Demonland Forums: Game Day: Adelaide v Melbourne  - Demonland Forums

• (14 Pages)
  • +
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Game Day: Adelaide v Melbourne  Final: Adelaide 9.15 (69) d. Melbourne 10.7 (67)

#1 User is offline   Chelly Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 06 March 2010 - 08:42 AM

Kicking things off early.

What do we expect from the team today?

Melbourne

1. Matthew Warnock
2. Nathan Jones
3. Clint Bartram
5. Jordan Gysberts
7. Brad Miller
8. James Frawley
9. Jack Trengove
13. Jordie McKenzie
14. Lynden Dunn
15. Ricky Petterd
16. Jack Grimes
18. Brad Green
19. Addam Maric
21. Daniel Bell
23. James McDonald
24. Liam Jurrah
25. Kyle Cheney
27. Jared Rivers
28. Joel MacDonald
29. Michael Newton
30. Tom McNamara
31. Tom Scully
33. Austin Wonaeamirri
34. Stefan Martin
40. Mark Jamar
42. Jake Spencer
44. Rohan Bail
47. James Strauss
48. Jack Fitzpatrick

#2 User is offline   grazman Icon

• Master Demon
  • PipPipPipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 09:10 AM

Not quite sure, obviously a very young list, but the opposition have their problems as well and have had as poor a preseason as us to date. Could be a nil all draw considering it will be played at a neutral ground ( I doubt too many of the good folk at Elizabeth will be sipping their Chardy in the outer today). Obviously it's all about getting games into young bodies, so I doubt we'll kick winning score - I imagine next weeks team will be a far better indication of the likely squad for rd 1 depending on availability.
The Artist Formerly Known as Gander
"Monday's experts, they've always got the good oil, pity you can't put a bet on at the finish of a race" Mick Thomas WPA

#3 User is offline   Mr Morton Icon

• Master Demon
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):Cale Morton and Jack Grimes

Posted 06 March 2010 - 09:11 AM

Perfect day today. Hitting up the midcoast first for a few waves then going to Lizzy to watch the boy's play, cant wait.

Can I just say please remember it's going to be VERY windy today. Would have loved to see Cale play but just my luck he goes down the week I get to watch the team. Trengove is back home (sort of) and has played on this ground a few times so he might have a big one. Jurrah 5 goals.

This post has been edited by Mr Morton: 06 March 2010 - 09:16 AM

A fact in itself is nothing. It is valuable only for the idea attached to it, or for the proof which it furnishes.

#4 User is offline   steveheals Icon

• Mighty Demon
  • PipPipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):Jurrah

Posted 06 March 2010 - 09:32 AM

I'm really hoping for a big game from Jurrah, Trengove and Scully with the absence of key older players. Really hoping for a win today
The Team We Love.

Liam Jurrah. You Legend

#5 User is online   jayceebee31 Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:MFC,Casey Scorpions,Harness racing,Horse racing,Business
  • Favourite Player(s):Rivers, Frawley, Trengove, Scully, Gawn,Cheney

Posted 06 March 2010 - 09:38 AM

Very interesting point Schwabby makes re twitter, that the average games of 27 were by the team fielded against Essendon.Shows that Bails wants to get game time into these inexperienced players.

#6 User is offline   Bring-Back-Powell Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 09:43 AM

View Postjayceebee31, on 06 March 2010 - 10:38 AM, said:

Shows that Bails wants to get game time into these inexperienced players.

I don't think he has a choice considering the injury list.

I'm predicting Jack Trengove to have a breakout game in his home state.

As for the score - Crows by 29pts.

#7 User is offline   45HG16 Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):Matthew Whelan, Jack Grimes

Posted 06 March 2010 - 09:50 AM

I'd like to see us keep attacking the game like we did last week and hopeully stop the opposition repelling the ball from their backline so easily
On the Eighth Day, God created Whelan.
On the Ninth, He created Grimes.

#8 User is offline   Deelirium Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):Colin Sylvia

Posted 06 March 2010 - 09:52 AM

View Postjayceebee31, on 06 March 2010 - 10:38 AM, said:

.Shows that Bails wants to get game time into these inexperienced players.

......isn't that the whole point of the season for us?

#9 User is offline   Chook Icon

• Master Demon
  • PipPipPipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 10:10 AM

We're all relying on you today Mr Morton. You'll be our go-to man for all things unbiased and true.

#10 User is offline   wattsup Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 10:21 AM

just got this of schwabs twitter :Sitting next to Fitness Coach Adam Paulo who told me Bater, Aussie, Hughesy, Healey all pulled up well after Casey game yesterday: does this mean that aussie wont be playing today if he played 4 casey yesterday

#11 User is offline   Cards13 Icon

• Master Demon
  • PipPipPipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 10:25 AM

View Postwattsup, on 06 March 2010 - 11:21 AM, said:

just got this of schwabs twitter :Sitting next to Fitness Coach Adam Paulo who told me Bater, Aussie, Hughesy, Healey all pulled up well after Casey game yesterday: does this mean that aussie wont be playing today if he played 4 casey yesterday

uh........ really?

No he did not make the trip he played last night.

This post has been edited by Cards13: 06 March 2010 - 10:28 AM

Warlpiri Waaaaaaarrior..... Come out and plaaaayyyyy!!

#12 User is offline   wattsup Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 10:30 AM

well i guess its good he and bate got through ok would expect both to play next week

#13 User is online   jayceebee31 Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:MFC,Casey Scorpions,Harness racing,Horse racing,Business
  • Favourite Player(s):Rivers, Frawley, Trengove, Scully, Gawn,Cheney

Posted 06 March 2010 - 11:13 AM

View PostBring-Back-Powell, on 06 March 2010 - 10:43 AM, said:

I don't think he has a choice considering the injury list.

I'm predicting Jack Trengove to have a breakout game in his home state.

As for the score - Crows by 29pts.

He could have played more experienced players if he had of chosen to

#14 User is offline   45HG16 Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 11:40 AM

View Postjayceebee31, on 06 March 2010 - 12:13 PM, said:

He could have played more experienced players if he had of chosen to

My God.
You're joking aren't you?
Of our most experienced 22 players (yes, that includes Garland with 20 games) I count 5 injured (Bruce, Bate, Johnson, Morton and Garland) and 3 very, very important players with slight injury concerns that you wouldn't risk with interstate travel for a friendly (Sylvia, Moloney and Davey).
Of the other 14, THEY'RE ALL PLAYING!
In fact, if we played out absolutely most experienced team, the emergenices would be Aussie, Bennel and Jetta. Grimes, with 12 games, would just miss out!

#15 User is offline   Big Kev Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 12:33 PM

View PostMr Morton, on 06 March 2010 - 10:11 AM, said:

Perfect day today. Hitting up the midcoast first for a few waves then going to Lizzy to watch the boy's play, cant wait.

Can I just say please remember it's going to be VERY windy today. Would have loved to see Cale play but just my luck he goes down the week I get to watch the team. Trengove is back home (sort of) and has played on this ground a few times so he might have a big one. Jurrah 5 goals.

Supposedly live broadcast on 5AA - http://www.fiveaa.co...l-on-FIVEaa_198
Big Kev is nearly excited again.

#16 User is offline   cooko Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):Bruce! ..& Watts!

Posted 06 March 2010 - 12:34 PM

View PostMr Morton, on 06 March 2010 - 11:11 AM, said:

Jurrah 5 goals.

haha hope so! he has been very quiet the last 2 weeks! you will have to keep us updated mate!

i really hope the dees win this game.. i have had enough of the abuse from people at work on how 'the dees suck'

#17 User is offline   Whispering_Jack Icon

• Master Demon
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrators

Posted 06 March 2010 - 12:54 PM

Well, the feeling is that our defence is looking settled and that this is the most advanced of the departments that make up out team.

The midfield, with some very good young talent like Grimes, Scully, Trengove and McKenzie coming into the mix is going to learn a lot today against the seasoned campaigners from Adelaide so in that respect this is an important game. It's all about learning and this quartet have the opportunity today to test themselves against some elite midfield talent. That's a bonus. It's odd to think that, apart from Junior (who might play in defence), Nathan Jones is going to be just about our most experienced midfielder today!

I was impressed with the Russian last week, particularly the way he combined with Grimes. He didn't play many games last year but, when he did, he seemed to come of age now that he was no longer in Jeff White's shadow. It was interesting that Essendon was at it's most damaging when Jamar was off the ground and what I'm looking for today are signs that he's capable of taking further steps forward. The word is that he spent much of his down time last year while injured observing how some of the better ruckmen in the competition go about their work. Today, he has Jake Spencer in support so that should be of assistance.

That leaves us with our forward line which, apart from Ricky Petterd, has been a shambles in the NAB Cup and NAB Challenge so far. Obviously, I'd like to see Ricky continuing in the goalkicking vein but it's also important for us to find more avenues to goal. If not, we're facing a bit of a slaughter today and we'll cop a lot of stick this season. Things won't be any easier for Liam Jurrah who will get another top line opponent so we need more from Brad Miller and Stef Martin if he's going to be persevered with up there. Given that Matthew Bate and Jack Watts are due to return soon, the pressure will be on these blokes (and Juice!). Disappointing that Aussie didn't make the flight but it opens up further opportunities for Adam Maric to score goals. We need to see the midfielders drifting down occassionally to kick goals as they do in most of the good teams. The other aspect of the forward set up that will be of interest to me will be to see where Lynden Dunn is played. He knows where the goals are and this is a practice match. It's probably going to be a make or break year for him and I'd like to see him back as a forward because that's where he's played best for us in the past.

Chris Connolly was quoted in the paper today as saying that Jack Fitzpatrick has been the surprise packet of the season so I'd like to see him pull off some surprises and score some goals, get kicks and get involved.

Finally, although it's not important in the scheme of things today and, as unlikely is the prospect, I would really like to see us win the game. Winning is better than losing and while it's important to get games into young players' legs, a positive scoreboard result will help complement a good feeling around the club and help maintain the enthusiasm of our young squad.

Also, if we win (and even if we lose) the media will no doubt focus on one thing and one thing alone - the number of Crows players not available for this match. So for the record, based on the list of players in today's squad, here's the list of our players missing today (and you can now add Aussie to the list):-

4. Jack Watts
6. Matthew Bate
10. Cale Morton
11. Paul Johnson
12. Colin Sylvia
20. Colin Garland
22. Brent Moloney
26. John Meesen
32. Cameron Bruce
35. Luke Tapscott
36. Aaron Davey
37. Max Gawn
38. Daniel Hughes
39. Neville Jetta
43. Jamie Bennell
46. Sam Blease
50. Rhys Healey

#18 User is offline   killawatts Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):Bruce, Beamer & Flash

Posted 06 March 2010 - 12:58 PM

View Postcooko, on 06 March 2010 - 01:34 PM, said:

haha hope so! he has been very quiet the last 2 weeks! you will have to keep us updated mate!

i really hope the dees win this game.. i have had enough of the abuse from people at work on how 'the dees suck'

If Jurrah is going to have an impact he's going to have to lead out more instead of sitting back and hoping he can out mark defenders.

Went to Visy last week and he looked lost when his opponents ran off him and struggled to find space up forward. I think he'll have a good season if his work rate increases.

Feel a bit ripped off that Only the essendon game has been played in melbourne so far.

#19 User is online   Redleg Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 01:02 PM

View PostWhispering_Jack, on 06 March 2010 - 01:54 PM, said:

Chris Connolly was quoted in the paper today as saying that Jack Fitzpatrick has been the surprise packet of the season so I'd like to see him pull off some surprises and score some goals, get kicks and get involved.

Think he was referring to his change of hairstyle.

#20 User is offline   Deelirium Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):Colin Sylvia

Posted 06 March 2010 - 01:11 PM

have been listening to this radio station for the last 10 minutes, and am sooo bored,... when does the game start!?

#21 User is offline   45HG16 Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 01:16 PM

4:30 I think

#22 User is offline   Cards13 Icon

• Master Demon
  • PipPipPipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 01:32 PM

View PostRedleg, on 06 March 2010 - 02:02 PM, said:

Think he was referring to his change of hairstyle.

Or the fact that he moves very well for a big bloke who has only had two touches in two weeks...

Needs games games games into him and hopefully he will turn into a player for us. Nothing to worry about.
Warlpiri Waaaaaaarrior..... Come out and plaaaayyyyy!!

#23 User is offline   why you little Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):Flash Liam Jurrah Frank Grimes (Grimey)

Posted 06 March 2010 - 01:44 PM

5 AA what a strange Radio station it is!! who are these people??
Feared & Ruthless in all area's of this Great Club
Go Demons

#24 User is offline   dee-luded Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 02:03 PM

View PostMr Morton, on 06 March 2010 - 10:11 AM, said:

http://www.bom.gov.a...loop.shtml#skip

Perfect one day,,,,,,,,Hmmmn,,, well, I'm glad i'm not standing out in the Elizabeth sun.

#25 User is offline   cooko Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):Bruce! ..& Watts!

Posted 06 March 2010 - 02:19 PM

View PostDeelirium, on 06 March 2010 - 03:11 PM, said:

have been listening to this radio station for the last 10 minutes, and am sooo bored,... when does the game start!?

Match Day Information

NAB Cup Ticketing Information
NAB Challenge Week 2
Adelaide v Melbourne
Saturday 6 March, 4.00 pm (local time)
The Demons travel to South Australia for a practice match against the Crows this weekend.

http://www.melbourne...53/default.aspx

#26 User is offline   Bring-Back-Powell Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 02:58 PM

View PostWhispering_Jack, on 06 March 2010 - 01:54 PM, said:

Very pleased that CC mentioned this, but by all reports around here he's been a non factor in both games. Maybe he's impressed during training.

#27 User is online   WattsHappening? Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip
  • Interests:Watching the demons smashing teams on the "G"
  • Favourite Player(s):Jack "GOLDEN BOY" Watts

Posted 06 March 2010 - 03:04 PM

Good start - 20 min late to the ground
Jack Jack JACKIE!!!

#28 User is offline   BattlerBailey Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 03:04 PM

OK, apparently we went to Football park instead of the ground at Elizabeth :mellow:
So there's be a 20 minute delay.
"The Dees are gonna be something!"

#29 User is offline   why you little Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 03:08 PM

The word Melbourne is yet to be mentioned !!!

This post has been edited by why you little: 06 March 2010 - 03:08 PM

Go Demons

#30 User is offline   BattlerBailey Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 03:10 PM

Sick of these tossers already...

#31 User is offline   Keyser Söze Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Favourite Player(s):Hank, Chippa, Billy

Posted 06 March 2010 - 03:15 PM

View Postwhy you little, on 06 March 2010 - 04:08 PM, said:

The word Melbourne is yet to be mentioned !!!

They did list the adelaide youngsters who were playing their first match in a crows guernsey and then mentioned that "Melbourne have a few kids like that playing too."

Quality coverage.

#32 User is offline   Barry Dawson Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip
  • Interests:Commentary on the socioeconomic profiles of Collingwood supporters.
  • Favourite Player(s):All of them.

Posted 06 March 2010 - 03:16 PM

View PostBattlerBailey, on 06 March 2010 - 04:04 PM, said:

OK, apparently we went to Football park instead of the ground at Elizabeth :mellow:

You'll know you're getting closer to Elizabeth as the Adelaide bogans become even more feral. That's when Clark W Griswald would say "Roll 'em up!"

Mind you, Elizabeth does boast Jimmy Barnes as a product.
My mother is so fat she has to iron her pants in the driveway.

#33 User is offline   why you little Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 03:21 PM

View PostKeyser Söze, on 06 March 2010 - 04:15 PM, said:

They did list the adelaide youngsters who were playing their first match in a crows guernsey and then mentioned that "Melbourne have a few kids like that playing too."

Quality coverage.

unbelievable!! it might as well be an intra club as far as these guys are concerned!!!
Go Demons

#34 User is offline   Bring-Back-Powell Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 03:24 PM

View PostBattlerBailey, on 06 March 2010 - 04:04 PM, said:

Please tell me we wouldn't sink to those levels :o :wacko:

#35 User is offline   Barry Dawson Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip
  • Interests:Commentary on the socioeconomic profiles of Collingwood supporters.
  • Favourite Player(s):All of them.

Posted 06 March 2010 - 03:24 PM

I have just realised that James Brayshaw is NOT the most annoying DH on radio in Australia. There are three or four I'm listening to who eclipse him.
My mother is so fat she has to iron her pants in the driveway.

#36 User is offline   wonnabeeri Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 03:34 PM

I have just realised that James Brayshaw is NOT the most annoying DH on radio in Australia. There are three or four I'm listening to who eclipse him.

They lost me when they said this "everything they said they would do they aint done". Quality english right there.

#37 User is offline   Bring-Back-Powell Icon

• Red and Blue
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 03:36 PM

These comedians on 5aa just mentioned that the only reason they re-signed Bailey was because Lyon's not interested.

#38 User is offline   BattlerBailey Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 03:37 PM

View PostBarry Dawson, on 06 March 2010 - 04:24 PM, said:

Agreed.

Getting stuck into Bailey now.

And saying we don't have anywhere near enough talent to get off the bottom of the ladder this year.

#39 User is offline   Bongo424 Icon

• Rookie Demon
  • Pip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 03:38 PM

First time poster, hi all.

Gee, these fellas are atrocious.

#40 User is offline   BattlerBailey Icon

• Demon
  • PipPip

Posted 06 March 2010 - 03:39 PM

View PostBring-Back-Powell, on 06 March 2010 - 04:24 PM, said:

Please tell me we wouldn't sink to those levels :o :wacko:

Well I'm not sure now, that's what they said at first.
Now they're saying we didn't allow enough time to get from the airport to the ground :wacko:

Talking to Mahoney now.

Edit: strong headwind on the flight over

This post has been edited by BattlerBailey: 06 March 2010 - 03:41 PM

• (14 Pages)
  • +
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users