Posted

Wow. I knew nothing about this Jurrah, but now I'm a fan. And our group of indigenous players expands once more. Jurrah, Bennell, Jetta, Davey, Wonaeamirri, Whelan (did I miss anyone?). We should be playing in the Dreamtime at the G match, not Richmond.

• Replies 126

Posted

This kid could be the biggest steal of the draft, and as for taking mature players in the psd, I'd much prefer going down our path. Jurrah looks bloody exciting!!

Posted
Wow. I knew nothing about this Jurrah, but now I'm a fan. And our group of indigenous players expands once more. Jurrah, Bennell, Jetta, Davey, Wonaeamirri, Whelan (did I miss anyone?). We should be playing in the Dreamtime at the G match, not Richmond.

Maric

Posted

could not be happier with our selection of jurrah. really wanted us to select him in the PSD so he can play next year so now that we have i'm stoked. also wanted sibosado in the RD but i guess they would be fighting for the same position in the team. so i am not so upset in the selection of mckenzie. He does actually look like he could realistically find a spot in our back line as he looks to be a good decision maker under pressure. We all know the sort of pressure our backline was under this year so i am really happy with our selections in these drafts today. on the surface, well done BP, but i guess time will tell aye.

Posted
I am really enjoying reading the various threads on the PSD. Some of you guys clearly have done your reasearch and I believe there is even more to look forward to for the MFC in 2009.

But, while reading these threads, I am also listening to SEN. You would reckon that Ben Cousins was the biggest story of the year.

Fact is, despite his pedigree, playing record, and ability, he is over 30, has not played for 12 months or more and the Tiges might just have missed out on a young gun.

If he stuffs up again - and I hope he doesn't - the cost of that downsize will be huge for the Toigs.

I just wish SEN would talk about the others in the draft. There was a draft today, wasn't there? Or was it Ben Cousin's news day only.

Give me a break.

I'm just happy that it sounds like there not talking Pies.

If it's all about Ben then good, it means our boys can fly under the radar, & deevelope quietly.

Posted
Whilst I know we don't like comparisons some times, I wonder if Jurrah will stand next to Nik Nat in the next couple of years when we play West Coast?

He will be good competion to Newton, putting some pressure on the Newt, but also if they play in the same team will devide the defence.

Posted
No.

Just because he's a small forward doesn't mean he's aboriginal.

:mellow:

This whole year, I've thought he was part Aborginal. I don't know who or what gave me that idea.

But if I type any more, I'll be caught in some David Brent esq entanglement.

Posted

we need to get this futer demon star in a melbourne jumper and circulate a photo. Hate seeing him in the kangaroos training gear. doesn't suit him

Posted

I saw a quick 15 second grab of him playing for the Nightcliff Tigers kicking some goals on the local (Darwin) news tonight.

Looks quite good, moves well and looks very balanced. Given I only saw 15 seconds thats prob all I can say but I am kind of excited.

Posted

A few people have mentioned that it's interesting that weve built up a long list of aboriginal players in recent drafts, with three more this draft.

Even more significant that a lot are from truly remote areas.

Bennell, Jetta and Jurrah are all in the habit of long trips for games, so they wont be whinging about Casey been 'way out'!

Side note - Like Wonaeamirri last year, a couple of comments about them being very quiet guys - really nice, friendly, but hardly saying a word.

This is a strong cultural thing, because deference and respect is complex and important in a lot of traditional aboriginal communities so they don't talk much when they are around strangers who they don't know what the appropriate relationship is - you should try doing social research in the top end! - but it settles quickly once people have a good idea of where they stand with people.

It is also a very good reason to have a good number of aboriginal players on your list, rather than isolating them one or two at a time.

Given that the group we've got - Whelan, Davey, Wonaeamirri, Jetta, Bennell, Jurrah - all seem to be pretty good prospects, this could be another factor in building the tight-knit group we're trying to build.

Posted
:mellow:

This whole year, I've thought he was part Aborginal. I don't know who or what gave me that idea.

But if I type any more, I'll be caught in some David Brent esq entanglement.

I think his family is polish or serbian... something like that. Maybe croatian? can't remember, but he's definitely not indigenous.

Posted

Quite an interesting article by Martin Flanagan mentioning Liam Jurrah from last year:

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/magp...6857513262.html

The three young men I met all play for Yuendumu. Liam Jurrah, 18, is their gun forward. Former Collingwood player Rupert Betheras said in this column a few weeks ago that the next frontier for the AFL was the desert, where players such as Liam are about 190 centimetres, and, in Betheras' words, run like Adam Goodes.

Liam didn't say much to me, but I liked his style. He has that unspoken confidence of young men who know they are good at something. Would he like to play AFL? I asked. Yes, he said, with a nod of the head. Lewin was surprised. The desert men find Melbourne hard to cope with. Too cold, too many buildings, can't see the sky.

Sounds like a lot more of a shock to the system than most people realise (as mentioned by Timmuns & the fork previously on this thread).

Lets hope he can make the jump successfully, but don't expect too much too soon.

Posted
so they don't talk much when they are around strangers who they don't know what the appropriate relationship is - you should try doing social research in the top end! - but it settles quickly once people have a good idea of where they stand with people.

That could apply to anyone. Its not unique to indigenious communities

It is also a very good reason to have a good number of aboriginal players on your list, rather than isolating them one or two at a time.

I doubt it. Maybe the players were chosen for their individual football ability foremost.

Posted

Im wrapped we got this bloke!!!

i just hope he doesnt go home!!

i hear he is capable of this!!

gee i hope not coz he looks a ripper!!!

Posted

Jurrah might like the open spaces of Casey during summer training, which might help him settle a little better. Lets not forget he has been down to the big smoke before, so he knows what to expect.

Posted
What a lot of people have to understand is that for people from remote regions of the NT and WA, English can be a fourth or fifth language.

I hope some cross-cultural training is provided for all in this scenario.

It is true that a huge part of the mob from Yuendumu will now follow the Dees, they are football mad in this region, will do my best to recruit a few new members!

Fork you from up that way? 4th or 5th language is astounding! I would have thought 2nd or 3rd at most.

Great to hear some new supporters coming onboard, especially over the filth. Maybe a few of the heartland memberships can end up in the hands of some of the little fellas now hopefully following Jurrah and the dees along with a few jumpers or twenty!

Posted
Apparently on "the Radio" this morning Jurrah has been marked as very likely to play Snr Footy in 09.

Who was the source of this comment from the radio Monty?

Posted

according to reports he went home last yr in the middle of the season declaring a close friend was unwell..... AFL clubs looked into this and some were lead to believe this was not true. hope he sticks around... he certainly has some good people around him davey,whelan, aussie etc and he could be a real talent!!