Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

Footscray v Casey Scorpions - Round 2, 2015

KC from Casey

Agreed.

We lose a lot of run and skills if we bring in an additional specialist ruck.

Look no further than Jacobs vs Cordy in the ruck on Sunday afternoon at Etihad. Jacobs mauled an undersized Cordy but the Bulldogs midfield, half forwards and half backs ran the Crows off their feet.

Toumpas and Grimes for mine.

It is good.

I shake my head though at some posters who wanted Rohan Bail in the side against Freo..

I like Grimes for Jetta

Could Stretch come in for Kent?

speed, skill, seems ok defensively...

If Tyson doesn't get up for the Freo match I actually reckon Harmes could be a smokey to make his debut.

Has pace, is a bigger body then Stretch and has continued to improve. Justin Plapp seems to talk him up everytime he mentions Harmes.

Can play inside and outside Harmes, so ticks a lot of boxes. Think they'll be reluctant to play Stretch this year given his frame. He'll need to blast the door down to get a game or have the club really hit hard with injuries.

Does it worry you that Spencer played great & got 28 hit-outs, while Gawn was awful but got 26 hit-outs? Is this right?

Can anyone clarify who was against Minson most of the time?

Plapp's player reviews will be interesting reading.

Really really interesting reading.

I just finished watching the replay. They played better than I expected after reading the thread. Umpiring was ok in the first half but a string of soft decisions at the start of the third really cost us. Dominated the last quarter but didn't make the most of our opportunities.

Regarding Spencer, my impression was that he was much better around the ground than usual and not making the classic stuff ups. Took a couple of great contested grabs. I felt that he struggled in ruck contests against Minson. For most of the game I would have been ok with him getting the call up (and I have never been a fan) but his last quarter was a bit disappointing. Gawn did well in the ruck contests but very average otherwise.

Jack Grimes was clearly our best. Clean. A class above.

Terlich got better as the game went on and had quite a good second half.

Harmes was the one who really impressed me. Inside and outside work. Clearances. Great grab and goal in the last quarter. Needs to get a bit more of the ball but could be a good sub this week.

I'm a Toumpas fan but his disposal was deplorable. Endeavour was great, tackling, running all day...but turnover after turnover. Needs more time at Casey.

Riley was solid. Usual good inside work, didn't notice any glaring disposal errors.

Matt Jones had a great last quarter running the lines. Otherwise he was quiet.

Jordie had a hard working, blue collar game.

Stretch's class stood out. Not afraid of contact, made some good tackles, worked hard. IMO he isn't ready though. Needs to get more of the ball. Maybe second half of the season

Pedersen was average. Did a few good things but was quiet for most of the game.

Fitzy was our best big man IMO. His numbers surprise me, felt like he had it more. Beaten in a contest once or twice but otherwise at least broke even in contests, took a few great grabs in defence, used the ball as well as anyone. Could be used as a back up ruck and to cover Sandilands or Clarke when they go forward.

I just finished watching the replay. They played better than I expected after reading the thread. Umpiring was ok in the first half but a string of soft decisions at the start of the third really cost us. Dominated the last quarter but didn't make the most of our opportunities.

Regarding Spencer, my impression was that he was much better around the ground than usual and not making the classic stuff ups. Took a couple of great contested grabs. I felt that he struggled in ruck contests against Minson. For most of the game I would have been ok with him getting the call up (and I have never been a fan) but his last quarter was a bit disappointing. Gawn did well in the ruck contests but very average otherwise.

Harmes was the one who really impressed me. Inside and outside work. Clearances. Great grab and goal in the last quarter. Needs to get a bit more of the ball but could be a good sub this week.

I'm a Toumpas fan but his disposal was deplorable. Endeavour was great, tackling, running all day...but turnover after turnover. Needs more time at Casey.

Riley was solid. Usual good inside work, didn't notice any glaring disposal errors.

Stretch's class stood out. Not afraid of contact, made some good tackles, worked hard. IMO he isn't ready though. Needs to get more of the ball. Maybe second half of the season

Fitzy was our best big man IMO. His numbers surprise me, felt like he had it more. Beaten in a contest once or twice but otherwise at least broke even in contests, took a few great grabs in defence, used the ball as well as anyone. Could be used as a back up ruck and to cover Sandilands or Clarke when they go forward.

Excellent summation

http://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/2015-04-28/photo-gallery-casey-v-footscray

Pics from Sunday's game

Stretch looks ready to me. Will my thought of a Roos 'left field' selection of him be correct?

Great mark by Harmes!

where am i able to watch the replay please

Godees your description of the Toump is worrying. He is getting a lot of it but turning it over at VFL level where he has more time and space than he will ever get at AFL level. Not sure more time at Casey will resolve this deficiency. I don't get a top draft pick having this particular problem.

I can remember watching Blease in some Casey games consistently getting the ball off half back with plenty of space and putting it lace out to the opposition player's chest who was chasing one of our forwards. Could not work that out either.

I think part of it is confidence. Lots of the kicks were in pressure situations and he seemed to play more inside than he would in the seniors. A few were flat out clangers. With better midfield support around and forward targets in the seniors I expect his disposal would actually be better than worse (due to less time and space) as he wouldn't need to try to do so much.

It was a bad game. But I have seen him play plenty of clean games. His workrate is high, he is finding the ball, but is low on confidence. It will come. Hope is not lost!

if we are selecting from 1 game form, Riley & Spencer are certs,Grimes is a good chance, Mckenzie if we are desperate, the rest were miles of the pace.

No room for Spencer unless we rest Jamar, so its Riley & Grimes for me.

Just finished watching a replay of the game. The umpiring was fine, and apart from the odd bewildering decision, they played no part in the result. Just reread Plapp's player assessment, and would treat it with a grain of salt. He was way too diplomatic with some of the senior players, and overly critical of Harmes. Now in order of players pushing for selection:

Grimes - Did most things well, and showed the courage of old taking a mark going with the flight of the ball. Would have liked to see him used as an onballer, especially at the centre bounces.

Harmes - Really surprised me, and doesn't look far off a senior player. Has clean hands and was excellent at the stoppages. Not sure if Plapp's criticism was in reference to a couple of times he was caught out of position when he was deep forward. He's also got a bit of mongrel about him. Loved his game.

Riley - Quiet in the 1st half, but probably Casey's best player in the 2nd. Good at the stoppages, but I'm unconvinced on how he'll impact at AFL level.

Stretch - Didn't get a lot of it, but has clean hands, and a quick 5 metre burst when he gets possession. I can see him thriving at senior level with better players around him. Don't worry about his size. He's got the heart for the contest.

Spencer - Was ok in the ruck and better than usual around the ground. Will only come in if Jamar's out.

Bail - Thought he was looking ok in the 1st half, but obviously suffered a concussion, and wasn't seen much in the 2nd.

Terlich - Quiet 1st half, better in the 2nd, but nothing special.

Toumpas - I'm starting to wonder what tricks he has to become an AFL footballer. His awareness and disposal in a contested situation is woeful. He can run and spread and find the ball, and doesn't lack heart for the contest, but just doesn't impact the game. I think I counted 3 kicks that were smothered by the opposition when he had some clearance, and 2 out on the fulls with little pressure.

Jones - Hardly sighted for 3 quarters, but got a bit of it in the last. Miles off senior selection.

Pedersen - Didn't see him move outside the forward 50. Only looks interested when the ball's in his vicinity.

Fitzpatrick - Dogs resting ruckmen kicked 5 goals on him. Did a couple of nice things in the last, but is miles off being an AFL backman.

McKenzie - Why Plapp had him at the centre bounces is beyond me. Tried to run with Goodes but to no effect. Won't play senior football this year.

Gawn - In the words of Malcolm Blight, he was pathetic. Enough said.

Plapp's coaching was questionable. At the start of the 3rd, he had McKenzie and Bail hard tagging Goodes and Greenwood at the centre bounces. Footscray cleared the ball with ease, because neither player was interested in the ball. I would have liked to have seen Stretch and Grimes given some time in the middle because both have more to offer at the next level than McKenzie and Bail.

Just finished watching a replay of the game. The umpiring was fine, and apart from the odd bewildering decision, they played no part in the result. Just reread Plapp's player assessment, and would treat it with a grain of salt. He was way too diplomatic with some of the senior players, and overly critical of Harmes. Now in order of players pushing for selection:

Grimes - Did most things well, and showed the courage of old taking a mark going with the flight of the ball. Would have liked to see him used as an onballer, especially at the centre bounces.

Harmes - Really surprised me, and doesn't look far off a senior player. Has clean hands and was excellent at the stoppages. Not sure if Plapp's criticism was in reference to a couple of times he was caught out of position when he was deep forward. He's also got a bit of mongrel about him. Loved his game.

Riley - Quiet in the 1st half, but probably Casey's best player in the 2nd. Good at the stoppages, but I'm unconvinced on how he'll impact at AFL level.

Stretch - Didn't get a lot of it, but has clean hands, and a quick 5 metre burst when he gets possession. I can see him thriving at senior level with better players around him. Don't worry about his size. He's got the heart for the contest.

Spencer - Was ok in the ruck and better than usual around the ground. Will only come in if Jamar's out.

Bail - Thought he was looking ok in the 1st half, but obviously suffered a concussion, and wasn't seen much in the 2nd.

Toumpas - I'm starting to wonder what tricks he has to become an AFL footballer. His awareness and disposal in a contested situation is woeful. He can run and spread and find the ball, and doesn't lack heart for the contest, but just doesn't impact the game. I think I counted 3 kicks that were smothered by the opposition when he had some clearance, and 2 out on the fulls with little pressure.

Jones - Hardly sighted for 3 quarters, but got a bit of it in the last. Miles off senior selection.

Pedersen - Didn't see him move outside the forward 50. Only looks interested when the ball's in his vicinity.

Fitzpatrick - Dogs resting ruckmen kicked 5 goals on him. Did a couple of nice things in the last, but is miles off being an AFL backman.

McKenzie - Why Plapp had him at the centre bounces is beyond me. Tried to run with Goodes but to no effect. Won't play senior football this year.

Plapp's coaching was questionable. At the start of the 3rd, he had McKenzie and Bail hard tagging Goodes and Greenwood at the centre bounces. Footscray cleared the ball with ease, because neither player was interested in the ball. I would have liked to have seen Stretch and Grimes given some time in the middle because both have more to offer at the next level than McKenzie and Bail.

Oh my.........last thing I read tonight....priceless.....I assume if Eade gets the bullet from the Suns you will be on the plane to the Gold Coast to state your case

Pity you weren't there to listen to the huddle at 1/4 and 3/4 time

How do you know how serious he is about his game?, dont think Gawny will be looking for anyones advice but the coaches

well I hope you are right davidneitz9

he needs to start getting more physical, maybe a session with ONJ might sharpen him up.

something has to, because his seriousness isn't doing the job for him thus far

That is a very tough 6 weeks! If we can sneak 2 wins out of those I'll be very happy.

Yes, & more than the ladder position, is that we maintain strong form throughout; win or not.. from there momentum will be better, to pickup wins when opportunity happens.

If that is true isn't time for him to hang up the boots. Too many hits to the head for his own good. He has a life to live after footy.

my thoughts to, mate... Bail is too prone now to a damaged future. his welfare depends on staying away from contact. time please gentlemen.

It is good.

I shake my head though at some posters who wanted Rohan Bail in the side against Freo..

shake your head all you like you witless nuff nuff.

it was run & speed people wanted in, & not much is on the list, with experience. bail has those traits, even if he isn't Our favorite player.

Does GWS need a giant ?

Oh my.........last thing I read tonight....priceless.....I assume if Eade gets the bullet from the Suns you will be on the plane to the Gold Coast to state your case

Pity you weren't there to listen to the huddle at 1/4 and 3/4 time

I actually think mo64 is largely right, especially about Toumpas and sadly Gawn, although I would given Maxy a couple more years to mature as I think his upside is huge. Toumpas disposal is simply not up to par. He should remain in the 2's until,he fixes it. Unfortunate, because he is a real ball magnet and we are not overly endowed with them, but there is little point in that if he more often than not gives the ball up to the opposition.

Disagree on Jones, but the rest pretty fair.

Good report mo64 and glad you have provided a point of view on the players, makes interesting reading.

Not defending players or having a dig at you however it's hard to judge really how effective the player was without knowing the specific role. We aren't playing a team of 22 identical players who are just trying to get as much of the pill and use it effectively as possible and competing on stats.

For all we know Pedo was instructed not to leave the F50 and provide a target there. Terlich might have been the lock down defender for the first half as well. Him not getting any touches but holding his man to bugger all may have been more valuable to the team than him getting 30 but his man getting 15 and kicking 3.

Anyways, without knowing they may have just been sh!t on the day.

He was way too diplomatic with some of the senior players, and overly critical of Harmes. Now in order of players pushing for selection:

I have a feeling they rate him and are riding him hard to be better.

2 way running and positioning is really big with Roos. I remember JKH being hauled over the coals last year for not being in the wrong place, wrong time and Michie had to do a lot of work on his defensive game to crack a senior berth.

I hope they keep pushing Harms and wouldn't be surprised to see him upgraded before the end of the season. He is the type of player that would be handy this week but if his defensive positioning is not yet up to scratch Freo are one team that will really take advantage.

Lol! Your picking them by the numbers and still miss Toump's better stats and DT points. If he was as bad as most say, these would be the worst on that list.

Whipping Boy.

Actually, I was basing it on needs. Grimes is a better replacement for Jetta than the Toump given his defensive skills. Most sides I would have said Toump as the replacement for Kent, but given we need height against the Dockers, I think Spencer is a better option. We are going to be shown up through the middle regardless, but if we let them dominate with their talls it's going to go from bad to horrifying.

Good report mo64 and glad you have provided a point of view on the players, makes interesting reading.

Not defending players or having a dig at you however it's hard to judge really how effective the player was without knowing the specific role. We aren't playing a team of 22 identical players who are just trying to get as much of the pill and use it effectively as possible and competing on stats.

For all we know Pedo was instructed not to leave the F50 and provide a target there. Terlich might have been the lock down defender for the first half as well. Him not getting any touches but holding his man to bugger all may have been more valuable to the team than him getting 30 but his man getting 15 and kicking 3.

Anyways, without knowing they may have just been [censored] on the day.

No you had to be there, the number of times on here I have heard, you can't tell anything from the TV, yet the Mo-ster can

Actually, I was basing it on needs. Grimes is a better replacement for Jetta than the Toump given his defensive skills. Most sides I would have said Toump as the replacement for Kent, but given we need height against the Dockers, I think Spencer is a better option. We are going to be shown up through the middle regardless, but if we let them dominate with their talls it's going to go from bad to horrifying.

Gonna go that way anyway. Toump's disposal has been poorer than normal because most of his possessions have been hard ball gets. Have you watched? When Chunk burns it, excuses are made. When it's one of our youngsters, burn them at the stake. What was Toumps DE%? Bet it was higher than 70%

well I hope you are right davidneitz9

he needs to start getting more physical, maybe a session with ONJ might sharpen him up.

something has to, because his seriousness isn't doing the job for him thus far

Yes, & more than the ladder position, is that we maintain strong form throughout; win or not.. from there momentum will be better, to pickup wins when opportunity happens.

my thoughts to, mate... Bail is too prone now to a damaged future. his welfare depends on staying away from contact. time please gentlemen.

shake your head all you like you witless nuff nuff.

it was run & speed people wanted in, & not much is on the list, with experience. bail has those traits, even if he isn't Our favorite player.

Does GWS need a giant ?

Very classy response deluded..

such a campaigner.

First of all i dont give two shits about his speed and run. Im yet to see this real speed Bail possess.. His pathetic chase in the Nab cup against Essendon when a player waltzed straight past him proved he is not as quick as people make out for him.

he is nothing but an average footballer with shocking kicking skills. Plus he hasn't been banging down the door at VFL level at all like a Michie who 5 weeks in a row was in the best.

Get a clue FMD