Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

Casey Demons v Williamstown

KC from Casey

1 minute ago, Stevienic23 said:

Watts strikes me as a person who likes footy but doesnt love footy. Seems happy enough to be in the 2s. 

Not far off. For a guy that has never played finals you would think he would be doing everything to get back in. Maybe he thinks it will all just happen for him?

Honestly I dont think anyone smashed the door down.

JKH could have been the one but let himself down with some of his execution.

Bugg was okay, very good at the coalface but error riddled when in space. Some poor forward entries.

Watts was decent with those trademark bullet passes and cracked in hard when placed on ball although padded his stats towards the end.

Frost would be worth a call up but whether there's a spot for him is another matter.

9 minutes ago, GCDee said:

Wow just saw that watts report... that umpire needs a break if he thinks thats reportable...

That interview with Watts was promising looks like he is in a good space. Expect him the line up against the pies next week. 

That report was a joke!!!!!

5 minutes ago, DSP said:

Not far off. For a guy that has never played finals you would think he would be doing everything to get back in. Maybe he thinks it will all just happen for him?

20 touches, and 12 marks for a CHF... feel like he has to work 50% harder than everyone else to get recognition.

It seems like it's between Watts and Hannan at the moment. Hannan has been missing for large sections of game time recently, if he has sub 10 touches again tomorrow then it's a no brainer for me.

3 minutes ago, watchtheeyes said:

20 touches, and 12 marks for a CHF... feel like he has to work 50% harder than everyone else to get recognition.

It seems like it's between Watts and Hannan at the moment. Hannan has been missing for large sections of game time recently, if he has sub 10 touches again tomorrow then it's a no brainer for me.

A lot of his touches were in the last 5 minutes when they were icing the clock

Thanks KC and all other posters that was a great hard fought win for the Casey boys against the top side, they just kept going even when the the ump's and the run of the ball didn't go their way. I hope that they can stay in this space leading into thye finals. Go Casey & Go Dee's tomorrow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 

of the dees i would say:

watts: an almost game, has amazing skill and balance but lacks hunger for the contest and was good early, went missing when tippett went onto him, better up and around the ball and then in the last when he got fired up by being reported; he's too often too lackadaisical at the contest 

trengove: classic good honest footballer who just butters up time and time again, but is clearly too slow for a 25 year old afl-listed player and his kicking has zero penetration

frost: controlled it defensively, used it well offensively, didn't try to take the oppo on too often (did it early and got away with it, did it once late, got caught), and is basically a class above this level

jkh: he's a massive accumulator of the pill but he's just not nearly damaging enough with it - can play well at this level but doesn't have any outstanding attributes that make him look like an afl-level player

weideman: i am an unabashed fan, but it was just a game, albeit in very trying conditions for a marking tall - love the way he flies at the contest and missed set shot aside his kicking is superb, and he loves to tackle

hullett: a big lug who doesn't seem to know how to throw himself at the contest, but he is a ripper kick of the ball from a set shot

bugg: starved of opportunity early playing half-forward push-up, but once he got up and around the pill he was super busy and is a more likely afl option than jkh for instance

king: was monstered early but they changed his attack at the ball at the ruck contests after quarter time and he was significantly better in the ruck as a result - his skills are good and he's another big who loves to tackle which is something you can't teach

keilty: just looks so comfortable down back and so able to control the high ball coming in - there's a lot to like about him and he adds terrific defensive tall depth to our list

maynard: in-and-under specialist who extracts it well but he does have a tendency to bang it on the boot and not look at where he's kicking it - his hands are great in close and i agree with @Dee-licious where it looks like he'll be a bit like avb and be a good plug-and-play type

Edited by DemonAndrew

23 minutes ago, Stevienic23 said:

Watts strikes me as a person who likes footy but doesnt love footy. Seems happy enough to be in the 2s. 

Based on his interview at the end? I think people makw too many assumptions about jw.

I would be shocked if he is not in the side next week.

50 minutes ago, DemonAndrew said:

of the dees i would say:

watts: an almost game, has amazing skill and balance but lacks hunger for the contest and was good early, went missing when tippett went onto him, better up and around the ball and then in the last when he got fired up by being reported; he's too often too lackadaisical at the contest 

trengove: classic good honest footballer who just butters up time and time again, but is clearly too slow for a 25 year old afl-listed player and his kicking has zero penetration

frost: controlled it defensively, used it well offensively, didn't try to take the oppo on too often (did it early and got away with it, did it once late, got caught), and is basically a class above this level

jkh: he's a massive accumulator of the pill but he's just not nearly damaging enough with it - can play well at this level but doesn't have any outstanding attributes that make him look like an afl-level player

weideman: i am an unabashed fan, but it was just a game, albeit in very trying conditions for a marking tall - love the way he flies at the contest and missed set shot aside his kicking is superb, and he loves to tackle

hullett: a big lug who doesn't seem to know how to throw himself at the contest, but he is a ripper kick of the ball from a set shot

bugg: starved of opportunity early playing half-forward push-up, but once he got up and around the pill he was super busy and is a more likely afl option than jkh for instance

king: was monstered early but they changed his attack at the ball at the ruck contests after quarter time and he was significantly better in the ruck as a result - his skills are good and he's another big who loves to tackle which is something you can't teach

keilty: just looks so comfortable down back and so able to control the high ball coming in - there's a lot to like about him and he adds terrific defensive tall depth to our list

maynard: in-and-under specialist who extracts it well but he does have a tendency to bang it on the boot and not look at where he's kicking it - his hands are great in close and i agree with @Dee-licious where it looks like he'll be a bit like avb and be a good plug-and-play type

Pretty good summary. Thought Frost ran into trouble a bit too much though. 

JKH would've been BoG if his finishing skills were better. 18 tackles is amazing though

Watts by far the cleanest in really scrappy conditions. 

Was always going to be hard for Weid with those conditions.

4 hours ago, KC from Casey said:

A massive 123 point victory for the Casey DL team.

AFL Vic Development League 2017

Casey Demons 4.3.27 9.7.61 14.13.97 23.21.159

Williamstown 2.3.15 4.5.29 5.5.35 5.6.36

Goals 

Casey Demons D Collis Cox  Foote Gardiner Machaya 2 Allsop Ambler Baker Briggs Byers Cottee Di Pasquale Dwyer Freeman Dam Johnston Lewis-Smith Moncrieff Vander Haar

Williamstown Ebinger Wilkinson 2 Carr 

Best 

Casey Demons Briggs Johnston Cox Collis Byers Dwyer

Williamstown Owen Wilkinson McMahon Carter Buykx-Smith Minogue

Also big news at the Holden Centre where Geelong VFL upsey Collingwood VFL which means there's not even a mathematical possibility of Casey Seniors being displaced from the finals.

Wow. 18 separate goal kickers. I don't think I've ever seen a spread like that anywhere, in any game at any level.

Reading write ups on Watts it wouldn't surprise me if he's back next week. Personally he is a best 22 player almost every day of the week, every now and then though he needs a kick up the bum. Frustrating that this is the case but he is who he is. 

Now we wait and see if current 22 is able to keep him at Casey for another week. 

1 hour ago, daisycutter said:

wattsy will get 4 weeks for that.

Troll!

I continue to be surprised on this forum. Watts hasnt been named in the best players for 2 weeks yet he is 'a cut above the rest' and should get a call up? 

Watts' efforts in the afl for 3 weeks were unforgivable and disgusting. An absolute [censored].

He has not shown any appetite for the contest and we dont need guys like him in the team come finals. We need hard guys that put their head over the footy. 

3 minutes ago, Dr.D said:

I continue to be surprised on this forum. Watts hasnt been named in the best players for 2 weeks yet he is 'a cut above the rest' and should get a call up? 

Watts' efforts in the afl for 3 weeks were unforgivable and disgusting. An absolute [censored].

He has not shown any appetite for the contest and we dont need guys like him in the team come finals. We need hard guys that put their head over the footy. 

Watts acquitted himself well today!

But not in the top half a dozen players. He hasnt earnt a call up. Guys like ANB had to get like 3 best on grounds before getting a call up. Watts has completely lost my trust. His game against north melbourne in particular was horrific. id say most section 1 amateur footballers couldve impacted a game more than he did that day. 

2 hours ago, Stevienic23 said:

Mate, if Jack didn't love footy and playing with that team - he would have quit years ago.

You do realise the mess of a footy club you have been following for the past decade?