• You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

Jurrah Hurt! Shoulder or Collar Bone?

#1 User is offline   RalphiusMaximus Icon

• Master Demon
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 06 March 2010 - 05:07 PM

Listening to the radio coverage. Just heard that Jurrah is off with a shoulder, arm or collar bone injury. Not a lot of clarity form the Adelaide radio folks, but this is a very bad thing. Anyone able to give us more info?

#2 User is offline   Cards13 Icon

• Master Demon
  • PipPipPipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 05:10 PM

They have been saying Jurrah, Bell and Newton have all done shoulders. Bell and Jurrah really bad ones but seriously they don't really seem to know what they are on about so I'll wait for the club to say more on it.

This post has been edited by Cards13: 06 March 2010 - 05:11 PM

Warlpiri Waaaaaaarrior..... Come out and plaaaayyyyy!!

#3 User is offline   45HG16 Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):Matthew Whelan, Jack Grimes

Posted 06 March 2010 - 05:14 PM

They also said shoulder or elbow... I'll wait
On the Eighth Day, God created Whelan.
On the Ninth, He created Grimes.

#4 User is online   Rojik of the Arctic Icon

• Master Demon
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):Rivers, Davey and Jurrrrraaaaahhhh!

Posted 06 March 2010 - 05:15 PM

Yep I'll wait for the club rather than take the word of some sub par commentators.
Once you've gone Jack, you'll never go back.

#5 User is offline   Dappa Dan Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):The Master

Posted 06 March 2010 - 05:18 PM

View Post45HG16, on 06 March 2010 - 06:14 PM, said:

They also said shoulder or elbow... I'll wait

You might want to watch out saying "I'll wait."

It starts arguments with some of the flogs around here.

I reckon the Jurrah one really hurts. You would assume that if they're mid-long term injuries, then it's LTI list for all of them. Let's say Jurrah and Bell are the long termers, that means Newton has to be promoted (if his injury isn't long term). Bell is depth, so not TOO much was going to be put on his shoulders this season.

We're already under siege on the injury list and the season hasn't even started.
I'm Melbourne at this stage, Tony. I'm Melbourne. I'm Melbourne and to talk about anything like that would be against these principles that I mentioned. I am Melbourne and I'm Melbourne through and through.

- Norm Smith.

Dappa Dan... Formerly demon_magik

#6 User is offline   furious d Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 05:19 PM

Tapscott, Gawn, PJ, Morton, Jurrah and Bell all possible LTI's. Our entire rookie list could be promoted for round 1 if 2 of them weren't potentially LTI's as well (Newton and Meesen).

#7 User is offline   Cards13 Icon

• Master Demon
  • PipPipPipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 05:24 PM

Saw on Channel 9 news a small update. Ding Dong looks like collar bone. Jurrah is either elbow or broken arm. The same arm he has had strapped.

#8 User is offline   RudeBoy Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 05:31 PM

Channel 9 are tossers. I spoke to Liam, and it's a dislocated shoulder.

#9 User is offline   Cards13 Icon

• Master Demon
  • PipPipPipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 05:41 PM

View PostRudeBoy, on 06 March 2010 - 06:31 PM, said:

Bugger! Thanks for the update RB. Hope he takes it in his stride and the great man comes back even better!!!

#10 User is offline   wonnabeeri Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 05:46 PM

Thanks RB. Fingers crossed for a quick recovery.

#11 User is offline   Bring-Back-Powell Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 05:48 PM

View PostRudeBoy, on 06 March 2010 - 06:31 PM, said:

How many weeks is a dislocated shoulder?

#12 User is offline   DemonDan... Icon

• Mighty Demon
  • PipPipPip
  • Favourite Player(s): ...........Big TAPPY!.......... .........Little Davey!..........

Posted 06 March 2010 - 05:49 PM

View Postwonnabeeri, on 06 March 2010 - 04:46 PM, said:

Thanks RB. Fingers crossed for a quick recovery.

Anyone know how long for a dislocated shoulder offhand?
Best and worst case scenario?
Cheers in advance.

i dont know what to put here..

#13 User is offline   Dappa Dan Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 05:49 PM

Thanks rudeboy. You're an asset.

Ok. So along with a lot of steak and protein shakes for Watts and Morton, we need to throw in a lot of calcium for Belly's brittle bones.
I'm Melbourne at this stage, Tony. I'm Melbourne. I'm Melbourne and to talk about anything like that would be against these principles that I mentioned. I am Melbourne and I'm Melbourne through and through.

- Norm Smith.

#14 User is offline   Demon_Tingles Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):Cam Bruce Garls Greeny

Posted 06 March 2010 - 05:51 PM

View PostBring-Back-Powell, on 06 March 2010 - 06:48 PM, said:

How many weeks is a dislocated shoulder?

More than likely 12 weeks if its dislocated
Melbourne F.C 2010 and Beyond ... The rebirth of our great club.

Formerly Hardcore Demons Fan

#15 User is offline   TT's Demons Icon

• Rookie Demon
  • Pip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 05:52 PM

Just said that Jurrah has a broken arm and Bell popped a shoulder...

#16 User is offline   DemonDan... Icon

• Mighty Demon
  • PipPipPip
  • Favourite Player(s): ...........Big TAPPY!.......... .........Little Davey!..........

Posted 06 March 2010 - 05:53 PM

View PostRudeBoy, on 06 March 2010 - 04:31 PM, said:

Posted Image Commentator on 5aa, just said a dees official told him it was a broken arm!

EDIT: Broken arm a better result??

This post has been edited by DemonDan...: 06 March 2010 - 05:54 PM

i dont know what to put here..

#17 User is offline   FC Melbourne Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 05:55 PM

View PostDemonDan..., on 06 March 2010 - 06:53 PM, said:

Posted Image Commentator on 5aa, just said a dees official told him it was a broken arm!

EDIT: Broken arm a better result??

Forearm, haven't said which bone.

Your knowledge, our Club. Demonwiki

#18 User is offline   RalphiusMaximus Icon

• Master Demon
  • PipPipPipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 06:27 PM

Not sure I'd be putting much faith in this lot though.

#19 User is offline   condemned 84 Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 07:18 PM

I've dislocated my shoulder 3 times (left twice, right once)
First on left was 4 weeks, minimal damage to ligaments as it pretty much went straight back in, second on left 9 weeks and another 3 till I felt right in the game.
The right was about 6 weeks.

Really comes down to swelling on the joint, bruising on the joint and mainly the ligament damage done. (in my opinion which I ain't a doctor so probably means SFA :P )
"People nowadays talk about ''brands'' and ''franchises''. What I like about Melbourne is that it's become an old-fashioned footy club." Martin Flanagan

Bolton Wanderers FC.
C'mon you Trotters!

#20 User is offline   She Devil 64 Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):Geoff Tunbridge, John Townsend, Stephen Tingay,Matthew Whelan, Mark Jamar

Posted 06 March 2010 - 07:21 PM

Cam Schwab on twitter just said Liam's shoulder popped out but went back in. Wait on scans.
Bell dislocated A/C - in trouble

This post has been edited by She Devil 64: 06 March 2010 - 07:33 PM

Every Heart Beats True for the Red and Blue

#21 User is offline   jayceebee31 Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:MFC,Casey Scorpions,Harness racing,Horse racing,Business
  • Favourite Player(s):Rivers, Frawley, Trengove, Scully, Gawn,Cheney

Posted 06 March 2010 - 07:48 PM

View PostShe Devil 64, on 06 March 2010 - 08:21 PM, said:

Cam Schwab on twitter just said Liam's shoulder popped out but went back in. Wait on scans.
Bell dislocated A/C - in trouble

Rudeboy has just emailed me to confirm what Cam stated. Does not know how long he will be out but very disappointed he will miss playing with his brother Wona for a while. He has been very much looking forward to play with Aussie.

#22 User is offline   Carn Melbourne Icon

• Rookie Demon
  • Pip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 08:06 PM

Link to afl website article on injuries

http://www.afl.com.a...73/default.aspx

#23 User is offline   Carn dees Icon

• Master Demon
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):Moloney, sylvia, Petterd, Jones

Posted 06 March 2010 - 08:15 PM

View Postjayceebee31, on 06 March 2010 - 08:48 PM, said:

Rudeboy has just emailed me to confirm what Cam stated. Does not know how long he will be out but very disappointed he will miss playing with his brother Wona for a while. He has been very much looking forward to play with Aussie.

The wait continues :(
Jacky's gonna be a football star!

#24 User is offline   steveheals Icon

• Mighty Demon
  • PipPipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):Jurrah

Posted 06 March 2010 - 10:45 PM

So what is it, a broken arm or a dislocated shoulder? or both?
The Team We Love.

Liam Jurrah. You Legend

#25 User is offline   RalphiusMaximus Icon

• Master Demon
  • PipPipPipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 10:47 PM

View PostSHLJ, on 06 March 2010 - 11:45 PM, said:

So what is it, a broken arm or a dislocated shoulder? or both?

According to twitter, it's a dislocated shoulder. They were waiting on scans to see how bad. Didn't sound bad from the language they used. However, they wouldn't be likely to play up the severity, so who knows?

#26 User is offline   steveheals Icon

• Mighty Demon
  • PipPipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):Jurrah

Posted 06 March 2010 - 10:49 PM

Ok, the commentators said it was definitely a broken arm on FiveAA, but then again, they're south australian
The Team We Love.

Liam Jurrah. You Legend

#27 User is offline   Dappa Dan Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 07 March 2010 - 02:25 AM

View PostSHLJ, on 06 March 2010 - 11:49 PM, said:

Ok, the commentators said it was definitely a broken arm on FiveAA, but then again, they're south australian

Unbelievable isn't it?

Rudeboy gave us the accurate news 20 minutes before the radio station did, and from a state away (presumably).

That caps off easily the most incompetent radio announcing I've ever heard.

And I've heard Andy Maher and Derwayne.

- Norm Smith.

#28 User is offline   Hell Bent Icon

• Mighty Demon
  • PipPipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):Grimer, LJ

Posted 07 March 2010 - 02:28 AM

View PostSHLJ, on 06 March 2010 - 11:49 PM, said:

Rude Boy is a close mate of LJ`s. Read his earlier post and consider the matter closed. The good thing is that it popped out and straight back in so the ligament damage would be as minimal as a shoulder dislocation can get, although still incredibly painful. (I`ve popped mine more than half a dozen times!)

He`ll still spend quite a bit of time on the sidelines no matter how mild the `pop` was!

#29 User is offline   QueenC Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators

Posted 07 March 2010 - 03:44 AM

View PostDappa Dan, on 07 March 2010 - 03:25 AM, said:

That caps off easily the most incompetent radio announcing I've ever heard.

And I've heard Andy Maher and Derwayne.

That really is quite an indictment on the station :rolleyes: !!!
But there does tend to be a general injury hysteria among media folk.

That being said.....

Jurrah hurt as Crows edge Dees

#30 User is offline   dees 1858 Icon

• Rookie Demon
  • Pip

Posted 07 March 2010 - 09:57 AM

papers reporting that it was only a dislocated shoulder! Schwab twitter also says only dislocated shoulder. Here's hoping it's not too bad!!

#31 User is offline   titan_uranus Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 07 March 2010 - 10:08 AM

So Jurrah has dislocated his broken shoulder?

Seriously, though, whatever the injury is it's terrible news, for Liam and for the club. Hopefully he'll come back from this is great shape.

#32 User is offline   Wrathchild Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):Paul Pierce, Rajon Rondo, Kevin Garnett.....oh and Nathan Jones

Posted 07 March 2010 - 10:17 AM

Jurrah being hurt is bad either way! We need games under his belt asap, not starting in 12 weeks time.

Gotta feel for Belly, cannot avoid getting hurt, and this is a last chance year for him.

[Deleted for player abuse - Poster warned]

Seriously, I wish Bell and Jurrah a speedy recovery, and wish Newton, Meesen and Hughes all the best to try and resurrect their careers with the Demons this season.

#33 User is offline   IWAP Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 07 March 2010 - 03:00 PM

They just mentioned on SEN that Bell would miss 8 weeks.

For Jurrah, they didn't give a timeframe, but said they were seeking further consultation - but summised that he was cleared of serious injury

#34 User is offline   titan_uranus Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 07 March 2010 - 03:13 PM

View PostIWAP, on 07 March 2010 - 04:00 PM, said:

For Jurrah, they didn't give a timeframe, but said they were seeking further consultation - but summised that he was cleared of serious injury

I guess that's good news. 'Seeking futher consultation' doesn't sound too good though.

Edit: See http://www.afl.com.a...87/default.aspx for info. Says that Jones is OK, just soreness.

This post has been edited by titan_uranus: 07 March 2010 - 03:17 PM

#35 User is offline   Diablo Deemon Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 07 March 2010 - 03:34 PM

This is bad news all around. It's really disappointing we can't seem to have any

sort of luck with injuries. I'd like to see the stats over the last 3 years on how many total games were

missed by our list due to injury. I reckon we would go close to having the worst record in the

AFL. Wish Jurrah and Bell all the best hopefully the club get them right and Bell can give us a reason to back him

for another contract and Jurrah can ignite the MCG with his talent.

This post has been edited by Diablo Deemon: 07 March 2010 - 03:35 PM

Red and Blue

#36 User is offline   Green Machine Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip
  • Interests:Footy, Sport in general.
  • Favourite Player(s):Colin Sylvia, Brad Green, Nathan Jones, James Frawley, Rohan Bail, Liam Jurrah

Posted 07 March 2010 - 03:42 PM

View Posttitan_uranus, on 07 March 2010 - 04:13 PM, said:

I guess that's good news. 'Seeking futher consultation' doesn't sound too good though.

Edit: See http://www.afl.com.a...87/default.aspx for info. Says that Jones is OK, just soreness.

jones said on his twitter that he pulled up fine from the game...just the normal stiffness thats comes with it
Brad Green for Captain

Belief is a BIG thing.

#37 User is offline   Dappa Dan Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 07 March 2010 - 03:46 PM

8 weeks is actually better than I expected. but like the Morton one, is it 8 weeks from today? Or 8 H&A rounds?

- Norm Smith.

#38 User is offline   DeeZee Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 08 March 2010 - 10:51 AM

Does anyone know anything yet?
The suspense is killing me!

#39 User is offline   PNGeeDee Icon

• Rookie Demon
  • Pip

Posted 08 March 2010 - 02:06 PM

Liam Jurrah will have surgery this week and its hoped a mid season return for the elusive second year player

#40 User is offline   Roost It Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Footy
  • Favourite Player(s):Jacks Trengove, Grimes and Watts and Sir Tom Scully

Posted 08 March 2010 - 02:08 PM

I thought Bell's injury was more serious
"See they way he picks it up. The midfield might just be better off kicking it to his ankles so as to keep his hamstrings well stretched"
Referring to Jack Watts and his supernatural abilities to hoover up the low ball.

• (4 Pages)
  • +
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users