Premiers. We copped a few injuries and were beaten by very experienced TOP sides who have confidence and have been together for a long time

Having read a few posts......Peter Jackson should lift his game or be sacked......At least half the side should be delisted......the rest tarred and feathered and tied to a stake outside the Melbourne town hall.......Roos has no idea and should be sacked.

Maybe we can wait for a few weeks and see how we are going at the half way point before winding up the club and all going home.

Just a thought

Spot on boss dog. I suspect rumours of hard training sessions (which by the by curiously haven't been mentioned on DL) suggest they are going gsrd now before tapering to be in the best shape when we hit a block of winnable games (using the bye as an opportunity to refresh). Resting jamar and hogan fit with this

A sad statement of our ruck stocks 'Adam'. At least the big pencil has a go...

At the end of the year we should go after Leuenberger (FA) and Minson as insurance (will be cheap) and delist Jamar, Fitzpatrick and one of Spencer or Gawn (perhaps both).

Youre right, instead of Bail and MJones we should have picked Riley and Terlich, cost us the game

Newton should have played for at least one of them. Yeah he hasn't been great recently but he's only a 10 gamer and can at least kick (and kick a goal).

If Rohan Bail ever plays for the MFC again I will not buy another membership (25 year member). Forget toumpas, he is still learning, Bail would be lucky to get a gane back at southport. His kicking is a f.ckn disgrace. I absolutely loathe him as a footballer.

I only noticed 2 of his kicks the first was a running kick for goal in space 40m from members flank that he shanked knee height to nowhere and the second in defence members wing across goal to a contest that we lost. I'm no fan. He is a liability. Ok he got a goal in the 4th q 20m dead in front. I want us to move on from the Bails, M Joneses, Mckenzies etc.........

There is really one thing that keeps resonating in my thinking.

We have decent facilities. That cant be it.

We have what surely must be a more than adequate assembly of coaches and support staff. Yes its not a world class list but there is some ability and talent there.

But i still dont get why we cant pkay a basic game of footy. Our skills under pressure are woeful. Our thinking/decision borders on inept or scared often.

I seldom enjoy watching us play. Win or lose its rubbish invariably to look at.

Why ? How do we get it so wrong so much ?

We're a mentally soft club mate. We've been that way ever since I've been watching (1987-88). We had periods during the Northey, Balme and Daniher years but we still had these lapses and generally go to water as soon as the game goes up a notch physically. We also have a history of getting ahead of ourselves and dropping games we shouldn't.

I don't know what the cause is or how to rectify it but if I were Roos the number one thing I would ask every player to focus on for the rest of the year is their running. They have GPS so I'd be setting a benchmark for metres sprinted (not jogged or strolled) each game and for every metre they fall short of the target they'll be sprinting five times that at training during the week.

He's one of about 4 players that has stuck around through the whole horrow show since Daniher left. He continues to put in pizzpoor performances as though he is acting as a reminder to just how poor a club we are. Hey fellas look at me, I am a senior leader, i was there at 186 , let me show you how to fail on a football field. Had an absolute gutfull of Colin Garland, look at the corresponding players at other clubs, it is laughable the gulf of contribution he has made with all the games he has played. Jamar is the same. F this club

I thought Garland was pretty good yesterday and has been decent all season (after a poor 2014). Admittedly I zoned out for periods during the game but he looked like he was having a crack.

Why TF would you want to hear from the President? What is he going to do?

In case you haven't worked it out this is the worst time for the President to speak because every time in the past they have done so the club has ended up in deeper turmoil.

His job is to ensure the right people are in place and shut the hell up.

Agreed. What's he going to say? It will just be cliches and platitudes anyway.

Hold on, is that the pot calling the kettle black?

Have a look at this post C&B:

How is that a contribution? You might have had a gut full of Colin Garland, but he has probably had a gut full of our midfield allowing the opposition to get the ball inside 50 with absolute ease. He was actually one of our better players yesterday and, come the end of the season, I could hardly blame him for deciding to move on and play for a club where their midfield runs both ways on a consistent basis.

Stop posting like a sociopath and actually look at where the problem lies. Col Garland isn't it.

What in the name of God does me bagging Garland have to do with my comment to another poster asking him to look something up himself instead of asking someone else to do it. There is ZERO connection between those 2 things so WTF are you talking about calling me a hypocrite. Insane post by you.

Garland stinks. You and a handful of others have given him a lifetime pass to stink it up because he had a decent year in 2013. I frankly CBF discussing it any further but if you think Garland is a good example of an 8th-season, 122 gamer, senior leader in his prime you are kidding yourself. He represents exactly why we suck as a club when you look at the equivalent other clubs have in this area.

Oh and by the way, because I know how your sad mind works (hey dazzledavey 'likes this') if Garland comes out next week and plays a blinder it will in no way change what I have just written. Do you understand that? In the same way, all the people bagging Watts will not be wrong if he wins the 2016 brownlow. There are comments about things that have ALREADY happened and there is the future. Do you get it? I won't be 'wrong' because as of this moment the bloke has played about 28 of the last 30 games in a terrible fashion. Me bagging him now is not some sort of contract I am entering into that is guaranteeing he will never play another good game. It's sad that I have to include this disclaimer to guard against you and the lightweight's future opportunity to bag me in the disingenuous fashion you are infamous for

Yeah because players should never be allowed to socialize outside footy. Their mind should be concentrated 24/7 on football and nothing else.

FMD some people carry on here.. Who gives a [censored] if they go out for a drink as long as they are not doing Colin Sylvia's and staying out of trouble then they have ever right to go and have a beer.

Did you find this also disappointing when majority of the team were on the grog having a good time after the round 1 win? Of course not. Its after a big loss you have to find [censored] weak little excuses to sink into the players.

Pathetic effort.

I agree with him. 30,000 people were hurt yesterday because these blokes cash their cheques and don't give a stuff. They damn well should be at home looking straight into a mirror and thinking about what they failed to do again

We started the year with a full team and had wins against GC and Rich.....every one was happy...posters were claiming finals we had young guns firing Then the injuries began (which they will every year) .We were dismantled against GWS in the second half and ran with Adelaide for most of the game

THEN....We ran into Freo (who have not even looked like losing).....Then Sydney coming off a surprise defeat and lost by 38 pts.....Then Hawthorn who had come off another surprise defeat and are current Premiers. We copped a few injuries and were beaten by very experienced TOP sides who have confidence and have been together for a long time

Having read a few posts......Peter Jackson should lift his game or be sacked......At least half the side should be delisted......the rest tarred and feathered and tied to a stake outside the Melbourne town hall.......Roos has no idea and should be sacked.

Maybe we can wait for a few weeks and see how we are going at the half way point before winding up the club and all going home.

Just a thought

I agree to an extent - after the Richmond game I knew we were in for 3 weeks of pain, the injuries certainly haven't helped either.

However the effort of the team yesterday was pathetic. Except for a handful of players they were listless and just didn't seem to give a stuff. They disgraced the jumper and the club and spat in the face of the supporters.

Just a thought

Beating bottom 8 sides and getting flogged by top sides achieves nothing.

If this was the first, second or even third year that it's been happening, then that's fine. But playing like actual losers from the opening bounce is something the club should have left behind long, long ago.

You can't justify yesterday's showing with "they are the reigning premiers", or, "we've played the top 3 teams all in a row". That doesn't really justify the actual effort or lack thereof.

What will we have learnt if we beat St Kilda? Will we know more about this team then, say, if we'd stayed with Hawthorn and lost by 5-6 goals? We won't. We will just know we're better than another bottom side.

We can't just keeping waiting to see how we perform against bottom sides. We beat poor sides in 2010, 2011 with the occasional win against mid-tier teams, but we consistently didn't give a puff against top sides. You won't turn a corner if you keep doing that. It'll just be a downward spiral. Before eventually you get spit out the bottom of the porn industry with no prospects and no hope.

Edited by praha

Don't believe what Roos said about Watts asking to be dropped. It's not true. There's more to the story than what Roos is saying, but he's trying to hide it by being seemingly 'open' about what happened.

It's highly likely that Watts won't play senior footy for Melbourne again.

We're a mentally soft club mate. We've been that way ever since I've been watching (1987-88). We had periods during the Northey, Balme and Daniher years but we still had these lapses and generally go to water as soon as the game goes up a notch physically. We also have a history of getting ahead of ourselves and dropping games we shouldn't.

I don't know what the cause is or how to rectify it but if I were Roos the number one thing I would ask every player to focus on for the rest of the year is their running. They have GPS so I'd be setting a benchmark for metres sprinted (not jogged or strolled) each game and for every metre they fall short of the target they'll be sprinting five times that at training during the week.

Didn't you get the memo? They've been training "really hard"

What in the name of God does me bagging Garland have to do with my comment to another poster asking him to look something up himself instead of asking someone else to do it. There is ZERO connection between those 2 things so WTF are you talking about calling me a hypocrite. Insane post by you.

Your over the top post on Garland contributed nothing, like you claimed Lamashtu was doing, and therefore both are related. I thought even you could see that.

I agree with him. 30,000 people were hurt yesterday because these blokes cash their cheques and don't give a stuff. They damn well should be at home looking straight into a mirror and thinking about what they failed to do again

So if they already had plans they have to cancel them after a loss? Really?

Don't believe what Roos said about Watts asking to be dropped. It's not true. There's more to the story than what Roos is saying, but he's trying to hide it by being seemingly 'open' about what happened.

Would you like to back up those two comments with substance, especially the first?

Give us your source or its just scuttlebutt.

Anyone who wants to see what the expectation is - have a look at the Dogs against Freo. They're not going to win but they're having a crack. After going down 5 goals to nothing in the first ten minutes they've stepped up the pressure, running and effort and have stuck with Freo for the last quarter and a half.

so you want these 'human beings' to go home after the game and sit in front of a mirror for 6 hours and stare into it and say Well FK me, me and 22 blokes played a [censored] game so i might aswell just stew on it for the next couple of days.

If going out for a quite drink is a big problem for you then you have serious issues mate. So i expect these two to get a fine and a couple of match suspension from the club? Because according to a couple of half wits like yourself players are NOT allowed social life outside of footy.

FMD get a [censored] grip!

Your over the top post on Garland contributed nothing, like you claimed Lamashtu was doing, and therefore both are related. I thought even you could see that.

So if they already had plans they have to cancel them after a loss? Really?

looking up an old team sheet and posting it for interest of others = a contribution

having the thought but asking someone else to look it up = not a contribution

critiquing a player = 98% of this website = nothing to do with the above

really basic stuff even for you, but your focus, like your lightweight follower, is on getting stuck in to other posters in any way possible, which is sad glimpse of your personality, frankly

so you want these 'human beings' to go home after the game and sit in front of a mirror for 6 hours and stare into it and say Well FK me, me and 22 blokes played a [censored] game so i might aswell just stew on it for the next couple of days.

If going out for a quite drink is a big problem for you then you have serious issues mate. So i expect these two to get a fine and a couple of match suspension from the club? Because according to a couple of half wits like yourself players are NOT allowed social life outside of footy.

FMD get a [censored] grip!

the hawks don't lose by 105 points, but if they ever did I reckon their players would feel it enough emotionally to not go out partying that night. Because they are professionals who have pride and a sense of responsibility to their supporters. We have none of that which is precisely why we lose by 105 points. Tyson in particular should be hanging his head in shame with the season he's had

looking up an old team sheet and posting it for interest of others = a contribution

having the thought but asking someone else to look it up = not a contribution

critiquing a player = 98% of this website = nothing to do with the above

really basic stuff even for you, but your focus, like your lightweight follower, is on getting stuck in to other posters in any way possible, which is sad glimpse of your personality, frankly

Are you trying to suggest you never play the man? Give me a break.

And you post like a leech C&B - someone else will put forth a thought on something, generally negative, and you latch on to it with a vitriolic rant with paragraph after paragraph about how the player in question is horrible and that you're sick of the club and that we are going nowhere and on and on and on. It's the same over and over again.

Col Garland is no world beater but he isn't even close to being the problem. Those guys we call a 'midfield' make things terribly hard for us at both ends of the ground. Until we get it sorted then teams in the top half of the competition will continually keep us at arms length.

Give us your source or its just scuttlebutt.

Take it however you want. Your willingness to believe me doesn't change what happened.

I will ask you this though, how many FIGJAM's have asked to be dropped in the prime of their career?

You don't need to tell me the answer, but if you can figure it out, it might give you some insight into what happened.

Are you trying to suggest you never play the man? Give me a break.

And you post like a leech C&B - someone else will put forth a thought on something, generally negative, and you latch on to it with a vitriolic rant with paragraph after paragraph about how the player in question is horrible and that you're sick of the club and that we are going nowhere and on and on and on. It's the same over and over again.

Col Garland is no world beater but he isn't even close to being the problem. Those guys we call a 'midfield' make things terribly hard for us at both ends of the ground. Until we get it sorted then teams in the top half of the competition will continually keep us at arms length.

I never, ever have a go at anyone unless it is in retaliation. I don't come here to bicker with people I come here for footy. You will notice it has started today by you calling me a hypocrite in a completely nonsensical way you have not yet explained.

I o NOT post exclusively negative thoughts. Go back to the start of this thread you will find me one of the few saying that there are 3 very important factors about yesterday that need to be considered.

Where did I say Garland was 'the problem'? How are his performances excused by the midfield? Nobody needs to make such excuses for Tommy Mac. If we won by 105 points yesterday, Garland would still be Garland, a shining example of our club's utter d-gradeness. Who can really say what impact it had on his teammates after he just handed the Hawks a goal after we got the first two on the board. He does it every single week, just hands them over, hey who wants a goal? Here take it