Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

FAREWELL JEREMY HOWE

What

I am sure plans B C D E F all exist.

One of the more important aspects in battle planning is don't tell the media or your opponent what your plans are.

Would anyone here feel better if Mahoney came out before trade week and told everyone what our plans really were?

Imagine playing cards and telling your opponents what you wanted to do and what cards you had, seriously. No news is good news.

As opposed to running around telling everyone that we've offered Melksham a four year contract? No wonder we couldn't get Essendon to budge on pick 25. This club has no idea at times.

As for Howe, I'd still prefer to keep him as opposed to receiving low level draft picks / players in return. I'm expecting Kennedy and Collingwood's 3rd round pick at this point. Prove me wrong, MFC.

He either wanted to go or we didn't want him. So he said I'll wait til the end of year. What else can you say?

He probably assumed he'd be going to GC and then the pies come in late with an offer he likes.

actually the filth offered a lower contract value than the suns

The Filth must think we are easy beats. They offload Dawes and Heretia onto us, knowing full well they are mediocre at best. Now they want Howe for another NQR. Fark them I say.

This time next year, I think that they'll be complaining about us offloading a player to them, knowing full well that he's mediocre at best.

Trade Winds today say that Howe could be a hybrid of Isaac Smith and Jack Gunston. Anyone agree??

Just because he COULD be doesn't make it likely.

For all you guys know, I COULD be Jack Viney. It's just not really likely.

PS I am not Jack Viney.

Just because he COULD be doesn't make it likely.

For all you guys know, I COULD be Jack Viney. It's just not really likely.

PS I am not Jack Viney.

"Well, of course it could be done! Anything could be done! But it only is done if it’s done."

I was a Howe fan but don't like the way he has gone about the whole contract/trade process.

That aside posters may be underestimating his value to GC and Pies beyond any marketing:

- He was our leading goal kicker in 2013 (28 I goals I think). Both GC and Pies need goal kickers.

- He can play in defense so makes him a bit of a swingman.

- He has the ability to be an on-baller who rotates thru the middle/wing.

So there is a lot more to him than his 'speckies'.

I think he will do well in a new environment.

Anyway, the more players from our 'dark days' we move on the better so lets get a fair deal and be done with him.

I was a Howe fan but don't like the way he has gone about the whole contract/trade process.

That aside posters may be underestimating his value to GC and Pies beyond any marketing:

- He was our leading goal kicker in 2013 (28 I goals I think). Both GC and Pies need goal kickers.

- He can play in defense so makes him a bit of a swingman.

- He has the ability to be an on-baller who rotates thru the middle/wing.

So there is a lot more to him than his 'speckies'.

I think he will do well in a new environment.

Anyway, the more players from our 'dark days' we move on the better so lets get a fair deal and be done with him.

I agree with this. He has more talent than many on here give him credit.

By not being prepared to negotiate on our initial offer, the club clearly made little attempt to keep him, and had a trade strategy that they believed would benefit the club. Whether they thought that GC was his only suitor, who knows. But we can't start whinging about Howe going to Collingwood when he wasn't part of our plans going forward.

In truth, I don't really blame Howe. He's been offered a contract by Melbourne that was designed to force his hand and make him leave. He knows he's not wanted at the MFC.

That said, his interests are of no concern to me. None whatsoever. I only want what's best for the MFC and to maximise his trade value. And I'd play as hard as I can in doing so.

Mate, I've been thinking since this news came to light, about how to express my frustration at this decision by Howe, and you have read my mind perfectly. Thank you.

I second this. The power clubs think like essedun. We appear to cower, and take it up the ass.

Please M.F.C, change the way we do business, for god sake.

I realise some people think that dealing in that way is being a Dick or being hard to deal with. Some have even said that operating this way during negotiating will get you no where. The reality is we will get the respect we deserve as a club only when we negotiate to get treated in that way. Dodoro cops a lot of crap from people on here but I would much rather someone like Dodoro managing trade deals in this specific instance as he is willing to do whatever it takes to get what they want to better their own cause. It may end up just being all a bluff & bluster but at least there is a line being drawn somewhere if the other party isn't willing to come to the party.

With regards to how it feels as a supporter, Roos has said that there is a feeling of negativity around the club including the supporters. Peter Jackson said that he had to win back the respect & faith of the members. In my opinion that respect & faith is won back in these circumstances like this when negotiating for a better deal at the trade table to improve our clubs position. People on here can call me irrational or emotional or whatever they like but the club does need to start being tougher when dealing with other clubs whether it be on the field or off. That is when we will start being respected again. A trade like this goes a long way to building up that trust & respect IMO if done in the right way. If we bend over & cop it from Essendon & Collingwood on the Melksham & Howe trades I don't see how we can be seen to be making progress as a club. As a 10 + year member that is what I expect.

I reckon at least a quarter of those goals came against GWS and Gold Coast when every man and his dog were kicking bags against them. He would have averaged a pitiful 1 goal a game against non expansion teams as a permanent forward that year.

Howe aint no goal kicker.

Edited by Petraccattack

I realise some people think that dealing in that way is being a Dick or being hard to deal with. Some have even said that operating this way during negotiating will get you no where. The reality is we will get the respect we deserve as a club only when we negotiate to get treated in that way. Dodoro cops a lot of crap from people on here but I would much rather someone like Dodoro managing trade deals in this specific instance as he is willing to do whatever it takes to get what they want to better their own cause. It may end up just being all a bluff & bluster but at least there is a line being drawn somewhere if the other party isn't willing to come to the party.

With regards to how it feels as a supporter, Roos has said that there is a feeling of negativity around the club including the supporters. Peter Jackson said that he had to win back the respect & faith of the members. In my opinion that respect & faith is won back in these circumstances like this when negotiating for a better deal at the trade table to improve our clubs position. People on here can call me irrational or emotional or whatever they like but the club does need to start being tougher when dealing with other clubs whether it be on the field or off. That is when we will start being respected again. A trade like this goes a long way to building up that trust & respect IMO if done in the right way. If we bend over & cop it from Essendon & Collingwood on the Melksham & Howe trades I don't see how we can be seen to be making progress as a club. As a 10 + year member that is what I expect.

If you don't believe that our pickup of Jake for pick 25 is a good deal for Melbourne then your football knowledge has to be questioned.

Draft picks are over rated. You have more chance of winning at the casino then getting 100 games out of pick 25 in a weak draft.

Instead we pick up an established player that automatically slots into our best dozen players, has played 100 games and is a proven afl player.

As opposed to running around telling everyone that we've offered Melksham a four year contract? No wonder we couldn't get Essendon to budge on pick 25. This club has no idea at times.

As for Howe, I'd still prefer to keep him as opposed to receiving low level draft picks / players in return. I'm expecting Kennedy and Collingwood's 3rd round pick at this point. Prove me wrong, MFC.

Josh Mahoney said yesterday that we view the Howe and Kennedy deals as separate negotiations.

Time will tell!

If you don't believe that our pickup of Jake for pick 25 is a good deal for Melbourne then your football knowledge has to be questioned.

Draft picks are over rated. You have more chance of winning at the casino then getting 100 games out of pick 25 in a weak draft.

Instead we pick up an established player that automatically slots into our best dozen players, has played 100 games and is a proven afl player.

It's got nothing to do with whether I rate him or not, that is irrelevant in the context of what I am talking about.

The fact is we held all the cards & pulled the trigger on the deal & buckled to Essendons demands when we possibly could have waited to see how the other trades panned out. Now we don't have pick 25 to use in any other trades & Essendon potentially have it over us when trying to get pick 8 from GWS. Draft picks can be over rated I agree, but this isn't just about picks it is about jostling for the best position in the trade period. There were numerous other options possibly available to us with time to try & get other deals done. We could have done this trade for Melksham with 1 hour or less to go in the trade period.

I would have agreed until your last statement. Melksham's come off 2 average/poor years, so playing 100 games says as much about Essendon than him.

The people getting all their panties in a twist over Howe declaring a club he'd like to get traded to after receiving offers from us, north, subs and pies.

Ours is the worst offer I'm sure.

Players have always chosen when demand is their. This is never going to change, you would think we were losing Jones or Hogan the way people are up in arms.

In truth, I don't really blame Howe. He's been offered a contract by Melbourne that was designed to force his hand and make him leave. He knows he's not wanted at the MFC.

That said, his interests are of no concern to me. None whatsoever. I only want what's best for the MFC and to maximise his trade value. And I'd play as hard as I can in doing so.

Dont agree with that.

I think he has been offered a contract that is in line with his performance, and what the club deems to be fair market value based on that.

A dozen speccies a year does not a $500,000+ player make!

(or whatever ridiculous amount he was asking)

Especially when we have the likes of Hogan (especially), Brayshaw & Petracca to retain.

Edited by JTR

Dont agree with that.

I think he has been offered a contract that is in line with his performance, and what the club deems to be fair market value based on that.

A dozen speccies a year does not a $500,000+ player make!

(or whatever ridiculous amount he was asking)

Especially when we have the likes of Hogan (especially), Brayshaw & Petracca to retain.

Theres a bit to this I fell. i.e relative value. We've been dudded royally in the past with players getting overs come contract renewal time when their form didnt particularly warrant it.

I think the other thing is the club knew he was more than likely on the way out, had his own trigger so to speak. Howe was somewhat useful for the year and was assigned a role.. not the one he preferred...reminds me of someone else....hmmm Also that someone else had the right to nominate. Jeremy can by all means opt out of Melbourne. He can even 'nominate' his desires. Id like to think the club will still work towards a solution thats as beneficial as can be made for the club, not because it is for the departing.

Howe a Gunston-IsaacSmith-hybrid?

Playing to Buckley's self confidence and ego beautifully -- play Howe in the backline and have other coaches convinced that his abilities are being under-utilised by having him in the wrong position, and that they could find ways to get the best out of the raw tools Howe possesses.

Dangle the bait of imagining what they could do with a player like that, instead of showing them the reality of trying it and exposing his weaknesses.

We should get "too much" for Howe in my opinion.

Howe a Gunston-IsaacSmith-hybrid?

Playing to Buckley's self confidence and ego beautifully -- play Howe in the backline and have other coaches convinced that his abilities are being under-utilised by having him in the wrong position, and that they could find ways to get the best out of the raw tools Howe possesses.

Dangle the bait of imagining what they could do with a player like that, instead of showing them the reality of trying it and exposing his weaknesses.

We should get "too much" for Howe in my opinion.

I quoted that because I had to wipe the coffee off my screen when I spat it out of my mouth in amusement.