Guest The Tweed Pig
Posted

mate what if it's your mum he said the same thing how would you react ?????

Him: "I'm gonna rape your Mum"

Me: "Half our team got the clap from your girlfriend"

We then have a beer after the game.

Juvenile and silly comments have been happening on the field for over a century. Did anyone take McGinnity's comments seriously ? Of course not. I can understand some being offended, but the over-reaction to what happened in a testosterone fuelled environment is disproportional to what has been happening on footy fields for decades. It should have been left on the field and we wouldn't be discussing it.

• Replies 128

Posted

Juvenile and silly comments have been happening on the field for over a century. Did anyone take McGinnity's comments seriously ? Of course not. I can understand some being offended, but the over-reaction to what happened in a testosterone fuelled environment is disproportional to what has been happening on footy fields for decades. It should have been left on the field and we wouldn't be discussing it.

Oh dear...

Guest The Tweed Pig
Posted

Oh dear...

Compelling dissection.

Well done you.

Posted

The best men are those that don't lose their moral compass when the heat's on and they're under stress. McGinnity just showed how morally weak he is.

Remarks like that might have been happening for over a century, but that doesn't mean they have to keep happening. We are not in the year 1911. The AFL has a policy on respect for women, and McGinnity clearly breached it.

Posted

Compelling dissection.

Well done you.

I think my brief comment regarding your post was a very accurate dissection of the idiotic words you displayed. You, like McGinnity, obviously have complete disrespect for women. He can atleast use the "heat of the battle" arguement, what's your excuse?

To say that you are going to rape a female, regardless of the reasoning for it (ie. to have you opponent lose concentration, or if you consider it as a "joke"), is a very serious accusation to make. Sure, none of us on here would beleive he would do such a thing, but it's not the point.

If I walked past a guy and he commented on how much he'd like to sleep with my wife, I'd probably laugh and take it as a compliment. If he said that he'd like to rape her, I'd give him a severe hiding.

Posted

The biggest problem with my thinking that this is an overreaction is that I'll be lumped with neanderthals like Mal Brown. It was why I very nearly didn't post, but I'm always prepared to offer my view even if I know that it's well against the tide of opinion.

I think you should go back to being Hannabal. You're taking the idea of being a Pig far too literally.

Posted

I'm far more offended by the carbon dioxide tax and those that applaud this lying Govt for inflicting it upon us than what McGinnity said.

Head back over to the General board.

The biggest problem with my thinking that this is an overreaction is that I'll be lumped with neanderthals like Mal Brown. It was why I very nearly didn't post, but I'm always prepared to offer my view even if I know that it's well against the tide of opinion.

So, if one day you had kids (god help us), and your son came in and said "he'd like to rape a female", you'd give him a pat on the back and compliment him for saying it? I know if any of my family or friends heard me say that, they would be sickened, and I can assure you, we aren't prudes!

Posted

I wish we could trade some of OUR feral supporters to Collingwood. All those who pulled out all the normal PC gone made, nanny state remarks without knowing the full story. Digusting posts. It was obvious that this wasn't a normal mum jibe. No footballer would react in such a way to a fat/ugly mumma joke.A truly "soft' society is one that doesn't stand up to idiots like McGinnity and Sherman on the field and the racist comments and rapist chants from the crowds.

Very well said S_T.

Him: "I'm gonna rape your Mum"Me: "Half our team got the clap from your girlfriend"We then have a beer after the game.Juvenile and silly comments have been happening on the field for over a century. Did anyone take McGinnity's comments seriously ? Of course not. I can understand some being offended, but the over-reaction to what happened in a testosterone fuelled environment is disproportional to what has been happening on footy fields for decades. It should have been left on the field and we wouldn't be discussing it.

Mate, I had a girlfriend years ago who had been abused as a child. It is never a joke that is ok under any circumstances. One day a bloke I knew made a joke about raping someone and she lost her cool. She cried and shook and yelled and cried some more. It is scumbags like you who think these things are ok who contribute to these things not disappearing out of our society. Well done Ricky for keeping your cool, cause I woud've decked the [censored], and he would've deserved it.

Guest The Tweed Pig
Posted

So, if one day you had kids (god help us), and your son came in and said "he'd like to rape a female", you'd give him a pat on the back and compliment him for saying it? I know if any of my family or friends heard me say that, they would be sickened, and I can assure you, we aren't prudes!

Oh dear. Grab a dictionary and look up the word "context".

Players giving snide remarks out on the field is far different to your analogies down at the Sunday market. The Collingwood crowd chanting that Milne is a rapist is vile and far different to remarks made by players out on the field. What was said on the field should have been left there.

Racist remarks on the field are also disgraceful, but a juvenile remark by one player about another player's Mother has been happening for time immemorial. It was clearly a comment that wasn't to be taken seriously. How could you ? The posturing of you and others is a complete over-reaction.

Guest The Tweed Pig
Posted

Mate, I had a girlfriend years ago who had been abused as a child. It is never a joke that is ok under any circumstances. One day a bloke I knew made a joke about raping someone and she lost her cool. She cried and shook and yelled and cried some more. It is scumbags like you who think these things are ok who contribute to these things not disappearing out of our society. Well done Ricky for keeping your cool, cause I woud've decked the [censored], and he would've deserved it.

You're as childish as McGinnity. How you can draw an analogy to what was said out on a footy field to what was said in front of your abused girlfriend is beyond me.

McGinnity was a d/head for what he said. It should have been left on the field.

Posted

Mate I've played footy my whole life and I can tell you, saying you want to rape someone’s mum is not acceptable at a Clayton vs Noble Park game never mind in the AFL where there are highly paid professional athletes competing.

Posted

You're as childish as McGinnity. How you can draw an analogy to what was said out on a footy field to what was said in front of your abused girlfriend is beyond me.

It shouldn't have been said, it got to a person of authority, and at that stage it was inevitable that he would get the suspension and fine.

If a person can claim they will rape someone's mum in the heat of the moment I guess one can also be forgiven for answering a question from the umpire truthfully in the heat of the moment...

Posted

Who would benefit by leaving this incident on the field? No one.

Who benefits by getting this stuff out in the public forum? Everyone.

Posted

It is quite elementary mate, and how YOU can't get it is beyond me. There is no place in society for these sorts of things whatsoever. End of story. How on earth does it happen that a footy field means people can go and forget about basic, common decency? And your argument that it has been going on for time immemorial holds no water either. Twenty years ago there used to be all in brawls on the field, guys getting knocked out and racist remarks being directed at indigenous players on the regular. Rightly these things have been essentially rubbed out. They still happen from time to time, but when they do they cause similar outrage in the community. I suppose you thought that nothing should have happened to Hall for knocking out Staker? Or that nothing should have happened to Sherman for his bigoted comments?

Posted

Oh dear. Grab a dictionary and look up the word "context".

Players giving snide remarks out on the field is far different to your analogies down at the Sunday market. The Collingwood crowd chanting that Milne is a rapist is vile and far different to remarks made by players out on the field. What was said on the field should have been left there.

Racist remarks on the field are also disgraceful, but a juvenile remark by one player about another player's Mother has been happening for time immemorial. It was clearly a comment that wasn't to be taken seriously. How could you ? The posturing of you and others is a complete over-reaction.

How are the comments made by supporters to Milne far different? Some would argue that they say things in the heat of the moment too.

There is a line what you should and shouldn't say, and sadly, you don't know where it is. I've played and been associated in football for decades, and a comment like that is totally inappropriate.

But, as you rightly point out, the comments were juvenile, which probably explains why you accept them.

Guest The Tweed Pig
Posted

But, as you rightly point out, the comments were juvenile, which probably explains why you accept them.

Where have I said that I accept his comments ? Where have I said that they were in any way appropriate ?

My premise is that there's been a massive over-reaction by many to a quip that clearly had no intent.

And there's a massive difference to what happened to Milne. Milne was publicly vilified. Hundreds of people at the ground could hear the chant. Could it be heard on tv ? It's very different to a comment made by one player to another out on the field.

Also, the comments directed at Milne involve a case that was publicly investigated by police, as opposed to McGinnity's fiction which wasn't in the public domain. You seem to have trouble deciphering very differing circumstances.

Guest The Tweed Pig
Posted

I suppose you thought that nothing should have happened to Hall for knocking out Staker? Or that nothing should have happened to Sherman for his bigoted comments?

"I suppose you thought that nothing should have happened to Hall for knocking out Staker?"

How do you draw that conclusion ?

"Or that nothing should have happened to Sherman for his bigoted comments?"

Do you think it strengthens your argument to insinuate unsubstantiated falsehoods ?

Posted

Racist remarks on the field are also disgraceful, but a juvenile remark by one player about another player's Mother has been happening for time immemorial. It was clearly a comment that wasn't to be taken seriously.

Well, I just want to know whether there's a limit. Leaving aside racism, can you say the most disgusting, demeaning and filthy remark on the field and, according to your 'time-honoured' position, get away with anything? A. because it ought to 'stay on the field' regardless of how hurtful and B. because it's never meant to be 'serious' regardless of how disgusting?

Did McGinnity's remark cross the boundary? If so, how far?

Posted

"I suppose you thought that nothing should have happened to Hall for knocking out Staker?"

"Or that nothing should have happened to Sherman for his bigoted comments?"

Do you think it strengthens your argument to insinuate unsubstantiated falsehoods ?

Well shouldn't it have been left on the field?? That seems to be the general theme coming from you.

I am not insinuating anything. I am trying to understand your view, and try as hard as I might, I can't. If you feel that these things should be left on the field, then I think it is fair to assume that it must be what you think of the other incidents I mentioned.

Guest The Tweed Pig
Posted (edited)

Well shouldn't it have been left on the field?? That seems to be the general theme coming from you.

I am not insinuating anything. I am trying to understand your view, and try as hard as I might, I can't. If you feel that these things should be left on the field, then I think it is fair to assume that it must be what you think of the other incidents I mentioned.

I see a big difference between violence on the footy field and a moronic comment without intent. If Petterd thought the statement was remotely a possibility it would be a different scenario. Do you think he did ?

You not being able to comprehend a distinction between violence and moronic comments is truly stunning.

Edited by The Tweed Pig
Guest The Tweed Pig
Posted (edited)

Well, I just want to know whether there's a limit. Leaving aside racism, can you say the most disgusting, demeaning and filthy remark on the field and, according to your 'time-honoured' position, get away with anything? A. because it ought to 'stay on the field' regardless of how hurtful and B. because it's never meant to be 'serious' regardless of how disgusting?

Did McGinnity's remark cross the boundary? If so, how far?

I don't believe that there's a real problem out on the field, do you ? McGinnity's comment strikes me as pretty isolated. I would have brushed it off, but it seems many of you would be so offended you'd be beside yourself. Clearly there's no intent, so it wouldn't bother me.

I suppose there are lines to be drawn and the outcry by those offended suggests that I'm wrong and you're probably right. If enough people are offended, which they clearly are, then I have to respect the majority point of view. But as I said, I don't believe it's much of an issue in footy.

Edited by The Tweed Pig
Posted

It sttil lconfounds me how many dont see the intent of the incident. Since this game , or any game was invented there is as much a mind wrestle as a physical one. From the simplistic utterance of a 7 yo of "Chewy on ya boot" to more offensive and descriptive commetnts the sole desire of the instigator is to get inside the listeners head and put him off his task..

Its called Sledging.

Is the suggestion as uttered by the Weagle meant as a serious threat? Of course not. . Is it clever, is it appropriate, is it disgusting ?

The PC brigade are of course up in arms. How dare anyone vilify a woman. The right or wrong of vilification are all but irrelevant in this instance as that was purely not the intent, nor was it directed to the mother. Was it moronic of McGinnity ? probably. Was it effective ? Doesnt look like it.

Thats probably where it ought to be left.

Posted

I have a genuine question for you all:

What is the difference between:

(a) McGinnity telling Petterd he will rape Petterd's mother; and

(B) Petterd telling McGinnity he (Petterd) will go to Perth and kill McGinnity?

If I was Petterd I would definitely want to get a bit of pay back somehow out there on the field, but I would initially probably just laugh at him for being the fool that he is.

Petterd just looks like a little kid who can't control his temper. If I was an Eagles player I'd be taunting Petterd for being effected by what McGinnity said - you know you've put him off his game and that he is a bit of a sook.

Back to my initial point... If the Eagles player is charged or suspended, then so should the Melbourne player. In case I'm not being clear, I think neither player has a case to answer. They called each other names. Have you guys ever been on a football field before?

Posted

The PC brigade. The nanny state.

Jeez...

Basic argument - I am ok with sledging, but at some point sledging has to have boundaries.

Race is one. It wasn't many years ago.

And I think that claiming to rape someone should also be over that boundary. We have women goal umpires, there is a woman referee in the NBA, in the AFL league I play in the ACT - we have women field umpires (one less this year after a member of my team said a word to her that men shouldn't say to women...).

I don't think it is onerous on our oh-so-important sledging culture to have some boundaries imposed on it.