Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

Match Preview and Team Selection - Round 9

2 hours ago, Wiseblood said:

I picked him this week only because I thought they would want him to play second ruck and free up T Mac as they've been doing in previous weeks.  Happy for 'Bull' Smith to get his reward for great form at Casey.

@Drunkn167 and @Rusty Nails, I stand corrected re: selection.  Very happy for Smith to get a run and hopefully he can add to our flexible forward line in a positive manner when T Mac gives Gawn a chop out in the ruck!

I just hope the forward line doesn't get too crowded Wise as Bull is more of a lead up forward and too many bodies in front (in particular Big Maxy lol) will block his normal running lanes plus the Blues are known to flood a fair bit!  Anyways i really have no idea but we'll find out soon enough if the FD / line coaches (and forwards!) have all the t's crossed and it all clicks.

Your view on T-Mac not being risked in the ruck is still valid IMO in particular in the middle.  I reckon they won't risk him in any significant ruck role there either after the recent return from such a long lay off.   Might see him in a few forward 50 cameos at throw ins, where bodies are generally not cracking in "front on" though and just body on body.  No third man up is a big help in reducing injury risk here also.

Thinking Bull takes the relief duties in the middle.

1 hour ago, John Demonic said:

Called the tim smith over pedo selection after last weeks game. why? because we should be hedging our bets on developing two key forwards in the seniors. so both he and weid will cover for each other, in event of injury or in the hopefully unlikely event of losing one of them to another club should a big offer be made. We're also creating trade value that could net us something we need somewhere else should one player seek opportunity elsewhere because they've been superceded by the other. 

if theyre both developing w senior time they can also become interchangeable with mid/fwd role like Tmac and hoges and perhaps even all get a game in there together. 

Looking forward to seeing Tim Smith get his opportunity and seeing the boys get around him for a first goal.

Sorry JD - He already has kicked his first - last year before he was injured.

Love how we've all got this fetish of playing 3 tall forwards. I bet there's a number of you that only weeks ago were wanting us to mould our forward line on Richmond's.

Truth is, Richmond would love more quality tall forwards, and would play them if they had them.

8 hours ago, Goffer said:

The thing is they seem pretty confident that they’ll beat us across every line of the park. They seem to believe bringing in Murphy will automatically level their midfield with ours. 

It will probably double their free kick total. Murphy is a "high" specialist, and an avid appealer/talker to the Umpires, to and from the ground.

Let's hope their (the umpires') feathers have been ruffled enough by their apparent loss of common sense to make cognisant decisions based on rules, hence The AFL involvement, that they give us a fair go for a change.   

9 hours ago, Deemania since 56 said:

No matter what opponents throw, kick, knee, fall on top, throat punch, elbow, sling, hold, spit, slap and/or threaten with Jesse, he always walks away with a smile and refuses to be stirred up by such antics. His tendency to retaliate has disappeared this year, as well. All good signs to complement his incredible talents onfield and the returns he makes for the MFC. Such a COOL character, now. To my mind, he is ideal Brownlow material if he can lift his team and scoreboard returns for the remainder of this year.

I agree Dmia56, he's become a real Team man. matured and does his bit.  I think he has another level yet.  When he finally hits his zone, he'll tear some team apart.

7 hours ago, The Chazz said:

If both Cam and Tim come in, and both whack someone and get a week, will someone in the "changes" thread write;

Pedders, Bull (Suspension)?

Try the veal...

Nah, think it's, Pedder's no-ble...

Although I’m happy for Smith to be getting another shot I have liked TMac being a forward and not having to worry about chopping out in the ruck. I would’ve been quite happy for Pedders to come in as a second ruck/forward, but the reality is that he coaching staff is trying to move on from him.

Viney back will be huge for the team, I feel like Tyson is unlucky to miss out but a week or two in the VFL might be good for him. 

We have pretty much our best 22 available and I’m not one that buys that AvB is in the best 22 when fit so there are no excuses vs Carlton. 

That said we should be wary of them, they’ve hit us hard early before and had us on the back foot. Let’s be sharp from the beginning. 

Can’t wait to see Viney’a first tackle, hopefully he’ll get a goal or two as well just to really pump up the Demons faithful!

3 hours ago, Drunkn167 said:

This is amazing. Can’t wait to see him playing in a massive win over the Blues at the MCG.

Bull hasn’t kicked a goal the the G (after he got killed by Rance last year) so his first goal everyone better be up and about!

I can't wait til he plays again, against Richmond.

I want to see Rance pushing back with the flight of the ball & bull coming out from the goalsquare. crrrunchy granola.

Basically identical.  

I expect a comfortable victory.  I'm also expecting to hear on the replay "this young Carlton team" with no mention of Melbourne's makeup.

Average Attributes
  Carlton Attribute Melbourne  
187.0cm Height 187.4cm
84.9kg Weight 88.7kg
24yr 11mth Age 24yr 10mth
87.7 Games 87.9

Total Players By Games
  Carlton Games Melbourne  
9 Less than 50 9
7 50 to 99 6
2 100 to 149 4
4 150 or more 3

2 hours ago, Rusty Nails said:

I just hope the forward line doesn't get too crowded Wise as Bull is more of a lead up forward and too many bodies in front (in particular Big Maxy lol) will block his normal running lanes plus the Blues are known to flood a fair bit!  Anyways i really have no idea but we'll find out soon enough if the FD / line coaches (and forwards!) have all the t's crossed and it all clicks.

Your view on T-Mac not being risked in the ruck is still valid IMO in particular in the middle.  I reckon they won't risk him in any significant ruck role there either after the recent return from such a long lay off.   Might see him in a few forward 50 cameos at throw ins, where bodies are generally not cracking in "front on" though and just body on body.  No third man up is a big help in reducing injury risk here also.

Thinking Bull takes the relief duties in the middle.

Tommy could get injured anywhere on the ground. Tommy is a very good second ruck, like another on baller  in the middle. I have no worries with T.Mac as the second ruck.

11 minutes ago, ProDee said:

Basically identical.  

I expect a comfortable victory.  I'm also expecting to hear on the replay "this young Carlton team" with no mention of Melbourne's makeup.

Average Attributes
187.0cm Height 187.4cm
84.9kg Weight 88.7kg
87.7 Games 87.9

Total Players By Games
  Carlton Games Melbourne  
9 Less than 50 9
7 50 to 99 6
2 100 to 149 4
4 150 or more 3

We are not allowed to mention we're young or have an inexperienced list on demonland ProDee.

If you do you're an apologist :P

all players on our list play like 150 game players

33 minutes ago, ProDee said:

Basically identical.  

Average Attributes
187.0cm Height 187.4cm
84.9kg Weight 88.7kg
87.7 Games 87.9

Total Players By Games
  Carlton Games Melbourne  
9 Less than 50 9
7 50 to 99 6
2 100 to 149 4
4 150 or more 3

We are younger yet 4kgs stronger on average. Don't they do weights at Carltank?

Many are expecting TMac to relief ruck. 

But Carlton’s relief ruck is McKay. 3 hit outs last week (McKernan, a perennial spud, got 8).

So why can’t Smith relief ruck? He’s done it before. And it keeps the forward set up the same as the last three weeks, with Smith playing Weid’s role. 

As for Tyson being dropped, a good call both for structure and to tell Tyson to work on his disposals. 

Edited by titan_uranus

7 hours ago, WERRIDEE said:

Tommy could get injured anywhere on the ground. Tommy is a very good second ruck, like another on baller  in the middle. I have no worries with T.Mac as the second ruck.

Not questioning his resting ruck capabilities W.  Just don't think they'll risk him for the ones in the middle of the ground where the opposing ruckman gets to line you up and take a run at his opponent.  Around the ground once the ball leaves that area?  More than likely, especially forward of centre.

Bull to cover off the middle and even a few up forward as required, similar to the Cats last year (sharing this forward  part with Tommy).

When we welcome Tim Smith back to AFL football after an hiatus of more than a full year (he was injured in the Anzac Eve clash against the Tigers in 2017), we’re going to see a fully different player to the one who made his debut in Round 3 last year off the back of Jesse Hogan’s suspension against the Blues. 

Smith has been around for a while, having joined the then Casey Scorpions in 2012 season as a part time footballer. I’m not sure that he was fully motivated at the time but he changed over the years and by 2016, he was made vice-captain and was the club’s leading goal kicker for the season. 

Since he was drafted as a mature age rookie at 25 before the start of last year, he’s suffered his share of injuries but it’s been noticeable to me that he’s been a fitter and far more mobile player than ever before on his return at Casey. In line with the Melbourne set up, he’s not simply a key position forward but he can do things around the ground wherever he’s placed.

As such, he could be a real surprise packet for the club - something right out of left field.

Can i laugh now ??????