94 members have voted

Posted

Personally i want him on the half forward and that's where i want him to stay, way to big to be a midfielder.

Posted

Roos has said mid and I agree with him, i think he will play mid and may drop across half back at times. I can see him being a taller Goddard. He has the skills and physical capabilities to do it, the rest is application (mental).

Posted

Roos has said mid and I agree with him, i think he will play mid and may drop across half back at times. I can see him being a taller Goddard. He has the skills and physical capabilities to do it, the rest is application (mental).

And a really tough pre season. If you have seen him train, he is not the most intense trainer in the world, and lacks the big engine. He will need to develop one if he is to develop into an elite midfielder. If he does though, he would be a huge plus for us. His skill are sublime, and he would be very very difficult for others to match up on.

As well as those we have recruited this year, plus Jones and Viney, if we play a fully fit Watts on the wing, Chip at CHB, and Hogan at CHF (who does have a huge engine), they will be the links which will mark our midfield really powerful. Very few other clubs have that sort of combination.

It is very exciting....

Posted

Personally i want him on the half forward and that's where i want him to stay, way to big to be a midfielder.

His lack of physicality as opposed to his physique is more of an impediment to him playing in the midfield. Adam Goodes comes to mind.

He is needed in the midfield because we don't have one.

All hands on deck in there I reckon.

Posted

Always thought he could be a Kouta style midfielder, more specifically the wing. We need as much as we can get in the midfield as well. He just needs the engine.

Posted

For Casey

There must be a thread somewhere where you haven't taken the opportunity to post something as negative as you can imagine. But I haven't found it yet. Keep up the good work.

Posted

For Casey

Are you ok?

I know it isn't R U OK day but I will make an exception for somebody who seemingly always is either looking for attention or likes to 'light up' this place with some choice trolling.

Posted

Not sure but can't see him becoming a midfielder in a clearance contested sense. Half back or wing if he is good enough.

Posted

Jack does not have the right shape to get under the pack and get the pill out. However I like him as that first receive/outside option. He is a good decision maker, quite poised and able to deliver the ball deep forward to our (hopefully fit) tall forwards.

Posted

Jack does not have the right shape to get under the pack and get the pill out. However I like him as that first receive/outside option. He is a good decision maker, quite poised and able to deliver the ball deep forward to our (hopefully fit) tall forwards.

Yep with Davey retired, Watts now becomes the best kick of a footy in the team...I want to see him using that to deliver the ball to one of our now potentially more damaging forward options,.

Posted

Yep with Davey retired, Watts now becomes the best kick of a footy in the team...I want to see him using that to deliver the ball to one of our now potentially more damaging forward options,.

my best mate reckons he should become the "I hate this word" quarterback

interesting if r:oos goes with this type of player,he doesn't generally play a Bradley/McKenna sweeper type

Posted

Mobile wingman playing between HB and HF. First or second receiver at ball-ups / throw-ins and finding space on his own is where he could (potentially) do a lot of damage with his disposal ie. playing to his current strengths and (hopefully) developing some new ones courtesy of Paul Roos guidance, increased confidence in his own ability and lots of hard work on the track.

Posted

I think he should play the same role as gunston

Norman ?

Posted

Mobile wingman playing between HB and HF. First or second receiver at ball-ups / throw-ins and finding space on his own is where he could (potentially) do a lot of damage with his disposal ie. playing to his current strengths and (hopefully) developing some new ones courtesy of Paul Roos guidance, increased confidence in his own ability and lots of hard work on the track.

Pretty much this. Nominal wing but effectively a sweeper role
Posted

Without sounding like a broken record...

I just want Watts to make the most of his great abilities and become the brilliant player we all know he could be.

C'mon Roos extract it out of him - I'm excited about the next chapter for Watts!!

Posted

I agree with all of that, but I really don't think Watts' issue is belief in his own ability - I think he already has that - I think he needs someone like Roos to get inside his head and convince him that he is strong enough to compete physically and to help him lose any fear he has of getting hurt.

Posted

MCG In September week 2 of the finals would be good!

In the Grand Final would be better ... :) (note this is about where we want him to be, not where we expect him to be :blink: )

Posted

Watts eventually will play midfield.

He must learn the role Roos wants him to play.

If he is smart enough to catch on over the summer good on him.

If not expect him at Casey to learn his craft.

Posted

MCG In September week 2 of the finals would be good!

Who are we trading him to?

Posted

Roos wants him to play a role similar to Mundy at Freo.

Can't see Watts being that good (especially overnight) as Mundy's workrate is close to the best in the league. Jack's work rate is, well, y'know.