Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

2018 Commonwealth Games

MadAsHell

So that time of the 4 year cycle where the Comm Games have come round, and this time we're back in Australia after only 12 years.

I always enjoy watching them, but curious as to others interest?

While I thoughg the opening ceremony was pretty ordinary last night, at least we're now into the competition! Big interest will be around if we can top the medal tally over England? We should do well in the swimming, team events and para events I'd of thought.

But as for some very early updates, looks like Bermuda will take the first gold in the women's triathlon, wales are on the verge of an upset in the womens hockey (2-1 up over the much higher ranked India) and Sally Pearson is likely about to pull out.

Edited by MadAsHell

11 hours ago, MadAsHell said:

So that time of the 4 year cycle where the Comm Games have come round, and this time we're back in Australia after only 12 years.

I always enjoy watching them, but curious as to others interest?

While I thoughg the opening ceremony was pretty ordinary last night, at least we're now into the competition! Big interest will be around if we can top the medal tally over England? We should do well in the swimming, team events and para events I'd of thought.

But as for some very early updates, looks like Bermuda will take the first gold in the women's triathlon, wales are on the verge of an upset in the womens hockey (2-1 up over the much higher ranked India) and Sally Pearson is likely about to pull out.

I'll be tuning in TD but with the US Masters golf on this weekend coupled with the footy and horse racing it's going to be a bit of a juggling act.  The hard-drive will be getting a decent work out!

Apart from all the individual & team events the medal tally will be worth keeping an eye on ... you'd reckon the games being held in Australia will help us but England will be hard to toss what with their extreme levels of funding.  Last time in 2014 it was England 58 Gold versus Australia 49 Gold.  Overall saw England with 174 with Australia gaining a total of 137 medals. 

Ordinarily I'd do a bit of a daily run-down but I might just watch these games as the events fall ... obviously we'd want to do well in the swimming, cycling,  track & field et al but the team events are always keenly contested which can make for exellent viewing (Hockey,  Basketball,  Netball,  Volleyball & Rugby 7's)

Many of the medal events will be on in the evening so that suits ... by contrast the Demons are on this Saturday Arvo whilst next week our game against the Hawks starts at 3.20pm on Sunday which is the exact same time that the last team event at the games is scheduled to finish (Mens Rugby 7's)

Edit: Couple of World records for the Aussies tonight ... first of all in the Cycling Mens 4000m pursuit team and then in the Womens 4 x 100m Freestyle Relay.  World records gives credence to the Commonwealth games so the more the merrier. 

TOP 10 MEDAL TALLY AFTER DAY 1 OF COMPETITION 

1 Australia 5 4 6 15
2 England 5 3 3 11
3 Malaysia 2 0 0 2
4 Canada 1 2 3 6
5 Scotland 1 2 1 4
6 New Zealand 1 2 0 3
7 India 1 1 0 2
8 Bermuda 1 0 0 1
8 South Africa 1 0 0 1

Three gold at the veledrome and two in the pool tonight. Mack Horton and the womens 4x100m freestyle team repeat what they did in Rio 2016, while our first medal was a silver in the mens triathlon. While also of note is two world records that fell, womens 4x100m freestyle team and mens 4x4000m team pursuit team. Brilliant efforts!

In team event updates the Hockeyroos were made to work hard for a 1-0 win over Canada and our Netball team (The Diamonds) did it a bit easier over Northern Ireland 94-26.

Tomorrow we have the debut of beach Volleyball and we'll have the Boomers and Opals start their campaigns along with more medal hopes in swimming, cycling etc.

Now I just have to stomach the Channel 7 commentary.

TOP 10 MEDAL TALLY AFTER DAY 2

1 AUSAustralia 14 9 13 36
2 ENGEngland 9 6 3 18
3 CANCanada 2 4 5 11
4 SCOScotland 2 4 4 10
5 INDIndia 2 1 1 4
6 RSASouth Africa 2 0 1 3
7 MASMalaysia 2 0 0 2
8 NZLNew Zealand 1 3 3 7
9 WALWales 1 2 0 3
10 BERBermuda 1 0 0 1

9 Gold medals tonight with a whopping 6 in the pool, 2 in the velodrome and one in the womens weightlifting. Boomers and Opals both had 50+ point wins to kick off their basketball campaigns as did the Diamonds in their 2nd netball match v Barbados. Beach Volleyball also made its Commonwealth Games debut today with our men and women having comfortable wins, and I must say I really did enjoy watching Artacho Del Solar run and dive around in the sand?. Highlight had to be the trifecta in the womens 100m butterfly however with Emma McKeon (often the bridesmaid) getting some individual glory ahead of Maddie Groves and Brianna Throsell.

Tomorrow there's plenty more gold on offer in the pool and velodrome, while the Kookaburras finally kick off their campaign. Also in action will be the Hockeyroos, Boomers and Artacho Del Solar/Clancy in the womens Beach Volleyball.

The medal tally with the flags @MadAsHell - Brilliant!

Keep up the great work TD ... I'm starting to believe we can win the medals tally.  Home field advantage or whatever it might be - Go Aussies!

TOP 10 MEDAL TALLY AFTER DAY 3

Rank Nation Gold Medal Silver Medal Bronze Medal Total
1 AUSAustralia 20 17 20 57
2 ENGEngland 14 12 6 32
3 CANCanada 5 7 6 18
4 INDIndia 4 1 1 6
5 RSASouth Africa 4 0 3 7
6 SCOScotland 3 6 6 15
7 NZLNew Zealand 3 4 5 12
8 WALWales 2 3 1 6
9 MASMalaysia 2 0 1 3
10 BERBermuda 1 0 0 1

Three more gold in the pool, 2 at the velodrome and 1 in the mixed team triathlon has us looking healthy out on front of the medal tally. Think we've set a platform to top it after what happened in Glasgow 2014.

In team news, both our hockey teams had comfortable wins, the boomers had a tight win over New Zealand while Artacho Del Solar & Clancy took less tgen 30min to get past their opponents from Grenada in the beach volleyball, including winning the first set 21-2 in only 10 minutes!

Tomorrow there's more medal chances in the pool and velodrome while the athletics also kicks off! The Kookaburras and Opals play their 2nd group matches, while our Netball team continue their push for gold, as do Artacho Del Solar & Clancy in my favorite, the beach volleyball!!!

Yes @MadAsHell the scheduling for the team events as far as Australian representation goes has been spaced out nicely ... although it looks like the Women's Beach Volleyball does clash with the Kookaburras game against Scotland tomorrow night (9.30pm)  However,  Channel 7 are making use of the multi channels so at least we've got a choice.

As always,  my main interest lies with the team events,  athletics, swimming & the cycling.  We can expect England to do very well in the track & field events so we'll probably need to go out to a healthy lead to offset England bridging the gap. 

I'm wondering if 55 gold medals is a target figure to win the gold medal count (?) ... you'd reckon that might be enough although 60 gold medals would almost certainly make sure of it.  I'm floating in and out a bit as far as watching the event goes but the coverage seems to be very good. 

Yes Macca, there's always bound to be a few clashes. Kookaburras and beach Volleyball both at 9:30pm while the swimming is running as well as the Diamonds in the Netball whose match starts at 8:30pm.

As for an overal goal, I think 150 medals with approx 55 gold and to top the medals would have to be a realistic target. We had 137 medals with 49 gold in Glasgow while England had 174 medals with 58 gold, so definitely within reach.

Wont get to watch as much today as I have other commitments, but will be looking out for updates.

TOP 10 MEDAL TALLY AFTERDAY 4

1 AUSAustralia 31 25 28 84
2 ENGEngland 19 19 9 47
3 CANCanada 7 15 10 32
4 INDIndia 7 2 3 12
5 SCOScotland 6 7 10 23
6 NZLNew Zealand 4 7 6 17
7 RSASouth Africa 4 1 4 9
8 WALWales 3 4 3 10
9 CYPCyprus 2 0 2 4
10 MASMalaysia 2 0 1 3

As I said, didn't get to watch much yesterday, but we've certainly extended our lead and will hopefully be tough to reign in by England. 

Today we have the heats for the 100m sprint, the Boomers, Opals, Hockeyroos and Diamonds all in action as well as more gold in the pool. Should be another dominant day!

TOP 10 MEDAL TALLY AFTER DAY 5

1 AUSAustralia 39 33 34 106
2 ENGEngland 22 25 16 63
3 INDIndia 10 4 5 19
4 NZLNew Zealand 8 9 6 23
5 RSASouth Africa 8 5 5 18
6 CANCanada 7 17 13 37
7 SCOScotland 6 8 11 25
8 WALWales 6 6 4 16
9 CYPCyprus 4 0 2 6
10 SAMSamoa 2 2 0 4

Well on track for the 55 gold & 150 medals, despite the fact there's only 1 night left in the pool, so we're likely to slow down a little. Having said that, I think we have a big enough break on England to secure top of the tally.

Yesterday we saw 2 gold in the gymnastics, 1 on the athletics track, 1 in the lawn bowls & 4 in the pool. Highlight going 1, 2, 3 in both the mens 200m backstroke & womens 800m freestyle plus Bronte & Cate Campbell going 1, 2 in the womens 100m freestyle.

Today we have our final night of gold available in the pool and more gold on offer on the aths track. Meanwhile our mens & womens Beach Volleyball teams kick off their quarter finals and both the Kookaburras and Hockeyroos continue their campaigns.

Liked the Womens 10,000 last night but the sub text was Bruce hyping everything up and Sebastian Coe calming him down...classic

Example

Bruce ... very important where you are positioned etc etc

Sebastian... being on the inside or outside is about one extra stride every 100 metres... just go where you are comfortable

That does sound like classic Bruce. Nice to hear Coe bringing him back to earth.

Otherwise;

TOP 10 MEDAL TALLY AFTER DAY 6

1 AUSAustralia 50 38 42 130
2 ENGEngland 24 29 21 74
3 INDIndia 11 4 6 21
4 NZLNew Zealand 9 10 7 26
5 RSASouth Africa 9 6 6 21
6 CANCanada 8 21 15 44
7 WALWales 7 8 7 22
8 SCOScotland 6 10 12 28
9 NGRNigeria 4 4 0 8
10 CYPCyprus 4 0 2 6

We're doing it with surprising ease it seems. Finished off our pool meet with several more gold including both the medley relays and made this our most successful games in the pool. 27 gold I think???

Hockeyroos got past Scotland to secure top spot in their group and our Beach Volleyball teams both got through to the semi finals without much issue. I will say I think I'm in love with Artacho Del Solar?! Could watch her dive around the sand all day long.

Anyway, apart from the swimming we also saw gold in the womens para track plus mens and womens cycling time trial. My highlight however came in the womens Beach Volleyball where to pair from Cyprus  (ranked 11 of the 12 teams competing) upset New Zealand (ranked 3rd) by playing same great beach volleyball.

As for tomorrow we have Genevive LaCaze in the wlmens 3000m steeplechase, mens and womens beach volleyball semi finals, start of the diving program, Kookaburras v NZ to see who tops their pool, plus the Diamonds take on Jamaica to see who tops that pool. Another busy day!

TOP 10 MEDAL TALLY AFTER DAY 7

1 AUSAustralia 57 43 45 145
2 ENGEngland 25 30 21 76
3 INDIndia 12 4 8 24
4 RSASouth Africa 10 7 9 26
5 NZLNew Zealand 9 10 8 27
6 CANCanada 8 22 17 47
7 SCOScotland 7 11 14 32
8 WALWales 7 8 8 23
9 CYPCyprus 5 0 2 7
10 NGRNigeria 4 4 0 8

Well already passed my initial goal/prediction of 55 gold with 4 days remaining!

4 gold in the athletic including Mitchell Starc's brother Brandon Starc winning gold in the high jump for Winterfell! Sorry I mean Australia... We also saw gold in the lawn bowls, diving & shooting.

Highlight for me again comes from the Beach Volleyball Court where Artacho Del Solar & Clancy fought out an intense three set win over the plucky Vanuatu team to make the gold medal match tonight against the Canadians who are World Number 1's.

So today both our womens and mens beach volleyball teams go for gold and there's more gold on offer on the aths track and in the diving. The Hockeyroos will also play their semi final against India. Lets hope for a big final 4 days!

Yes @MadAsHell ... our success in these games has been nothing short of phenomenal.  And from my point of view,  largely unexpected.  I've recorded hours & hours of the event but will watch it all sometime in the near future (especially the track & field events)  Playing catch-up on a lot of sport due to heavy work commitments. 

Keep up the great work mate ...your daily summaries along with posting up the medal tallies are much appreciated. 

TOP 10 MEDAL TALLY AFTER DAY 8

1 AUSAustralia 63 47 50 160
2 ENGEngland 29 33 28 90
3 INDIndia 16 8 10 34
4 CANCanada 13 29 19 61
5 RSASouth Africa 11 10 12 33
6 NZLNew Zealand 10 12 10 32
7 CYPCyprus 8 1 3 12
8 SCOScotland 7 13 18 38
9 WALWales 7 9 10 26
10 MASMalaysia 5 5 9 19

Another day gone, another day of gold! Mens pole vault, womens discus, mens beavh volleyball, 2 in the lawn bowls and Melissa Wu in the womens 10m platform  (diving). Meanwhile the Hockeyroos won through to the final of the womens hockey while Artacho Del Solar & Clancy were brave loosing in two tight sets to the World Number 1 Canadians.

Today the Opals and kookaburras have their semi finals, while the womens Rugby 7's kicks off and we'll chase more gold again on the track, diving and on the bowling green.

And to sign off and to touch on your point @Macca it's great to see we've already won more gold then England did at Glasgow 2014 and are only 15 medals away from passing their total medal tally from 2014.

Love those moments, no censors at a time of euphoria! Haha.

TOP 10 MEDAL TALLY CURRENTLY ON DAY 10

1 AUSAustralia 67 50 54 171
2 ENGEngland 33 35 36 104
3 INDIndia 18 11 14 43
4 CANCanada 14 34 26 74
5 RSASouth Africa 13 10 12 35
6 NZLNew Zealand 10 15 12 37
7 SCOScotland 9 13 19 41
8 NGRNigeria 8 5 5 18
9 CYPCyprus 8 1 5 14
10 WALWales 7 10 13 30

Busy day today with more Rugby 7's, cycling Road races, the medals in both mens and womens hockey, mens basketball semi's with womens medal matches plus more gold on offer on the aths track and diving. Could be a lot of medals to come today!

Also of note is that I feel a bit for Canada. A very impressive 74 medals, however only 14 of them gold. Would be quite frustrating for them I'd imagine.

TOP 10 MEDAL TALLY EARLY DAY 11

1 AUSAustralia 76 55 57 188
2 ENGEngland 42 41 42 125
3 INDIndia 25 16 18 59
4 CANCanada 15 39 27 81
5 RSASouth Africa 13 11 13 37
6 NZLNew Zealand 12 16 14 42
7 WALWales 10 12 14 36
8 SCOScotland 9 13 21 43
9 NGRNigeria 9 8 6 23
10 CYPCyprus 8 1 5 14

Plenty more gold yesterday. Three gold in the boxing, Opals got the job done despite Cambage being ejected, both the mens & womens road races, the 10m platform in the diving, Kookaburras in the hockey, as well as the squash and table tennis. Highlight of the day was the finish to the mens basketball semi final NZ v Canada. If you can find it online thdn check it out!

Today we've already picked up gold in the mens and womens para marathons, and we have big hopes in Jess Trengove + Michael Shelley in the able bodied marathons, Diamonds in the Netball,  Boomers in the basketball and our womens Rugby 7's team.

On a side note we've passed England'smedal tally from Glasgow 2014 while they trail ours from the same games. This is also our best Comm Games result since Melbourne 2006 so far. Hopefully the tide may be starting to turn for our results heading into Tokyo 2020 after two previous lackluster Olympics and 2014 Comm Games.

FINAL TALLY OF ALL 43 NATIONS TO MEDAL

1 AUSAustralia 80 59 59 198
2 ENGEngland 45 45 46 136
3 INDIndia 26 20 20 66
4 CANCanada 15 40 27 82
5 NZLNew Zealand 15 16 15 46
6 RSASouth Africa 13 11 13 37
7 WALWales 10 12 14 36
8 SCOScotland 9 13 22 44
9 NGRNigeria 9 9 6 24
10 CYPCyprus 8 1 5 14
11 JAMJamaica 7 9 11 27
12 MASMalaysia 7 5 12 24
13 SGPSingapore 5 2 2 9
14 KENKenya 4 7 6 17
15 UGAUganda 3 1 2 6
16 BOTBotswana 3 1 1 5
17 SAMSamoa 2 3 0 5
18 TTOTrinidad and Tobago 2 1 0 3
19 NAMNamibia 2 0 0 2
20 NIRNorthern Ireland 1 7 4 12
21 BAHThe Bahamas 1 3 0 4
22 PNGPapua New Guinea 1 2 0 3
23 FIJFiji 1 1 2 4
24 PAKPakistan 1 0 4 5
25 GRNGrenada 1 0 1 2
26 BERBermuda 1 0 0 1
26 GUYGuyana 1 0 0 1
26 IVBBritish Virgin Is. 1 0 0 1
26 LCASaint Lucia 1 0 0 1
30 BANBangladesh 0 2 0 2
31 SRISri Lanka 0 1 5 6
32 CMRCameroon 0 1 2 3
33 DMADominica 0 1 1 2
34 IOMIsle of Man 0 1 0 1
34 MRIMauritius 0 1 0 1
34 NRUNauru 0 1 0 1
37 MLTMalta 0 0 2 2
37 VANVanuatu 0 0 2 2
39 COKCook Islands 0 0 1 1
39 GHAGhana 0 0 1 1
39 NFKNorfolk Island 0 0 1 1
39 SEYSeychelles 0 0 1 1
39 SOLSolomon Islands 0 0 1 1

Well it was a pretty successful games all up. Australia back to topping the tally with our most medals since Melbourne 2006 and England winning less gold then we did in Glasgow 2014. In fact these games Australia won more gold then England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland combined.

While ending the games with the disappointment of loosing the gold medal games of womens rugby 7's and the netball (moment of panic in rugby, panic and shocking coaching decisions in netball which should seriously be reviewed), there were some great moments like the Boomers and our performances in the marathons.

Outside of the opening and closing ceremonies the Comm Games have been quite successful. And with Birmingham to host in 2022, all of Auckland, Christchurch, Edmont and Port Moresby expressing an interest in holding 2026, it looks like the Comm Games will be around for awhile yet.