Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

Round 12 Non-MFC

1 hour ago, ProperDee said:

He should be ashamed of himself. Pathetic attitude and not a leaders a.hole.  Wouldn't have him at my club for free. 

The measure of anyone, particularly "leaders" is how they respond to adversity. Lynch needs to inspire his team mates by displaying strength of character and leading by example. He should be coming from the field totally spent from running, chasing, contesting and tackling regardless of the scoreboard. Instead he seems to be thinking of next years bank balance. 

Poor form Tom Lynch.

Maybe he is hoping they won’t be that upset if he leaves after a poor year,  combined with a good AFL engineered compensation package. 

If GC matches any offer,  he has to be traded or go to the draft. That could force a super deal for GC, where they get multiple players and good picks. 

GC could win out of this if they are smart. It  of course remains to be seen if they can.

Edited by Redleg

11 minutes ago, Whispering_Jack said:

They still have some thoughtful posters who won’t allow themselves to be overwhelmed by the desperation of the moment. Like this post from We’re on Track

“I think we're on track.

Not the same track that the club spruiked in regards to 'top 4 by 2018' etc. etc., but on track in terms of improving naturally.

People have made two mistakes:

1) Believing the club's blueprint for success

2) Comparing our development to Melbourne's

Melbourne started building back in about 2010. They have added steadily since, and have only come good now. We didn't really get going with our rebuild until 2013. 

To be any good, you need good old guys, really good middle age guys, and some good kids. Putting it simply.

In my opinion, we can't expect to be any good, until the Stevens, Ross', Bruces, Carlisles, Hickeys, etc are our old guys. We have such a void in the 'good old guys' space that it renders us useless. We had Dempster, Gilbert, Roo and Joey - now we don't. When we had those guys, we had a huge void in the 'really good middle age guys' space, and no good kids at all.

The way we're building, in 2-3 years these guys will be an outstanding senior core - and Billings, Gresham, Acres, Dunstan, Long, Steele, Marshall, Webster, Goddard, McCartin and co. will be a really good core of middle aged dudes. Coffield, Hunter-Clark and anyone drafted since then (including a top 3 pick this year) will be a really good crop of youngsters.

We will be a very good side in 2 years. Forget this year, we're playing like a team with no good senior players and heaps of injuries. Which guess what? We are.

Next year we will improve, and the year after we'll be really good.

If we can add a ready made player or two on top of this, we will be a very, very good team in 2 years. Bookmark it!”

Hopefully, we at Melbourne have nothing but blue skies ahead but if not, the above is a better attitude to have than the naysayers who want the coach, players and committee sacked, hung, drawn and quartered immediately. 

It’s a blue sky junkie post, but the poster is spot on about the state of their list. For all we carp on about coaching, game plans and so on, I reckon the vast majority of team form is just down to the quality of the players at your disposal and keeping your best players available.

He perpetuated the myth about the length of our rebuild, though. This rebuild started in 2013 when Paul Roos came on board. There are basically no players left from the ill fated 2008-2010 and 2011-2012 rebuilds. It’s been three rebuilds, not one long one. It’s an important distinction because the follow-on from “one long rebuild” is “heaps of early picks”, when our current team isn’t chock full of early picks. Clarry, Brayshaw, Trac and Salem are the only top 10 picks regularly in our side, the rest of the team has been built through shrewd trading and use of draft selections all throughout the drafts.

1 hour ago, Whispering_Jack said:

Melbourne started building back in about 2010.

He's wrong about our build starting in 2010.

Most would agree it's from the 2013 draft/trade period.  I could potentially agree with 2012, which is when we secured Viney and Hogan.

34 minutes ago, ProDee said:

He's wrong about our build starting in 2010.

Most would agree it's from the 2013 draft/trade period.  I could potentially agree with 2012, which is when we secured Viney and Hogan.

Agree with what Nasher and you about the content of what was quoted but I’m more concerned about the attitude which is far more fair and realistic than the run of the mill supporters who are ready to jump out of buildings as soon as something goes wrong.

2 hours ago, Whispering_Jack said:

They still have some thoughtful posters who won’t allow themselves to be overwhelmed by the desperation of the moment. Like this post from We’re on Track

“I think we're on track.

Not the same track that the club spruiked in regards to 'top 4 by 2018' etc. etc., but on track in terms of improving naturally.

Melbourne started building back in about 2010. They have added steadily since, and have only come good now. We didn't really get going with our rebuild until 2013. 

To be any good, you need good old guys, really good middle age guys, and some good kids. Putting it simply.

In my opinion, we can't expect to be any good, until the Stevens, Ross', Bruces, Carlisles, Hickeys, etc are our old guys. We have such a void in the 'good old guys' space that it renders us useless. We had Dempster, Gilbert, Roo and Joey - now we don't. When we had those guys, we had a huge void in the 'really good middle age guys' space, and no good kids at all.

The way we're building, in 2-3 years these guys will be an outstanding senior core - and Billings, Gresham, Acres, Dunstan, Long, Steele, Marshall, Webster, Goddard, McCartin and co. will be a really good core of middle aged dudes. Coffield, Hunter-Clark and anyone drafted since then (including a top 3 pick this year) will be a really good crop of youngsters.

We will be a very good side in 2 years. Forget this year, we're playing like a team with no good senior players and heaps of injuries. Which guess what? We are.

Next year we will improve, and the year after we'll be really good.

If we can add a ready made player or two on top of this, we will be a very, very good team in 2 years. Bookmark it!”

Hopefully, we at Melbourne have nothing but blue skies ahead but if not, the above is a better attitude to have than the naysayers who want the coach, players and committee sacked, hung, drawn and quartered immediately. 

Yeah, except our list rebuild started at the end of 2013 and anyone with a half switched on brain could see that St Kilda were being carried by their older players week in, week out and their younger players weren't developing.

They're in for pain for a lot longer than just this year or next. Their list build has been ordinary and they've gone after non combative half forwards, instead of midfield bulls like we have.

1 hour ago, Redleg said:

Hard to argue that List management/Recruiting isn’t the most important part of an AFL club.

In tandem with good development and a good culture. If players aren't coached properly, they don't win games every week and they certainly don't win the ultimate prize. 

Humanity has a real issue with viewing everything as black and white (I am still guilty of this, but am trying to change). It is never that simple. 

50 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

What’s the vibe back in Melbourne ?

is Richo finished as coach or is the inevitable postponed for a few weeks?

The president has said Richo has the boards' full support.

Usually means the decision has already been made and they are planning the execution.

Edited by jackaub

4 minutes ago, jackaub said:

Usually means the decision has already been made and they are planning the execution.

Everyone know that in order to stab someone in the back you first have to get behind them.

1 minute ago, sue said:

Everyone know that in order to stab someone in the back you first have to get behind them.

Very good Sue Hahahaahaha

I always wondered.

1 hour ago, Sir Why You Little said:

What’s the vibe back in Melbourne ?

is Richo finished as coach or is the inevitable postponed for a few weeks?

Geez, 360 could be awkward on Mondays for the rest of the year.

• Shocked 2

What did people make of the Hodge heppell collision? A player goes off concussed and people go on a rage about it. All I saw was hodge go for the ball keep running and Heppell was exposed. I never saw Hodge deliberately raise an elbow or set to knock him out. Just one of those footy incidents. 

Touched goal, called touch by the ump, gets overturned as a goal.

I’m in favour of using technology to improve accuracy of decisions, but for things like this it’s just introducing a new way for a human to cock it up. Shelve the score review until it’s at a point where it can operate completely autonomously, or limit its scope to “which side of the post was that” type decision. These types of overturns is making the game worse to watch.

Funny enough essendon winning doesn't bother me as much. Yes I enjoy them losing and do not want them to make the 8 but they won and im not bothered. I think it's because we are going so well at the moment.

Hope freo can beat the crows. Would put Lyon in a happy mood for the slide tomorrow. 

1 hour ago, jackaub said:

That’s what i thought

Tuesday could be the day...

40 minutes ago, Nasher said:

Touched goal, called touch by the ump, gets overturned as a goal.

I’m in favour of using technology to improve accuracy of decisions, but for things like this it’s just introducing a new way for a human to [censored] it up. Shelve the score review until it’s at a point where it can operate completely autonomously, or limit its scope to “which side of the post was that” type decision. These types of overturns is making the game worse to watch.

Agree that this is grossly overused.

Some of these ???touched endlessly looking at the fingers and so often inconclusive.