• You cannot reply to this topic

Colin Garland update Split from the Jurrah thread

#1 User is offline   Demon_Tingles Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Favourite Player(s):Cam Bruce Garls Greeny

Posted 09 March 2010 - 05:44 PM

There has been some bad news about Jurrah and also some reports saying Colin Garland didnt pull up well. I spoke to Colin last night as most of you know he is a close friend of mine. He pulled up great, foot no longer causes any pain whatsoever. He will play a half Against the eagles and is aiming for round one.

This post has been edited by Nasher: 09 March 2010 - 05:50 PM
Reason for edit: Split this post off from the Jurrah thread - thought it deserved its own thread

Melbourne F.C 2010 and Beyond ... The rebirth of our great club.

Formerly Hardcore Demons Fan

#2 User is offline   Nasher Icon

• Resident Geek
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Primary Administrators
  • Favourite Player(s):Colin Garland

Posted 09 March 2010 - 05:48 PM

View PostDemon_Tingles, on 09 March 2010 - 06:44 PM, said:

There has been some bad news about Jurrah and also some reports saying Colin Garland didnt pull up well. I spoke to Colin last night as most of you know he is a close friend of mine. He pulled up great, foot no longer causes any pain whatsoever. He will play a half Against the eagles and is aiming for round one.

Fantastic news, thanks for sharing. I'm really looking forward to seeing what Col can produce last year. Hopefully he can back up a fantastic 2008.
You never begin supporting a club with a proviso that when they lose, you quit. You support your club, especially this club, through thick and thin and that red and blue blood that beats through your heart is thicker than any other. - Demonland member "the fork"

#3 User is offline   Demon_Tingles Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 09 March 2010 - 05:51 PM

I was just about to delete it and make it a new topic haha.
Yes it is great news, he is very happy about it and as I said he will play a half in Saturdays match

#4 User is offline   jayceebee31 Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:MFC,Casey Scorpions,Harness racing,Horse racing,Business
  • Favourite Player(s):Rivers, Frawley, Trengove, Scully, Gawn,Cheney

Posted 09 March 2010 - 05:58 PM

View PostDemon_Tingles, on 09 March 2010 - 06:51 PM, said:

I was just about to delete it and make it a new topic haha.
Yes it is great news, he is very happy about it and as I said he will play a half in Saturdays match

Again thanks for sharing this news regarding Colin. After reading the shattering news regarding LJ I needed a pick up

#5 User is offline   Demon_Tingles Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 09 March 2010 - 06:01 PM

No worries at all. Any news i get regarding Colin I always put it here

#6 User is offline   Demon16 Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 09 March 2010 - 06:07 PM

might be time for a run up forward now with jurrah out.

#7 User is offline   Diablo Deemon Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 09 March 2010 - 06:10 PM

I almost don't remember Garland playing it's been so long hope he has a great game against West Coast

and has a great 2010. He was a shinning light in 2008 hope to see more exciting football from him.

Red and Blue

#8 User is offline   Unleash Hell Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):Brent Moloney: Jack Grimes: James Frawley

Posted 09 March 2010 - 06:15 PM

I needed some good news like this

#9 User is offline   why you little Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):Flash Liam Jurrah Frank Grimes (Grimey)

Posted 09 March 2010 - 06:21 PM

Colin Garland...Welcome to the Forward Line...Perfect Timing!!
Feared & Ruthless in all area's of this Great Club
Go Demons

#10 User is offline   big_red_fire_engine Icon

• Mighty Demon
  • PipPipPip

Posted 09 March 2010 - 06:26 PM

Thanks DT this is great news although I reckon round 1 realistically could be a stretch. He would need to play a half against WC, then full the week after for Casey to be any chance at all. Are you aware whether the intention with him this year is forward or back?
Question: "Screamer or Goal from 60m?"
Answer: "Screamer"
Question to Michael Newton Footy Record Rd 16 2007

#11 User is offline   Demon_Tingles Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 09 March 2010 - 06:29 PM

yeah he is hoping for round one. Not sure if he can though. As to positions He hasn't been told any difference in position where he is concerned. So I would assume they will ease him in through the backline. He cant obviously be a main target straight away and he is used to defence so he will need to get the feel and speed of the game back. He hasnt told me he will be a forward so I think we should cool down talk of him being our forward saviour for a bit.

#12 User is offline   Allen Jakovich Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):Colin Sylvia, Matthew Bate

Posted 09 March 2010 - 06:42 PM

Thanks for sharing mate, glad to hear the comeback is going well.
Dees for premiers in 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014.

#13 User is offline   Carn dees Icon

• Master Demon
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):Moloney, sylvia, Petterd, Jones

Posted 09 March 2010 - 07:09 PM

View Postjayceebee31, on 09 March 2010 - 06:58 PM, said:

Again thanks for sharing this news regarding Colin. After reading the shattering news regarding LJ I needed a pick up

2nd that.

Thanks Demon tingles really needed some good news.
Wouldn't mind seeing him go forwards now considering more problems to our forward line.
Jacky's gonna be a football star!

#14 User is offline   tatu Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 09 March 2010 - 07:21 PM

Hopefully one-day we will all see the 2008 rising stars (Aussie-Garland-Morton),line up in the same team as the 2009 rising stars (Jurrah-Grimes). :(

#15 User is offline   BattlerBailey Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 09 March 2010 - 08:10 PM

With the news on LJ, 22 games from Col this year will make me very happy.
"The Dees are gonna be something!"

#16 User is offline   Deeoldfart Icon

• Mighty Demon
  • PipPipPip
  • Interests:Family, friends and the Mebourne Football Club.
  • Favourite Player(s):Jack Grimes, Jordie McKenzie

Posted 09 March 2010 - 08:50 PM

Great to hear DT...... so nice to have a bit of good news on the injury front for a change. Colin is a great prospect. Lets hope that he can quickly pick up where he left off in 2008.

"Without wanting to sound indulgent, the Melbourne Football Club has provided me with moments so memorable and meaningful that I measure every other moment against them."

Cameron Schwab
October 2008

#17 User is offline   Bay Riffin Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 09 March 2010 - 09:36 PM

Great news. This kid can play.

Happy for him to play back, especially to get him back into the swing of AFL. After all, like Grimes that is where he has made a name for himself in his short career so far.

I like our defence but we need some extra pace as well. He adds that factor.

If he starts in the early rounds, we could be laughing here. In reality with a year out and little pre-season, you would expect a conservative introduction through Casey. Playing next week for a half sounds great though.

Just out of interest tingles, what happened with the hot spot that appeared a while back ? was it precautionary, as a lot of people feared the worst, seeing players like Egan succumb to foot injuries.

This post has been edited by Bay Riffin: 09 March 2010 - 09:43 PM

#18 User is offline   Cards13 Icon

• Master Demon
  • PipPipPipPip

Posted 09 March 2010 - 11:04 PM

Good news indeed. But lets not get too carried away he will need time to get a feel for the game again and he still is young.
Warlpiri Waaaaaaarrior..... Come out and plaaaayyyyy!!

#19 User is offline   Demon_Tingles Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 10 March 2010 - 08:24 AM

View PostBay Riffin, on 09 March 2010 - 10:36 PM, said:

Just out of interest tingles, what happened with the hot spot that appeared a while back ? was it precautionary, as a lot of people feared the worst, seeing players like Egan succumb to foot injuries.

To be honest I'm not sure. He just had a bit of pain and was wondering why the papers went to town on it. Its to be expected after a pretty serious injury. It wasn't enough to worry. I myself get pain there from constantly running and kicking. He just told the docs to make sure

#20 User is offline   jayceebee31 Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 10 March 2010 - 08:43 AM

View Posttatu, on 09 March 2010 - 08:21 PM, said:

Hopefully one-day we will all see the 2008 rising stars (Aussie-Garland-Morton),line up in the same team as the 2009 rising stars (Jurrah-Grimes). :(

Agree along with 2010 stars- Scully, Trengove and Gysberts whilst Gawn and Blease star in 2011 whilst we wait for young Viney to enter the fray.GO DEES

#21 User is offline   Demon Den Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 10 March 2010 - 11:16 AM

Col a cert for my dream team and a bargain at 197,000.

#22 User is online   hangon007 Icon

• Mighty Demon
  • PipPipPip

Posted 10 March 2010 - 03:48 PM

Fantastic News keep up the great work "Demon-Tingles" thank-you - you have made my day. IMHO our best backman is set to return.

Go Dees.

#23 User is offline   agent_orange Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 10 March 2010 - 06:55 PM

View Posthangon007, on 10 March 2010 - 04:48 PM, said:

Fantastic News keep up the great work "Demon-Tingles" thank-you - you have made my day. IMHO our best backman is set to return.

Go Dees.

Send him forward.

#24 User is offline   E25 Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 10 March 2010 - 07:35 PM

View Postagent_orange, on 10 March 2010 - 07:55 PM, said:

Send him forward.

Are you MAD?!??

He plays his best footy in the backline.
It's exaclty the same situation as Petterd - he'll never be a decent forw... oh.

Nevermind.
slowly but surely returning to glory

#25 User is offline   hells bells Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 10 March 2010 - 08:06 PM

View Postagent_orange, on 10 March 2010 - 07:55 PM, said:

Send him forward.

I have to agree, i'm very suprised that he hasn't been earmarked for the fwd line. It is our obvious weakness. The backline is fairly settled, Warnock, Frawley, Rivers, i cant see the need for another tall defender. I expect Martin and Jamar will share the ruck duties, and i cant see Martin being a solution to our fwd line issues. I say throw Col fwd for at least a few matches and see what he can offer.

#26 User is offline   Demon_Tingles Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 10 March 2010 - 08:17 PM

OK, I am going to say this one more time. STOP TALKING ABOUT HIM GOING FORWARD !!! he only just came back from a serious injury and he has played all his footy in the backline. He was drafted as a utility but has played backline ever since. He is not the answer to our forward problems yet. He needs time to settle in. I doubt he will play forward so please stop demanding it and saying it needs to be done.

#27 User is offline   jayceebee31 Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 10 March 2010 - 08:31 PM

View PostDemon_Tingles, on 10 March 2010 - 09:17 PM, said:

OK, I am going to say this one more time. STOP TALKING ABOUT HIM GOING FORWARD !!! he only just came back from a serious injury and he has played all his footy in the backline. He was drafted as a utility but has played backline ever since. He is not the answer to our forward problems yet. He needs time to settle in. I doubt he will play forward so please stop demanding it and saying it needs to be done.

Demon Tingles- it is my belief he could become an outstanding winger- great defensive yet very attacking. Your opinion please would be greatly appreciated. Please note after a return from the backline.

#28 User is offline   flog Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):J Brown

Posted 10 March 2010 - 08:35 PM

View PostDemon_Tingles, on 10 March 2010 - 09:17 PM, said:

Fair call Tingles, it will just be great to have him back playing, back pocket will do me. You say he was drafted as a utility, i seem to remember commentators mentioning he kicked bags of goals as a junior. Is this correct?

#29 User is offline   Inner Demon Icon

• Mighty Demon
  • PipPipPip

Posted 10 March 2010 - 09:31 PM

You are correct flog. He played as a forward for Tassie, and in fact, in his initial games for Melbourne. He's more than capable of going forward and probably should given the current team balance.

#30 User is offline   Demon_Tingles Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 10 March 2010 - 10:23 PM

Yes he did when he played tac cup for the tassie mariners he kicked bags. He became a backman when he played on David Neitz in a practice match and ripped him up. I mean he dominated Neitz. Jayceebee I agree with that however I think he is destined to be a kpp. We have some damaging wingmen in morton/grimes/scully and even Sylvia. We dont need midfielders, we need backman and forwards. More forwards but its my knowledge that Col will be back in the backline.

#31 User is offline   flog Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):J Brown

Posted 11 March 2010 - 06:00 AM

View PostDemon_Tingles, on 10 March 2010 - 11:23 PM, said:

Yes he did when he played tac cup for the tassie mariners he kicked bags. He became a backman when he played on David Neitz in a practice match and ripped him up. I mean he dominated Neitz. Jayceebee I agree with that however I think he is destined to be a kpp. We have some damaging wingmen in morton/grimes/scully and even Sylvia. We dont need midfielders, we need backman and forwards. More forwards but its my knowledge that Col will be back in the backline.

He is an interesting option for us and and exciting one at that. He is quite similar to Morton in a way. Height and weight and can play an attacking role out of defence. If Col can return and gain some fitness I can see him going forward and Morton can be left to develop his skills off the half backline were I believe he plays his best football. Either way its adding to our options giving us diffrent setups for differing opponents.

Thanks for the feedback MR Tingles, fingers crossed for the boy.

#32 User is offline   Cards13 Icon

• Master Demon
  • PipPipPipPip

Posted 11 March 2010 - 08:42 AM

Could care less where he plays, just looking forward to seeing the likes of he and Wonna back on the park and looking to see some further improvement.
Warlpiri Waaaaaaarrior..... Come out and plaaaayyyyy!!

#33 User is offline   jayceebee31 Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 11 March 2010 - 10:31 AM

Tingles- thanks for comment. I agree he will reurn as a backman initially, but he would make a great wingman. However avid Neitz thought he would replace him eventually at full forward.Very versatile and a brilliant utility.

#34 User is offline   Keyser Söze Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):Hank, Chippa, Billy

Posted 11 March 2010 - 12:05 PM

Garland may have played in the backline mainly so far in his AFL career, but it doesn't mean how won't or can't play forward going forward.

I'll continue to call for him to be put forward.
I firmly believe the best apprenticeship for a forwardline player is to begin in the backline.

#35 User is offline   dee-luded Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 11 March 2010 - 12:12 PM

View PostKeyser Söze, on 11 March 2010 - 01:05 PM, said:

Garland may have played in the backline mainly so far in his AFL career, but it doesn't mean how won't or can't play forward going forward.

I firmly believe the best apprenticeship for a forwardline player is to begin in the backline.

We all know Garland is Very Qualified to play forward, but he has hardly played for over a year & has had a disrupted pre season, so is way under-dunn, :( Not the best prep for a young player to go forward & take one of the best defenders each week.

#36 User is offline   J-Riv Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 11 March 2010 - 01:50 PM

I saw him today at the servo In St Kilda. I asked how his foot was and he said going well. Will play a half for Casey this week. I asked are you aiming for round one and he said probably not, more like round 2 or 3.

#37 User is offline   the master Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 11 March 2010 - 01:52 PM

He doesn't appear to be in the squad. Care to explain?

#38 User is offline   Yokozuna Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip
  • Interests:Watching the Dees, Snowboarding,
  • Favourite Player(s):JT, Colin, Jack Grimes, Chip, Tom Scully

Posted 11 March 2010 - 01:55 PM

I will just be happy when Col plays for the club again, in any position.

That being said, I find it funny how so many people want him played forward.

I know we need some forwards, but we cant just chuck people there because we think they may be good there. (see Stef Martin, who is a much better defneder than forward, but is being continually pushed forward)

Col has shown he is a very good defender, both on talls and smalls, and there will always be a spot for him down back.

Realistically I could see him taking over Frawley's place, as Frawley gets bigger/stronger/more experienced and takes over from Warnock (who is just a good/ honest footballer)

#39 User is offline   jayceebee31 Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 11 March 2010 - 01:57 PM

View PostKeyser Söze, on 11 March 2010 - 01:05 PM, said:

Can understand your thoughts re Neita but because of our injuries and him it may best to ease him in the backline on resumption and gaining confidence before giving him new challenges.Still think he would be an ideal winger -imagine Morton and Garland on the wing- SENSATIONAL.Reminds me of Woods & Clay when they played for the tigers. Thoughts you old timers. Nearly said WJ and others.

#40 User is offline   Demon_Tingles Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 11 March 2010 - 03:55 PM

View Postthe master, on 11 March 2010 - 02:52 PM, said:

He doesn't appear to be in the squad. Care to explain?

I am not on match committee I can only go on what he told me. Now there's two people who also spoke to him. I hope you are not criticising me because you know I am not on selsction committee he told me he was playing a half. Maybe why hes not in squad as he is only playing a half ?

• (2 Pages)
  • +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users