Bombers scandal: charged, <redacted> and <infracted>

Jonesbag

Posted

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/index.php?threads/Weapon-targeted!.978571/

Big footy thread started oct '12, seems on the money!!

Makes some big claims about one of our own coaches too, any legal experts on here?

Not quite an answer to your question, but worth looking at what Craig is quoted as saying here:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/more-sport/roos-chase-drug-cheats-harder/story-e6frfglf-1111114105966

The Bigfooty poster's claims aren't anything more than an attempt at guilt by association anyway.

• Replies 12.4k
Posted

If as the rumours are suggesting the issue is the use of the peptide hormone HGH {Human Growth hormone ) a whole new ball game opens up. HGH can only be used under the strict administration of a MEDICAL PRACTITIONER. A prescription must be issued with a specific quantity and daily dosage that does not exceed a period of 3 months. Without this it is a Federal offence to use and acquire the drug. Either a Medical Practitioner issued a prescription for each player that took part in the program or the drug was illegally obtained and used illegally. Interesting dayze indeed.

Posted

LOL- They're screwed!

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-02-06/dons-players-legal-threat

There is speculation that a growth hormone peptide, known as GHRP6, may be the substance in question.

GHRP6 is a banned substance under the World Anti-Doping Agency's (WADA) code.

Ings said it was "a troubling substance", which led to one rugby union
player being banned for four years last year for the importation and
trafficking of the substance.

4 year ban for the importation and trafficking- how much for using and playing?

Lol this is the best!!

Posted

Just one more...

rackcity_zps263ce811.jpg

L20120926_demetriou450.jpg

"Ladies and gentlemen, would you all be upstanding and

raise your glasses to the Brownlow Medallist for 2012 ....... Jab err ... Jobe Watson."

Posted

I will get shouted down.

I am actually saddened - FCS, I just wanna verbally punch on about football - who is the best team, worst team. I wanna hate Carlton because I dont like their scummy players not because of any system Judd has rorted and I want to hate Essendon but not because they are sticking stuff in their arms.

The game is being overtaken by issues concerning tanking, salary cap breaches and drugs and that makes me sad.

While I was initially happy it was not MFC, I have tempered this with some other thoughts. I am still happy MFC is not involved.

I am hoping that there is an engineered light tap solution for MFC out of tanking regardless of what the investigation found. Neither the AFL nor MFC want a protracted legal battle.

I am just wondering if this is possible if the Essendon matter is serious.

Its early days and there needs to be greater information rather than the current media heat on this. But if its really serious and engulfs Essendon and more then what?

Posted

Leave Jobe out of it. He's clean.

Plus when he's a free agent next year he's out of there. Would love him in the red and blue :)

Posted

While I was initially happy it was not MFC, I have tempered this with some other thoughts. I am still happy MFC is not involved.

I am hoping that there is an engineered light tap solution for MFC out of tanking regardless of what the investigation found. Neither the AFL nor MFC want a protracted legal battle.

I am just wondering if this is possible if the Essendon matter is serious.

Its early days and there needs to be greater information rather than the current media heat on this. But if its really serious and engulfs Essendon and more then what?

Isn't it possible that the AFL might not want to have two major investigations and potentially protracted court cases on their plate?

The drugs issue is, I would imagine, far more serious and potentially far more damaging to the AFL's brand, in which case, why would it not be possible that the Tanking case will be dismissed on the basis that the evidence was far too inconclusive (a much easier conclusion to reach than a case where drug abuse is involved). Then they can concentrate all of their efforts in sorting out a potentially much more far reaching problem (barrel of monkeys compared to our can of worms).

Posted

"Ladies and gentlemen, would you all be upstanding and

raise your glasses to the Brownlow Medallist for 2012 ....... Jab Watson."

nice.

you must be pretty sure about that, then?

Posted

Isn't it possible that the AFL might not want to have two major investigations and potentially protracted court cases on their plate?

The drugs issue is, I would imagine, far more serious and potentially far more damaging to the AFL's brand, in which case, why would it not be possible that the Tanking case will be dismissed on the basis that the evidence was far too inconclusive (a much easier conclusion to reach than a case where drug abuse is involved). Then they can concentrate all of their efforts in sorting out a potentially much more far reaching problem (barrel of monkeys compared to our can of worms).

Also possible since the AFL actually have control over the tanking investigation but not over the drug one.

There were a lot of people suggesting there will be a 'no case to answer' finding regarding tanking following our response to the AFL's 'essay'. This just seems to give them more reason to give that finding.

Posted

nice.

Range Rover could end up with lawyers chasing him with that post.

Posted

nice.

Range Rover could end up with lawyers chasing him with that post.

Just injecting a bit of humour into the thread lads.

Posted

So what would actually happen if all players in question were banned for 2 years?

Could it mean no more Essendon?

This is just too good.

Posted

So what would actually happen if all players in question were banned for 2 years?

This is just too good.

I reckon if enough players were banned the AFL would let Essendon draft some players from the lower leagues to field a team. It's about all they can do.

Watch Watson cop a double tag in a team full of rookies.

I know it's schadenfreude but I just don't care.

Posted

I reckon if enough players were banned the AFL would let Essendon draft some players from the lower leagues to field a team. It's about all they can do.

Does anyone know if they do drug testing in the state level leagues? I know Lees got suspended, but he didn't get found out through testing.

Just makes the Essendon/Bendigo split more interesting...

Posted

This is just too good.

if WADA get stuck in any player will be banned.

Simple as that.

This was first spoken about 12 months ago so the Essendon hierachy have only themselves to blame if the were "unaware"...

Posted

Watson will want out. He and Fletch are free agents next year, good timing :)

Posted

be careful....that could be the equivalent of giving them draft picks 1 to 40 :o

Posted

Watson will want out. He and Fletch are free agents next year, good timing :)

Fletch must have another 10 years left in him.

Posted

if WADA get stuck in any player will be banned.

Simple as that.

This was first spoken about 12 months ago so the Essendon hierachy have only themselves to blame if the were "unaware"...

Buck stops with CEO, Hird and Thompson. At least one or more of those heads wil have to roll.

My radar says it was the insider and shifty-as-all-get-out Thompson who took mate Hird along for the ride. Something tells me things might get more than a little icy between those two! Lol.

Posted

LOL- They're screwed!

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-02-06/dons-players-legal-threat

There is speculation that a growth hormone peptide, known as GHRP6, may be the substance in question.

GHRP6 is a banned substance under the World Anti-Doping Agency's (WADA) code.

Ings said it was "a troubling substance", which led to one rugby union

player being banned for four years last year for the importation and

trafficking of the substance.

4 year ban for the importation and trafficking- how much for using and playing?

Lol this is the best!!

Sloonie, i've gotta say I can pick up on your pure, unbridled joy in every post. Makes some hilarious reading.

Carry on!