Bombers scandal: charged, <redacted> and <infracted>

Jonesbag

Posted

This is just beautiful. Essenadol are building their new facilities out at Tullamarine. Big $$$.

Their case is looking more dodgy by the hour now that the ACC are involved.

How are they going to pay for this new training centre once the sponsors dry up?

That picture on the back of todays HUN is great.

Essendon Football Club...A pile of dirt.

Anybody who went to Windy Hill decades ago will show them no sympathy.

Ignoarance is no excuse.

A pile of dirt.

Your like a vulture circling a straggler in the desert, i love it. B)

• Replies 12.4k
Posted

Maybe the leak didn't come from the AFL, after all they have an Integrity Department, so couldn't possibly happen. :-)))

How about the ACC leaking too?

No serious leak here. You don't assemble the heads of the major codes, ACC, ASDA heavies etc, the Minister for Sport etc with 2 days notice and without first giving them a fair amount of detail, even the report. At that point there are so many involved that you know it will leak and no point in fingering anyone. Though I wonder if the ACC would be annoyed about the Bomber press conference occurring just before.

Posted

I dont see how this is hilarious...

The supporters dont deserve this, Imagine if it was us in there position.

Go read bay 13 on big footy about tanking then get back to me, they deserve everything coming there way.

Posted

At the beginning of this saga I was just glad to see the focus of the blood-thirsty media personalities turning to another club. I'm still glad of that but this issue could really hurt the games image.

I really feel sorry for the bombers fans, I know they can be real [censored] but end the end of the day they love their club like we do and they don't deserve the sh!t that's raining down on them.

Posted

At the beginning of this saga I was just glad to see the focus of the blood-thirsty media personalities turning to another club. I'm still glad of that but this issue could really hurt the games image.

I really feel sorry for the bombers fans, I know they can be real [censored] but end the end of the day they love their club like we do and they don't deserve the sh!t that's raining down on them.

Pates, don't lose sleep over it mate. It's not just the AFL that is in the sh!t with this one, most sporting codes in Australia are in strife.

Posted

you never went out to Windy Hill did you?

Or never had a housemate who was also a fanatical Essendone supporter did you?

Don't give the bastards an ounce of Sympathy.

Let it rain.

Sloonie where are you? We need to crack a bottle of Red! :)

Posted

Probably still dealing with her "lady hard on"... :ph34r:

hahaha!!

Been quiet today i hope she wasn't put in the cooler for a few months. Sloonie is good value.

Posted
Trafficker worked with Hird in 2004

A headline I thought id never see. Lets face it essendon probably didnt give anything illegal in those injections but its funny watching essendon in the news for the wrong reasons. Sure if it was us id be shattered.

But I was getting sick of us in the papers so im glad someone has taken that off us. Plus its good to know the golden boy cant get everything right.

Posted

Bring on the footy I say. Politics is taking over the game. Cant wait, till the game speaks for itself after each weekend

Unfortunately the footy will now start with a big cloud hanging over it. I was really looking forward to the first game now I'm a bit up in the air about the whole thing. I would like to see the tanking thing over with, what a dog's breakfast the AFL have made of that and would like to know that we are not involved in current investigations on a federal or state level. This is going to engulf the whole competition and instead of reading some great football pieces the season is now set up for Wilson and co...even Buddy's contract is going to be relegated from the front and back page.

Posted

A headline I thought id never see. Lets face it essendon probably didnt give anything illegal in those injections but its funny watching essendon in the news for the wrong reasons. Sure if it was us id be shattered.

But I was getting sick of us in the papers so im glad someone has taken that off us. Plus its good to know the golden boy cant get everything right.

Still a mention of the demons in that piece....

Posted

I'm here. I was just assembling a flat-pack, then disassembling it because I put the panels on the wrong way. This is what happens when you put tools in a girl's hands lol.

Anyway no sympathy from me; I want all Essendrug supporters from infants to seniors to weep over the demise of their club. They deserve it.

I'll be here with my popcorn, waiting for sanctions- which I hope are swift and severe. I'm hoping 2 years out of the competition. Failing that, 5 years of no premiership points and only allowed to participate in rookie drafts. This would be enough to make me a very happy person :)

Posted

His first mistake was not going with his lie, "I'm not coaching the Essendon FC".

Posted

The schadenfreude for Essendon's woes I can understand but dont agree with.

The hatred for Collingwood is old school but Eddie has supported Demons in the recent past, even if his support is eddie centric and flawed. I have no feeling for them.

If however the club was the hawthorns, I would be high-fiving the air big time. That shwine Kennett has kicked us repeatedly. Wish it was them.

Posted

The schadenfreude for Essendon's woes I can understand but dont agree with.

The hatred for Collingwood is old school but Eddie has supported Demons in the recent past, even if his support is eddie centric and flawed. I have no feeling for them.

If however the club was the hawthorns, I would be high-fiving the air big time. That shwine Kennett has kicked us repeatedly. Wish it was them.

It still could be 'Frankly'.

Posted

stockholm syndrome?

Posted

As a young footy supporter in the 80's my intense Hatred for the Hawks & Bombers spouted and grew. I agree with others sometimes it can be great to see other supporters wallow and cop a lot of heat over their club and my initial reaction when this was announced was thank christ we are off the back pages for a day or two.

As more news came out I realised two things we will be off the back pages for a fair amount of time, but I also like many of you understand how bad it is when you as a supporter cop it from opposition supporters. I have a lot of empathy for the Bombers fans think back how you felt when in 2007 our future looked very bleak. All I wanted then was for my two sons and hopefully grand children to have a Dees team to follow.

This is big make no mistake every Bomber fan will be coming to realise the worst case scenarios could see their club struggling for many years to come, depending upon how they fare they could even become a sponsorship no go area for years to come. That along with a massive debt and interest they will have with their new facilities could see them be looking for handouts for many years to come.

I really hope for the sake of footy in general the worst case scenario of systematic doping being uncovered, players outed for two years and Essendon being unable to field a side for two years does not eventuate. Whilst I still hate the Bombers and always will it is not good for the game, fans or sport if this happens

Posted

you never went out to Windy Hill did you?

Or never had a housemate who was also a fanatical Essendone supporter did you?

Don't give the bastards an ounce of Sympathy.

Let it rain.

Sloonie where are you? We need to crack a bottle of Red! :)

WYL my best mate is a Bombers fanatic, his nephew played for them up until last season. We watch every game between our clubs together with our kids who also wear their our club colours.

When the Bombers get done by us he usually goes into a rage, remote controls get smashed and he becomes a sook.

I enjoy that as I do every time we beat them but this is different, this goes beyond Essendon this will harm the game

Posted

My dream is for the Eagles to be implicated in all of this.

I hate the Eagles and the way their fans carry on, more than anyother sporting club in any code, anywhere.

Posted

Thats actually the point ( as I see it )

We seem to have notoriously developed leaks over recent times that surely had such an occurrence happened then the same dark lods tha move mysteroiusly amongst us plotting Board downfalls etc would have jumped at this trump. It didnt and hasnt.

Essendon were ( emphasis on were ) better at such containments.

The Bombers if they arent too careful might join the ranks of such notables as ANA TAA Compass Impulse and Strategic !!

My info is that certain people within clubs and the media have known for months and months, but considering the legal ramifications of being wrong, and not being able to name any particular party (still, by the looks of the ACC) means that it didn't come out.

Footy clubs leak. A lot.

But this was so sensitive that it stayed as word of mouth within a select circle.

I'm sure I heard Mark Robinson also say he had know for months but was unable to say anything.

Even Monday on SEN, Mark Allen made a joke that if Lance Armstrong had an AFL team, it'd probably be Essendon.

At the time he played it off as just riffing, but the next confirmed he was being cheeky & couldn't reveal what he already knew.

Posted

WYL my best mate is a Bombers fanatic, his nephew played for them up until last season. We watch every game between our clubs together with our kids who also wear their our club colours.

When the Bombers get done by us he usually goes into a rage, remote controls get smashed and he becomes a sook.

I enjoy that as I do every time we beat them but this is different, this goes beyond Essendon this will harm the game

When the nephew drinks a glass of water, does he leak all over like a sieve?

Posted

OK..I'm just going to throw this old gem in for good measure. Keep in mind its vague and ambiguous at the best of times. But if you stand back squint a bit, ( maybe with a withdrawl induced tic ) you could read it in another interesting manner..

yes folks its good old rule 19 A5

"A person, being a player, coach or assistant coach, must at all times perform on their merits and must not induce, or encourage, any player, coach or assistant coach not to perform on their merits in any match - or in relation to any aspect of the match, for any reason whatsoever."

Now if we are to read this and suggest that any player not playing in a 'natural' manner and therefore not on his 'merits' ( because he's juiced up ) does this then throw this rule right back at Essendon ? I think it could

others thoughts ?

Posted

Unfortunately the footy will now start with a big cloud hanging over it. I was really looking forward to the first game now I'm a bit up in the air about the whole thing. I would like to see the tanking thing over with, what a dog's breakfast the AFL have made of that and would like to know that we are not involved in current investigations on a federal or state level. This is going to engulf the whole competition and instead of reading some great football pieces the season is now set up for Wilson and co...even Buddy's contract is going to be relegated from the front and back paI

I agree rjay. Imagine if (and i say IF) the Dees somehow make the eight. Will there be questions about our performance. The tanking issue or the performance enhancing supplements issue will gain more weight as we will be seen as playing for draft picks therefore rising up the ladder, or questioned about our Sports Science program. This will be despite the club cleaning out its dead wood that included many high draft picks and Craig and Misson having an excellent standing in Sports Science.

NC was invovled with Charlie Walsh in the Aust Track Cycling program. IMO it could be likely that performance ehancing drugs were a part of this program. Not saying in any way that NC's reputation should be questioned. But, too many journo's who have nothing better to do but to find any angle on such issues.

All this crap is bad for the game.

I fear there is no way going back now. I cant believe others are re joicing this scandal. Lets get back to football being played on a Saturday.

Its been discussed on another Thread but, surely the game needs a clean out at the top and a new beginning. the current Admin is looking tired and sloppy in its handling of such issues

Posted

I don't wish bad on Essendon, I only like what is going on, because it takes the heat off the 'tanking issue'.

Hopefully the AFL is all tied up now.

They can't afford all this bad publicity, so hopefully they rush the tanking debacle a bit.

I noticed we released a statement yesterday on tanking, such perfect timing - it went unnoticed.