How we beat the Kangas

Dinosaur Rover

The Kangas are a team we should be able to beat playing like Saturday night - which should be our standard.

They boast some mercurial players (Wells, Harvey) some decent talls (Hale, McIntosh) some strong bodies in and under players (Firrito, Swallow I guess, Rawlings) and some emerging or emerged talent (Anthony, Bastinac, Cunnington).

I think we should match up very well in the midfield although a back up for Jamar is called for I think with the Northerns playing 3 talls (if you inc Hale) against the undermanned Hawk rucks. Aside from Hale and maybe Anthony I dont have nightmares about their forward line. Hale at 201cm is that a job for Warnock / Frawley or do we have a specialist mind him?

I respect the combination of Rawlings, Firrito in defense and dont know much about the rest.

I think our forward line might have height size disadvantages but speed agility advantages and who cares really if the midfeild can perform like sat night.

I havent seen them play and dont know what style of game they play.

What do you think?

There's no reason we can't beat them if we play like we have. For some reason they have just had the wood on us lately.

I'm expecting a tough encounter. I think we can disregard the last time the sides met. Alot has changed since then.

Just wish it was at the "G"...

There's no reason we can't beat them if we play like we have. For some reason they have just had the wood on us lately.

Prior to 3 weeks ago what team didn't have the wood on us lately?

Stef is capable backup for Jamar against the Roos.

Edited by Dee*ceiving

Warnock will take Hale I think. Frawley will get Aaron Edwards (and should smash him if recent form is anything to go by).

Dunn may well get asked to run with Harvey, which would be a mistake as he's never once done that job well. Maybe McKenzie or McDonald will go to him.

Bartram likely to go with Wells, who is finally showing some consistent form.

North's forward line is average, save for Hale, who can at least use his height and take contested grabs, and their ruckman can occasionally damage up forward. I reckon our defence should have them covered.

There are two things we need to focus on if we want to win this one:

1. Boomer. NO not the fireproof dog, but Boomer Harvey. If you stop him you stop their midfield. The rest of them are fair players but without him they are lacking direction, leadership and spark.

2. The Ruck/Forward. The last few times we have played we have been torn apart by their ability to send their rucks into the forward line and have them kick big bags. We absolutely must be able to man up on that extra tall forward and shut him down.

If we can stick to our guns regarding our own style of play and do these two things then we will win.

I would like to see Dunn tag Wells.

Wells can be a damaging player when left to his own devices, but rarely likes it when he is clamped down on. He has been used off the half back line a bit more, which would suit as we could use Dunn as target going the other way, and really try to exploit Wells defensive capabilities.

If we play to the capabilities we have shown in the last 4 weeks North will not come close.

I don't think this team will go "Cold" Our young guns will not stand for it.

I hope a decent number of MFC supporters get to Etihad-The noise made last saturday was huge.

We are a passionate lot-& we must expect a 100% effort from the team. We know how they can play.

We have to play Martin and be willing to throw him down back if one of their rucks starts to rip the game apart.

I'd have McKenzie on Harvey. Great learning experience plus I'd love to see Jordie nail that diving princess into the turf a few times. Dunn is not quick enough for Harvey, and for that reason I would contemplate dropping him for this week, although it would be harsh given his recent form (and his stellar job on Brennan on Saturday).

As long as we maintain our tackling pressure and win our fair share of the ball in the middle, I'm confident we can win. Our defense should hold up well against theirs, so even if they shut the game down, we could still prevail.

The smaller ground will probably suit our small mobile forwardline.

A very good test for us this week.

Warnock will take Hale I think. Frawley will get Aaron Edwards (and should smash him if recent form is anything to go by).

Dunn may well get asked to run with Harvey, which would be a mistake as he's never once done that job well. Maybe McKenzie or McDonald will go to him.

Bartram likely to go with Wells, who is finally showing some consistent form.

North's forward line is average, save for Hale, who can at least use his height and take contested grabs, and their ruckman can occasionally damage up forward. I reckon our defence should have them covered.

Warnock on Hale

Frawley on Goldstein

Garland on Edwards

Grimes on Wells

Harvey - Bartram when he is forward and Dunn when he is in the middle.

If I remmember last year correctly, Hamish Macintosh kicked a few goals when he went forward.We will probably need to help out in defense to cut him out due to his size. Rivers could come in to play this role. Not sure who to drop though. They also have a coupe of midfielders that are ok, besides Harvey. I think if we keep up our tackle rate and pressure, we should be much stronger in the clearances to do enough to win. Hopefully Pettard is ok to play.

NO..we have to learn to win away from Home...Bring on some enemy Territory.

Toughen the Boys up even more.

Exactly! All part of the learning curve.

I know I shouldn't, but I've been looking at the Kangas bigfooty forum, (do they have one of their own) and my oh my what a bunch of flogs.

Do they realise they beat the most overrated team this century last round with no ruckman at all?

Do they realise we have some form?

I threw up a little in my mouth.

Can we PLEASE show the pressure and intensity of the last three weeks and win, and if we have to have a letdown please make against the bullies.

I detest, detest, detest North Melbourne

Admittedly we lost to that overrated mob in round 1. Comfortably.

We are a very young team. We are playing some good footy at the moment but the only consistent thing with young teams is inconsistency. I am enjoying this at the moment, but with all these kids you just don't know what's going to happen.

I haven't gone into any game this year with any expectation one way or another. We could play really well and beat them by 10 goals, or we could play horribly and get belted by 10 goals, or anything in between.

I'm about as confident winning this game as I was before the Collingwood game.

For some reason, we always bring out the best in North Melbourne, and they bring out the worst in us. How the hell can a mediocre ruckman in Todd Goldstein kick 5 goals against us in a game?? How the hell can North go on a 9 game losing streak and then beat us by 10 goals late last year.

They have made us look inept since 2007 and have been even harder to beat than Geelong. Would really like to see the trend change on Saturday and I'm interested to see how we perform away from the G.

I think we might have a slip up this week. I believe recent history is always a good form guide in predicting a winner. We have no form against North and we have no form away from the MCG

Edited by Bring-Back-Powell

For some reason, we always bring out the best in North Melbourne, and they bring out the worst in us. How the hell can a mediocre ruckman in Todd Goldstein kick 5 goals against us in a game?? How the hell can North go on a 9 game losing streak and then beat us by 10 goals late last year.

They have made us look inept since 2007 and have been even harder to beat than Geelong. Would really like to see the trend change on Saturday and I'm interested to see how we perform away from the G.

I think we might have a slip up this week. I believe recent history is always a good form guide in predicting a winner. We have no form against North and we have no form away from the MCG

You have been away too long.

MFC 2007 to 2009 brought out the best in most teams. North during that period have had respectable and highly competitive teams so its no doubt that they and other teams have had the wood on us. And your efforts to build North as the bogey team for MFC just lacks any basis.

Last week there were 4 upsets in the AFL and outside the bottom 2, the competition is indeed even. And the lack of "form" should have damned us against Crows Tigers and Lions. I think that would be more telling. It should be a competitive contest but with a young team .....anything could easily happen.

there is always a first time. A lot of our young guns have no history about this. there is no limit on their thinking and expectations and experience against NM. I think man for man we are superior to them and should win. We have in the past played well at the Dome there is no reason we shouln't again. NM are mid list at best....

If I remmember last year correctly, Hamish Macintosh kicked a few goals when he went forward.We will probably need to help out in defense to cut him out due to his size. Rivers could come in to play this role. Not sure who to drop though. They also have a coupe of midfielders that are ok, besides Harvey. I think if we keep up our tackle rate and pressure, we should be much stronger in the clearances to do enough to win. Hopefully Pettard is ok to play.

I am trying to banish the game from my memory; so thanks for that, NOT.

Now that I think about it, was it not Goldstein that went forward and kicked a few?

I think against Adelaide and Brisbane the conditions were not ideal for the type of run and carry game the midfield plan calls for. Etihad stadium should see optimum conditions. A smaller ground will suit the more mobile team I think which is us. Martin will be an option down back, forward and as a ruck change so I think he will get the game. Rivers form is compelling and there is the temptation to leave either Dunne or Bennell out. I think we are overweight in defensive talent and I would prefer to reward a victory with "no changes to its Brisbane line up" - I have reservations about Dunne - particularly his disposal but he did a team job on Saturday and I like him as a marking option in the forward line.