Posted

Anyone else a little concerned by this possibility?

Stockdale interested in Demons presidency

What'll this end up costing us? Selling more home games? Worse?

A few years (or more) in Cairns? NT matches till... whenever?

Tassie Demons maybe??

The AFL running the club is bad (and to me, worrisome) enough. This one adds to the wrong, IMHO...

(I'd recommend reading Bluey's posts on Demonology) [AS POSTED ON DEMONOLOGY]

Posted

He's a former treasurer and not knowing how he performed having a treasurer as pres would be a good thing.

At least our finances should be in a good state.

Posted

He's a former treasurer and not knowing how he performed having a treasurer as pres would be a good thing.

At least our finances should be in a good state.

He was the treasurer that FIXED the state.

Hes a past board member, a passionate Dee and a pretty cluey bloke.

Posted

Based on that he would be a good choice then.

Get it done.

Posted

I dont think he has a lot of love for Vlad though. Hes a peg higher in ability than AD ...battle of wills perhaps.

AS wont stand for fools

Posted

bb u r very active on DL is this your full time job mate?

Posted

I think the issue is more:

What he had to do (sell) to fix the state, and,

His past history as board member of the MFC.

Posted

I dont think he has a lot of love for Vlad though. Hes a peg higher in ability than AD ...battle of wills perhaps.

AS wont stand for fools

This is exactly what we need for to long we have been weak in this area.

Posted

This is exactly what we need for to long we have been weak in this area.

I concur...It also goes to why AD has a luke warm response to supporting an AS Presidency and/or ticket.

personally I love it :)

Posted

bb u r very active on DL is this your full time job mate?

doesnt pay enough... ;)

Construction pays the bills :)

Posted

At least he sold the assets and fixed the state, in Bris they have sold off assets too but pized the money away. Also the money from the mines was obviously not enough to keep up with there spending.

Can u expand on AS history on the board C L?

Posted

I concur...It also goes to why AD has a luke warm response to supporting an AS Presidency and/or ticket.

personally I love it :)

AD has still supported him and his ticket even if only luke warm support so it should get done I would think.

Posted

Drawing a long bow there...

I want Demons in charge and he is one, let's see what happens.

I hope there are no tickets and that we get a very good board with the support of all influential Demons that are putting their hand up.

Posted

AD has still supported him and his ticket even if only luke warm support so it should get done I would think.

I sense AD thought thered be a larger pool to select from. We probaly all guessed otherwise. AD often has an elevated view of thngs !!!

Stockdale might well be a very sensible choice. Again hes no fool. He wont just 'jump' at it. He'll want a few things sorted, and sorted to his satisfaction.. Hes not gagging for the gig, he's 'interested' in it.

Rucking antlers at dawn lol

Posted

If Stockdale becomes President, which I reckon is a great idea, we have to get a coach or CEO with personality and media savvy. Stockdale is a really dour, behind the scenes, capable, management kind of person - will make a success of our business, structure and admin. But he is not a person who inspires supporters to become members, or who has charm to burn.

Him with Mark Williams as coach - I'm in.

Posted

If Stockdale becomes President, which I reckon is a great idea, we have to get a coach or CEO with personality and media savvy. Stockdale is a really dour, behind the scenes, capable, management kind of person - will make a success of our business, structure and admin. But he is not a person who inspires supporters to become members, or who has charm to burn.

Him with Mark Williams as coach - I'm in.

In fact Maldonboy he makes watching grass grow look interesting by comparison.

Makes watching our current team look fun.

Dour I don't think covers it, but alas I cannot think of a better word.

Please God deliver me from all this.

Posted

At least he sold the assets and fixed the state, in Bris they have sold off assets too but pized the money away. Also the money from the mines was obviously not enough to keep up with there spending.

Can u expand on AS history on the board C L?

I think there is a bit more to it than is evident on the surface.

Greg Sword Failed board candidate in the controversial 2001 board elections. A member of the losing Joseph Gutnick "Team Melbourne" ticket. At the time Sword was the secretary of the National Union of Workers.

Bit of Lib bashing by a known Lib basher, also failing to mention that there was a staunch Labor man on the other losing side. Gutnick was voted out for a number of reasons one of which he continually antagonised the AFL.

Stockdale is a vey committed MFC supporter and I'd be happy to see him on the board, his political background should have nothing to do with it.

Posted

Stockdale is a highly competent lawyer and as a politician is known for his role as State Treasurer in implementing Jeff Kennett's revolution of privatisation and cutbacks when in government in the 1990s. Some would say he and Jeff saved the state, others that they left it without a heart and a soul. As an MFC board member he was up to his neck in the intrigue that led to the overthrow of Joe Gutnick and the subsequent destabilisation of the club.

Personally, I would prefer others as Stockdale represents a step back in time to an era when the club languished. The knifing of Joe brought us the Szondy regime and we know where that got us.

Nevertheless, he's apparently put his hand up although it appears that he won't make an official move until after the federal election (given that he's National President of the Liberal Party). He has yet to speak about his vision for the club and, dare I say it, we have no idea as to who will form his team which I guess makes them all "faceless" men at this point in time.

In that respect, it's all a bit hazy. The jury's well and truly out and I'm sure we'd all like to know how he plans to unify the club and restore its fortunes.

Posted

We've always been a refuge for washed up Liberals.

At least he is a Melbourne supporter.

However,

I would prefer someone a bit younger personally,

with less of a history in liquifying assets and calling it profit.

Someone who can relate to those of us under 60 who have never seen a flag.

I don't have any nominations but the baby boomer generation have done enough damage-get off the pot.

Bring in the yoof!

Posted

I think there is a bit more to it than is evident on the surface.

Greg Sword Failed board candidate in the controversial 2001 board elections. A member of the losing Joseph Gutnick "Team Melbourne" ticket. At the time Sword was the secretary of the National Union of Workers.

Bit of Lib bashing by a known Lib basher, also failing to mention that there was a staunch Labor man on the other losing side. Gutnick was voted out for a number of reasons one of which he continually antagonised the AFL.

Stockdale is a vey committed MFC supporter and I'd be happy to see him on the board, his political background should have nothing to do with it.

I don't see what mention of Greg Sword has to do with the Alan Stockdale thread apart from those who continally wish to push their political prejudices into the forum (as they did with Kennett). Both Greg Sword AM and Alan Stockdale have served on previous boards and may have even served at the same time. Both are first and foremost passionate demons supporters and Demonlanders should get their blinkers off and look at their skill set rather than their politics. Sword was a past National President of the Labor Party and today is the CEO of LUCRF Super and a member of the Melbourne Foundation. Don't discount anybody on either side of politics if they are going to be best for the job.

(Personally i am still attracted to the Kennett platform, partly because of AD's opposition!)

Posted

Stockdale is 68. Bartlett about 50

Bartlett is a foundation member, not sure if Stockdale is.

Stockdale says it is president or nothing. He has apparently been offered the vice presidency and refused.

He apparently doesn't get on with Jackson.

The AFL and the MFC apparently prefer Bartlett, who has a strong relationship with Demetriou.

The AFL will give us the help both financial and on field that they decide to.

We are not in a position to have a fight with the AFL or get them offside.

Stockdale and a few of his best people would be welcomed onto a unified Board. Apparently this is not acceptable to him unless he is president.

Everybody except Stockdale seems happy with the changes happening at the MFC at the moment.

Every new Board member is up for re election at the next AGM under the club's constitution. If Stockdale cares about the club why doesn't he just shut up now and challenge at the AGM like every other MFC member has the right to do and not make this a public fight while we are trying to make the most important appointments for the future of the club.

I fear this distraction could cost us the best coach and maybe even Jackson.

I fear this is about a person's personal ambitions rather than what is best for the MFC.

Posted

Stockdale will be a divisive figure at the club, no way do I want him involved at board level. No time to elaborate at the moment but I see him in a similar light to CS a bad, bad move for the club. Go away Alan and take your selfish, divisive agenda somewhere else.

Posted

Red, are you able to expand at all on what in particular Stockdale isnt on board with re changes at the club. ?

Suddenly getting a bad vibe about dear ol' Al !!

Posted

Red, are you able to expand at all on what in particular Stockdale isnt on board with re changes at the club. ?

Suddenly getting a bad vibe about dear ol' Al !!

I hope Redleg is justing reading a hell of a lot into the reports, not all of which may be true.

But one thing I do not like is the threat of an alternative ticket.

One ticket. One MFC.

Posted

Once a politician, always a politician. Regardless of what side of politics, thereis generally too much "me" involved. Not the right choice for mine.