GAMBLING PROBE [update MFC cleared]

Debamboozle

Posted

i said i would not buy another membership after this year if we did not go to court and instead rolled over.

Well guess what???

If the FD and players show some fight this year i could be persuaded, but another showing like 2012...i stand by what i say.

As for the rest of your post....you can do whatever you like, calling me a sook??

That's a stretch, considering what this club has put us all through since i started this journey in 1971.

I wanted to go to court. See this dam club STAND UP for once....But we meekly sat down(again).

Like DC i am pizzed off today & if the VCGLR have a crack at us as well that will just top it right off.

WYL surely you realise we would have followed what was considered best advice from our lawyers

• Replies 181
Posted

WYL surely you realise we would have followed what was considered best advice from our lawyers

yes i know, but is it the best advice for the long haul?

We have just let a whole heap of our oponents off scott free and taken yet another barrage of punches.

Sometimes i wish the MFC would pick the hard alternative........

Posted

I think you are kidding yourself.

I have it in writing that we are not...

At the end of the day - it's all that matters.

We will move on to Essendon, and then whatever else, and we will try and be a footy club again.

Posted

We have not been cleared, we have been SHAFTED big time

We are guilty in the eyes of everyone despite the afl's pathetic effort of incomprehendable spin

It has cost us a min of $1M in fines and legal costs and who knows what in sponsorship and membership

It has derailed the club for 8 months and its not over

We have had the most appalling media coverage

We have been scapegoated for what others pioneered before us and will never be brought to account

Two careers have been severely damaged

We have been made a laughing stock in the football world

We are still a fractured club internally if reports are to be believed

It may not be fair and balanced but we have been SHAFTED big time

And I am so pizzed off at our current position i couldn't begin to explain

Pretty much sums up my feelings too

Posted

I have it in writing that we are not...

At the end of the day - it's all that matters.

We will move on to Essendon, and then whatever else, and we will try and be a footy club again.

I sure hope so mate but at the moment I'm not feeling to good about the footy. Another bad season on ground now after this capitulation it would be a disaster, I'm backing Neeld but I'm not so sure about those running the place.

Posted

I don't know about the rest of you but I'm really appreciating Demonland at the moment. I am isolated in Sydney with very few people to talk footy with, little own, Dee's supporters. It is a great comfort to get on here and read so many posters who are thinking exactly what I'm thinking.

I don't have a lot to add on this topic that hasn't already been said. But I have been thinking about the outcome of this latest investigation. Their powers include the ability to have offices of an entity removed. As the evidence apparently only leads to Connolly, who is no longer involved in the FD and Bailey, who is no longer at the Club. I suggest they may decide that the perpetrators are gone so the need to remove the licences has gone, so no loss of licences. I don't know if they have the power to fine the Club but I suspect loss of gaming machines would be pretty extreme.

If that is the consequence the Club may not last the year. As I have posted elsewhere. I don't know the impact on the valuation of the Bentleigh Club if the licences were lost but I would imagine it could be in danger of being worth less than the debt sitting on it. And that debt was being paid for by the pokies. If they go the Club might be insolvent as soon as they are taken away. That would force the Directors to close the doors immediately or they would be personally liable for all the debts of the club after that time.

I have no idea about what the Gaming Authority has done in the past but here's hoping it doesn't get to that and they decide at worse it was related to two people who aren't involved in football at the Club anymore.

Posted

Can't wait for the actual season to start, we need more things to talk about other than all the BS the media drive in the off season..

Posted

Relax It's Time.

We're not the financial basket case that we once were.

Since Jimmy's board took over we've gone from being $5m in the red to $6.4m in the black.

Sorry, as a result of the rats who ignited the tanking fiasco and the people behind them (assuming there were such people and my sources tell me there were), we're $5.9m in the black.

Take away the gaming licences and it would be a bit of a hit but we would probably be able to dispose of those licences to others in a timely manner and (in any event) the real estate underpinning the Bentleigh Club is worth plenty anyway if sold on the open market unencumbered by the business of the club.

It won't come to a loss of the licences but we can thank Jimmy, Don, the hardworking board and the supporters who have rallied behind the club since 2008.

We're safe - now let's get on with the footy.

Posted

Why do we cop all the media heat? Why has the media pressure stopped for the bongers, they have revealed that they have taken illegal drugs, but where still the main story..... I'm so sick to death of the flack that keeps heaping on our club..... What agenda is behind this (bash melbourne at all costs) media push?

How about you chase Carlton, Richmond, west coast, Collingwood, st kilda.... You pack of bully [censored]....

Posted

Hope you are right WJ. I must admit I'd much rather just be talking about footy. Bring it on. I suspect we've got one more year of pain to go on field before we start to turn that corner. Let's hope Neeldie gets to coach a Club that doesn't have crap going on off field on a permanent basis like since he arrived.

Posted

Hope you are right WJ. I must admit I'd much rather just be talking about footy. Bring it on. I suspect we've got one more year of pain to go on field before we start to turn that corner. Let's hope Neeldie gets to coach a Club that doesn't have crap going on off field on a permanent basis like since he arrived.

we have to stop talking about success being next year. That's what kills this club.

Demand and expect some THIS YEAR.

Its to easy to put it off.

I have been on here for 10 years, and without fail next year has always been the one.

I want some serious improvement this year.

Posted

Dear Brock,

Thanks for the ten large you chipped in previously. No chance of you stumping up another $490K is there since you took it upon yourself to open up that stupid yap of yours ? ( you stumped up, half witted, bogan)

Regards

Us.

Posted

http://www.puntroadend.com/

I think you'll be happier there.

Over the last two years they have done a large number of things way better than the Dees Carrot top.

At least they have a club facility members can go to.

Remind what we as Dees members have again?

Posted

Decisions by the Victorian Commission for Gambling and Liquor are subject to judicial review. First they would need to find against us, the it would go to VCAT and then up and up. This may well be some more heart-ache for the club, but in the end to find any of the board members unfit to hold a gaming licence is, in my humble opinion, so remotely unlikely that I think I may just hold off on reading this thread!

Posted

Over the last two years they have done a large number of things way better than the Dees Carrot top.

At least they have a club facility members can go to.

Remind what we as Dees members have again?

You can go too.

Posted

Lost for words about all this. Would have been happy to fight it out in the courts but I have to trust that those who made the decision to accept the penalty knew what they were doing. What else can we do? We've been screwed once again by disgruntled ex-employees. At some point this crap will have to stop.

We need to focus on supporting the players. If the board stuff this up they will be gone. We can survive but we need to start winning games of football.

Go DEES!

Posted

Lost for words about all this. Would have been happy to fight it out in the courts but I have to trust that those who made the decision to accept the penalty knew what they were doing. What else can we do? We've been screwed once again by disgruntled ex-employees. At some point this crap will have to stop.

We need to focus on supporting the players. If the board stuff this up they will be gone. We can survive but we need to start winning games of football.

Go DEES!

Amen to that REV