Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

Changes vs Bulldogs

McQueen

I dont want to get shot down here but what about both Gawn and Spencer come in for Omac (I know he probably had a career best game on Monday but the doggies forward line isn't huge) and ANB. 

We tried two ruck men for most if not all of the JLT and it seemed to work. Could allow both bigmen to work into match fitness during their rucking duties whilst the other rests forward. This would give us a clear advantage in the hit outs and minimises risk to our AA ruck. All whilst stretching the doggies defence too. 

FF Garlett Spencer Hannan

HF Petracca Pedo Watts

C Melksham Oliver Hunt

HB Hibberd Frost Lewis

FB Jetta mcdonald salem

Fol Gawn Jones Viney

Bench Tyson harmes vince bugg

In:. Spencil & Stretch

Out:. Milkshake & ANB

Milkshake a necessary for Spencil and doesn't really add much in terms of any particular outstanding weapon.  This frees T-Mac to go back again which is his natural bent.  He still plays (mind set) as defender even when playing as a forward.  Running 40 meters to spoil Watts in a one out head to head marking contest at one point in the first when he needed to hang off for the crumb and running "away" from Hunt a number of times as he was breaking lines but stuffed and under pressure coming off HB instead of leading up at him, just two examples.  Bringing in Spencil allows Pedders to play as a permanent forward with a little pinch hitting in the ruck only.  Knows how to play and lead better than T-Mac at least two fold.

ANB is a mile off this level and just has too many brain fade easy "cough up" panick turnovers, no matter where he is playing on the ground.  Has already done this multiple times in previous matches also.  Would give him the rest of the year to clean this up and reset again for next season unless injuries/form make him impossible to ignore. First 10 minutes of that second quarter in particular cost us dearly yesterday and IMO turned the pendulum and momentum the Pies way during a full on arm wrestle that should have seen us much closer at half time.

12 hours ago, Dees2014 said:

I think today showed quite clearly that we really need a genuine ruckman. Probably for the first time since Gawn/Spencer went down we were really hurt in the middle and mostly explained our poor first half. If Max is not ready, then we should definitely play Spencil this week IMHO. 

This was a glaring issue during the NM game couldn't get any momentum in the ruck and through our clearance work it will all change for the better now.

1 hour ago, GCDee said:

I dont want to get shot down here but what about both Gawn and Spencer come in for Omac (I know he probably had a career best game on Monday but the doggies forward line isn't huge) and ANB. 

We tried two ruck men for most if not all of the JLT and it seemed to work. Could allow both bigmen to work into match fitness during their rucking duties whilst the other rests forward. This would give us a clear advantage in the hit outs and minimises risk to our AA ruck. All whilst stretching the doggies defence too. 

FF Garlett Spencer Hannan

HF Petracca Pedo Watts

C Melksham Oliver Hunt

HB Hibberd Frost Lewis

FB Jetta mcdonald salem

Fol Gawn Jones Viney

Bench Tyson harmes vince bugg

We will never go in with 2 rucks. I think Gawny will be ready to go this week, I think Goody is playing ducks and drakes saying that he won't play.

Id like to see:

In: Gawn (or if not ready, Spencer)

Out: O Mac (not on form, on team balance)

Oscar is very stiff as he played a good game but Tom is a better backman, Pedersen goes forward and we can't go too tall. We need a good ruckman to help us win the midfield battle, we've covered it well but it's time to get first use again.

ANB and Harmes would be on the chopping block if they want to reward Stretch and JKH but I'd back them both in. 

Its a pretty simple formula win all of the next 3, play finals. Win 2/3 most likely play finals, 1/3 finals possible but unlikely, 0/3 no finals.

Its a huge 3 weeks for us. Time to play 4 quarter footy and get our best team back on the field.

7 hours ago, Salems Lot said:

Pedo will not be dropped in my humble opinion.  CHF at least till Jessie is back.

If Pedo is dropped Im sending my Membership back 

Should have played him all season and last season as well 

And when he retires from Melbourne he can be Captain / Coach of Casey 

7 hours ago, danielE288 said:

How you can assume he will have a breakout game is beyond me, he's fluffed it 3 weeks in a row.

Give Kent the same shots as Bugg he kicks about 10, can't keep gifting guys game hoping they'll come good, especially not 4 weeks ahead.

Unfortunately though you have to literally give the shots to Kent because he doesn't earn them himself. 

2 hours ago, xarronn said:

Well done BRFE, it's great that you have taken the trouble to check this out. I was at the game and listened on the radio as well, and there was no mention of this tag. Then in the post game thread, out of the blue, a post claimed that Melksham, had tagged Pendles. That post without  elaboration or substantiation changed the conversation about Melksham. I really want Melksham to succeed as a great get by us, but I want that to be based on facts not fiction.

If you are correct, he had the poor day that most of us thought we observed. I don't think I can be bothered, but it is almost worth looking through the Post game thread and asking the poster who made that statement where that idea came from.

Tbh from watching at the ground, I thought that Melksham was running with Pendles early.  Maybe not all day but definitely in parts. 

Edited by deanox

9 minutes ago, deejammin' said:

Id like to see:

In: Gawn (or if not ready, Spencer)

Out: O Mac (not on form, on team balance)

Oscar is very stiff as he played a good game but Tom is a better backman, Pedersen goes forward and we can't go too tall. We need a good ruckman to help us win the midfield battle, we've covered it well but it's time to get first use again.

ANB and Harmes would be on the chopping block if they want to reward Stretch and JKH but I'd back them both in. 

Its a pretty simple formula win all of the next 3, play finals. Win 2/3 most likely play finals, 1/3 finals possible but unlikely, 0/3 no finals.

Its a huge 3 weeks for us. Time to play 4 quarter footy and get our best team back on the field.

I think you'll find that these lapses in quarters are directly link to the fact we have had no specialist ruckman for 6 weeks teams just seem to get a run on in quarters with first use and we are unable to quell the influence of their ruck and mid brigade.

9 minutes ago, Old Bear said:

If Pedo is dropped Im sending my Membership back 

Should have played him all season and last season as well 

And when he retires from Melbourne he can be Captain / Coach of Casey 

I Fu$#&@g love Pedo there is no perceivable way he could be dropped with the way he is playing. It would be an absolute outrage of biblical proportions if this eventuates.

In: higher tackling; higher stakes

Out: Templeton, Powell & Cook

Noticed that the swans were tackling higher on the Bont....around his shoulders  Not going low towards hips, where he can get his hands up and handball out. 

The dogs redefined handball in 2016.  The swans re-invented tackling last week....making WB look average for the first time in years.

This week is their first 'grand final' since the big one last year.  Bevo will surprise us, and no doubt Goodwin will respond.

Out: ANB 

In: Spencer

Spencer first ruck, Pedo to CHF, Watts FF and Trac to the pocket.

The Doggies have a mid sized forward line so our backs have to be selected to fit. One of Spencer or Gawn will come in.  After his best game so far, OMac is probably in line to be omitted to allow for team balance, but from memory he has played well on shorter players over this season. 

The Doģgies midfield is brimming with talent, but not playing well, and not linking well.  We have to exploit this by swinging Salem and Petracca throuth the middle to keep them from becoming too settled. 

Their defense will trouble our forwards. They have top notch contested marking players down back. We have to lower our eyes, use Garlett's pace, give Watts space to gut run and repeat lead. Harmes could be important. He is a very good mark for his size and has finally begun kicking the goals he should. 

Vince or Bugg to Johannisen. Dont allow him to run free and spare. Touch him up a bit. And match Jones on Dalhaus, not as a tag, but as playing on each other. Jones' forward spread has been electric this year and his goal kicking ability will stretch Dalhaus. 

This will be a ripper of a game. 

6 hours ago, small but forward said:

I'm agreeing with those who think Gawn won't play. Goodwin has made a statement by not rushing Spencer in this week, saying he'd missed 7 weeks of footy. Gawn has missed 9-10. I reckon they'll give him a run in the 2's. Not even sure they'll put him on a plane to Perth for the WC game, with a 6 day break before the next game at the G vs Sydney. 

I reckon Spencer in for Melksham this week, barring injuries.

Spencer is not Gawn.  If he is right to play he comes straight in 

Just before the march from Fed Square started, Max was interviewed on stage by Robbo who asked him about next week. Max responded by saying he's hoping to play but that (tongue in cheek) as the Dogs don't have a particularly dangerous ruck, he may not get picked anyway.

41 minutes ago, Win4theages said:

We will never go in with 2 rucks. I think Gawny will be ready to go this week, I think Goody is playing ducks and drakes saying that he won't play.

Not really Goodys style. More of a what you see is what you get sort of bloke I think

I would be very surprised to see Spencer in this week, we need to run a mobile team at Dockland against the dogs and the big fella would be a liability.

Barring injuries I don't think the lineup will change.

2 minutes ago, rjay said:

I would be very surprised to see Spencer in this week, we need to run a mobile team at Dockland against the dogs and the big fella would be a liability.

Barring injuries I don't think the lineup will change.

We need to win the clearances more than worrying about being mobile. We're talking about a single player, not wholesale changes. 

I think this will be a distinct advantage to have a dominant big man at the ball ups against the Dogs.

On 12/06/2017 at 8:51 PM, Clint Bizkit said:

I'd love to see Stretch in the team.

I feel like a broken record saying this literally every week. He brings so much more than Bugg and Harmes and Melksham! 

We must bring in a ruckman. Don't care if it's Spencer or Gawn (obviously prefer Gawn but I think they won't risk him). This no ruck situation has ruined our forward structure. 

Can't go too tall down back either so I'm sorry but Oscar you're out

In: Spencer/Gawn, Stretch

out: Oscar, Bugg

Tom back to the backline, Pedo forward/ruck, happy days. 

Edit: if they drop Pedo I'll lose my [censored]! Pedo is best 22 right now. No doubt about it!

Edited by Jaded

2 minutes ago, McQueen said:

We need to win the clearances more than worrying about being mobile. We're talking about a single player, not wholesale changes. 

I think this will be a distinct advantage to have a dominant big man at the ball ups against the Dogs.

Spencer won't dominate 'McQueen', he will nullify the ruck contests at best and that will make him a liability.

I trust Goody will make the right selection again.

On 12/06/2017 at 7:57 PM, Pates said:

Melksham played on Pendlebury and I think kept him relatively quiet. He also kicked a crucial goal in the 3rd (I wasn't confident at all). I don't think he'll be dropped.

If OMac is still sore than I think Spencer comes in for him, move TMac back to defence and Watts moves into more of a natural forwards role. Watts's hurt his back apparently so let's keep an eye on that. Sound's like he's nursing a few bumps and bruises is Jack. 

I doubt Jack is feeling any pain. That look shown in so slow motion was almost arrogance and yet it was vindication,redemption and satisfaction all on naked display. When the pain kicks in he will hopefully have that feeling of supreme confidence shown to him to appreciate what he has done.

That moment could well be worth showing his teammates as an inspirational culmination that the job can be done.

This is not the end of the beginning or the beginning of the end this is the beginning of the beginning

3 minutes ago, rjay said:

Spencer won't dominate 'McQueen', he will nullify the ruck contests at best and that will make him a liability.

I trust Goody will make the right selection again.

Spencer will have a far greater influence than the stand-ins we've had to this time. 

Its my belief that we will need first hands in ruck contests to come out on top in clearances vs the Dogs on ballers.

We will see come Thursday night but I don't believe Spence will the liability you think he'll be.

cheers

36 minutes ago, Jaded said:

I feel like a broken record saying this literally every week. He brings so much more than Bugg and Harmes and Melksham! 

We must bring in a ruckman. Don't care if it's Spencer or Gawn (obviously prefer Gawn but I think they won't risk him). This no ruck situation has ruined our forward structure. 

Can't go too tall down back either so I'm sorry but Oscar you're out

In: Spencer/Gawn, Stretch

out: Oscar, Bugg

Tom back to the backline, Pedo forward/ruck, happy days. 

Edit: if they drop Pedo I'll lose my [censored]! Pedo is best 22 right now. No doubt about it!

C'mon Jaded, you're better than that.  Bugg has brought some real positives to our side, not to mention the fact he plays a vastly different role to Stretch.  It seems to me Buggy is starting to get a bad rap from some and I'm not entirely sure why.

Adam Treloar on the radio earlier commenting how yesterday's game was the fastest in which he's ever been involved. Apparently Pendlebury and other senior players concurred. All running measures were off the charts.Given this, a 6 v 10 day break and the doggies desperate on their home ground I fear our first touch up of the season.With three six day breaks ahead I think we need to make three or four changes each week as a rotation policy and bring in fresh(er) bodies to be any chance e JKH,Stretch,Gawn etc. If not I think we're in strife.

1 hour ago, Win4theages said:

I think you'll find that these lapses in quarters are directly link to the fact we have had no specialist ruckman for 6 weeks teams just seem to get a run on in quarters with first use and we are unable to quell the influence of their ruck and mid brigade.

I hope so, we had our biggest lapse of all against Freo with a ruckman so we still have to prove it but if you'd told me we'd lose Gawn Hogan and Spencer for 8 of the first 11 games and still be 6-5 I'd have taken it in a heartbeat.